Revit Architecture Forum
Welcome to Autodesk’s Revit Architecture Forums. Share your knowledge, ask questions, and explore popular Revit Architecture topics.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Relative coordinates on revit

6 REPLIES 6
Message 1 of 7
zazantiago
2184 Views, 6 Replies

Relative coordinates on revit

I asked this someqhere else but I thought I'd give it a try here so....

I'm a veteran AutoCAD user. I'm currently learning REVIT from a video tutorial I bought, but there's one small thing that's driving me crazy. How do relative coordinates work on REVIT? When drawing a line on AutoCAD you’d start the command, then click on the first and then type let’s say @5,9 That’d make the second point of that line to be located 5 units to the right on the x-axis and 9 units up on the y-axis from the starting point. How can I accomplish the same basic operation on REVIT? Same thing goes for moving an object. How can I move a column 3 meters to the right and 5 meters up without moving it twice, once in each direction, or calculating the distance and angle ?Please help a newbie!

6 REPLIES 6
Message 2 of 7
edwinprakoso
in reply to: zazantiago

You need to start thinking Revit is completely different product from AutoCAD. Many of your AutoCAD knowledge will not help.

Just like they said in Avatar to Jake Sully: It is hard to fill a cup that is already full. Think like you never learn CAD before.

--
Edwin
Message 3 of 7
bt1138

Translation:

The function you are looking for is ABSENT in Revit. 

It remains a mystery to me why such a basic, standard feature in a cad/graphics program has been left out. 

bt

Message 4 of 7
zazantiago
in reply to: bt1138

Finally! Somebody gave me a straight answer!

People at Autodesk, please consider adding this feature in future releases. It'd be quite a time saver!

Message 5 of 7
joeldf