Revit Architecture

Revit Architecture

Reply
Member
3 Posts
0 Kudos
Registered: ‎10-26-2010
Post 11 of 19

Re: Raster Images Do Not Plot

11-10-2010 10:25 AM in reply to: ryan.duell

any advice for a 2011 user? i believe autodesk removed the spool smart otion in this version (among many other things that were useful in older versions). i started with a jpg on the Sheet (it is a site map) then i moved it to a View. then i changed it to a bmp. i switched from vector processing to raster and tried printing to a pdf all to no avail.

Employee
735 Posts
26 Kudos
Registered: ‎06-01-2010
Post 12 of 19

Re: Raster Images Do Not Plot

11-10-2010 10:27 AM in reply to: tsmaia

 

The SpoolSmart option should be on your HP Printer Driver options; it is not related to Revit but how the spooling process functions on the printer itself.
Thank you,

 

The SpoolSmart option should be on your HP Printer Driver options; it is not related to Revit but how the spooling process functions on the printer itself.


Thank you,



Ryan Duell
Autodesk, Inc.

Revit Clinic
@revitclinic


Member
3 Posts
0 Kudos
Registered: ‎10-26-2010
Post 13 of 19

Re: Raster Images Do Not Plot

11-10-2010 11:03 AM in reply to: ryan.duell

oh thanks. but i just realized that i'm using a Canon. any advice on that and adobe pdf?

Active Contributor
26 Posts
3 Kudos
Registered: ‎07-08-2005
Post 14 of 19

Re: Raster Images Do Not Plot

03-02-2011 02:08 PM in reply to: edugarge

Don't feel bad about not finding the article Ryan pointed you to when you searched the KB the first time. While these articles are usually very concise and helpful, they are usually not written in such a way that search engines find them very easily, at least in the way most of us search.

 

It would be really helpful if the authors of these Knowledge Base articles added an extra sentance or two, or keywords so that search engines would find them as easily as they find posts like these in the forums.

 

The KB article is entitled 'Images Drop Out..." - not exactly the phrase most people probably use when they are running into this problem. Naming it 'Raster images disappear...", "images don't print..." or something along those lines would have helped the KB article to appear higher in search results, thus being found more quickly and easily by users affected by this issue.

 

The KB article solved my client's issue completely, but I only found it thanks to Ryan's crosslink in this thread.

Advice to Autodesk support team: Try to think about how a frustrated user may actually search for an issue they are experincing and include those terms in the article so that search engines will find the article and make it easier for customers to help themselves. It's basically SEO to help users help themselves.

Patrick

Patrick  Villella, LEED AP
AEC Technical Consultant
_______________________________________
www.cadsoft-consult.com
Blog: What's the Word on BIM? www.cadsoft-consult.com/blogs/architecture

Member
3 Posts
0 Kudos
Registered: ‎08-15-2011
Post 15 of 19

Re: Raster Images Do Not Plot

08-15-2011 05:06 PM in reply to: MaddCatter

I have a similar problem but in a unique way. I have logo images that are on a background shaded region (for presentation) on the title block. But even though the images are in the foreground they still do not show up when I load the title block into the project. I have tried all options that I could try but the shaded region overlaps on the images always. Without the shaded region the images print fine. So how do I have both the shaded region and the images and still have the images show up correctly on the region. Any Help please.

Employee
735 Posts
26 Kudos
Registered: ‎06-01-2010
Post 16 of 19

Re: Raster Images Do Not Plot

08-16-2011 12:42 PM in reply to: saifeeab

The following method may help; try moving the filled regions to annotation families:


1.  Start a new Revit generic annotation family.

2.  Cut & paste the filled region[s] into the generic annotation family.

3.  Load the generic annotation family into the title block family.

 

While it may look incorrect in the title block, load it into the project to test visibility \ printing.

Please let me know if this helps.

 

Thank you,



Ryan Duell
Autodesk, Inc.

Revit Clinic
@revitclinic


Employee
735 Posts
26 Kudos
Registered: ‎06-01-2010
Post 17 of 19

Re: Raster Images Do Not Plot

08-17-2011 06:28 AM in reply to: saifeeab
Member
3 Posts
0 Kudos
Registered: ‎08-15-2011
Post 18 of 19

Re: Raster Images Do Not Plot

08-17-2011 04:56 PM in reply to: ryan.duell

Hi Ryan,

 

I tried your method and unfortunately it still does not work. The shaded region is loaded as a family in my title block but it still overlaps the images. I also tried loading it into the project and it displays the same way there and while printing too.

 

Any other ideas. Thanx

Member
3 Posts
0 Kudos
Registered: ‎08-15-2011
Post 19 of 19

Re: Raster Images Do Not Plot

08-17-2011 05:04 PM in reply to: saifeeab

Actually trying further I realized that your method works with model lines on the title block but does not work with inserted images (logos). I have few logos (jpegs) inserted in the title and they still do not display even with your work around.

Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Announcements
Are you interested in helping shape the future of the Autodesk Community? To participate in this brief usability study, please click here. Your time and input is greatly appreciated!