Revit Architecture

Reply
Member
mccollumaustin
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎10-02-2013
Message 1 of 8 (580 Views)
Accepted Solution

Ramps

580 Views, 7 Replies
10-02-2013 06:26 PM

The question i have is connected to the attached image.

Ah, that's Corbu's ramp at Villa Savoye. That ramp would be too steep to meet code in the US!, hehe...

 

Anyway, to make this as a ramp, set the slope parameter to 5. In reality, the slope happens to be 1 / 5.54... Then, draw the first run from intersection to intersection of reference planes, then click the two points of the second run. When this second run stops,  just extend it by dragging the blue dot to the other intersection, and the ramp will be created. Then, use "muti-story" to the 3rd level.

 

 

10-7-2013 10-10-24 PM.jpg

*Expert Elite*
LisaDrago
Posts: 1,374
Registered: ‎05-08-2009
Message 2 of 8 (496 Views)

Re: Ramps

10-07-2013 06:15 AM in reply to: mccollumaustin

Hello and Welcome to the Discussion!!

 

Wanted to push this back to the top to try and get some help - anyone have any ideas?

 

LD


If this helped solve your issue - remember to 'accept as solution' to help other find answers!
You can't think AutoCAD and run Revit.
Email: LisaDragoEE@gmail.com
*Expert Elite*
Alfredo_Medina
Posts: 2,821
Registered: ‎06-11-2009
Message 3 of 8 (488 Views)

Re: Ramps

10-07-2013 07:27 AM in reply to: mccollumaustin

Instead of changing the slope ratio to reach a desired height, you should simply specify the base constraint and top constraint and/or base offset or top offset settings of the ramp. 

 

The default values for slope and maximum inclined length are fine. If Revit finds that the maximum inclined length has been reached, it will stop the run for you to define the start point of the new segment.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Planta1 Revit Online Consulting | info@planta1.com | my Twitter | The Planta1 Blog
Member
mccollumaustin
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎10-02-2013
Message 4 of 8 (468 Views)

Re: Ramps

10-07-2013 02:57 PM in reply to: Alfredo_Medina

So when i created the ramp i already specified the bottom and top constraint. In the drawing I only have a certain distance that the ramp has. So i tried to change the top offset and i got this warning "The ramp is not long enough to reach the top constraint.  Change the slope or increase the length of the ramp."

 

Thank you for your suggestion but according to Revit it wont work that way.

*Expert Elite*
Alfredo_Medina
Posts: 2,821
Registered: ‎06-11-2009
Message 5 of 8 (460 Views)

Re: Ramps

10-07-2013 03:42 PM in reply to: mccollumaustin

 

Can you post a simplified plan view and section view of the desired result of the ramp, with dimensions? And, can you post a screen capture of the settings that you are using for this ramp ? Or, don't bother yourself with ramps, and do it with floors.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Planta1 Revit Online Consulting | info@planta1.com | my Twitter | The Planta1 Blog
Member
mccollumaustin
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎10-02-2013
Message 6 of 8 (448 Views)

Re: Ramps

10-07-2013 04:44 PM in reply to: Alfredo_Medina

So here is the section view and floor plan with the dimesnions of the desired hieght and length

*Expert Elite*
Alfredo_Medina
Posts: 2,821
Registered: ‎06-11-2009
Message 7 of 8 (429 Views)

Re: Ramps

10-07-2013 07:18 PM in reply to: mccollumaustin

Ah, that's Corbu's ramp at Villa Savoye. That ramp would be too steep to meet code in the US!, hehe...

 

Anyway, to make this as a ramp, set the slope parameter to 5. In reality, the slope happens to be 1 / 5.54... Then, draw the first run from intersection to intersection of reference planes, then click the two points of the second run. When this second run stops,  just extend it by dragging the blue dot to the other intersection, and the ramp will be created. Then, use "muti-story" to the 3rd level.

 

 

10-7-2013 10-10-24 PM.jpg

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Planta1 Revit Online Consulting | info@planta1.com | my Twitter | The Planta1 Blog
Member
mccollumaustin
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎10-02-2013
Message 8 of 8 (396 Views)

Re: Ramps

10-09-2013 04:22 PM in reply to: Alfredo_Medina

Thank you for your help

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.