Revit Architecture

Revit Architecture

Reply
Active Member
bennie
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎11-01-2012
Message 1 of 10 (1,265 Views)

"F" Window on Startup Revit 2014

1265 Views, 9 Replies
05-16-2013 11:39 PM

I recently installed Revit 2014 and I was just wondering what it might be but when I start up Revit whether it is an existing project I have been working on or a new project, a random box appears with an "F" and an Exit button.

 

It doesn't actually cause any sort of dysfunction or anything, and when I exit it it just goes away. It's just very strange as I don't know what it is, I can't enlarge the box or do anything with it. It's just a little irritation I guess.

 

Anybody know anything about this?

 

Screeny attached.FBOX.jpg

Employee
davissc
Posts: 295
Registered: ‎08-08-2007
Message 2 of 10 (1,239 Views)

Re: "F" Window on Startup Revit 2014

05-17-2013 06:01 AM in reply to: bennie

its a setting of your graphics card that keeps windows from opening off screen.  This little dialog box is normally hidden, but something in your graphics card settings is forcing it to appear.

 

Check your graphic card settigns and look for something like "keep windows from opening off screen"



Scott D Davis
AEC Technical Specialist
North American Sales
Autodesk, Inc.

Want Revit Content? Go to http://seek.autodesk.com !

Active Contributor
atiefenbach
Posts: 34
Registered: ‎08-13-2009
Message 3 of 10 (1,206 Views)

Re: "F" Window on Startup Revit 2014

05-17-2013 11:48 AM in reply to: davissc

I'm gettting this error in Revit 2012 and Revit 2013 whenever I save or open.  It's not just an "F", it's "Family".  I've tried searching for the "keep windows from opening off screen" setting in our ATI graphics card drivers, but no luck.

 

I'm also posting the message on ATI's website because we've gone through everything possible to correct the issue.  Any additional support would be great!

Active Member
bennie
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎11-01-2012
Message 4 of 10 (1,164 Views)

Re: "F" Window on Startup Revit 2014

05-20-2013 05:56 AM in reply to: davissc

I also went and looked for that option. But nothing in ATI Catalyst. 

Might it be something to do with ATI? I am planning on upgrading my GPU this week, but going for an NVidea card this time. 

Employee
Joe.Charpentier
Posts: 938
Registered: ‎02-28-2006
Message 5 of 10 (1,121 Views)

Re: "F" Window on Startup Revit 2014

05-22-2013 07:34 AM in reply to: bennie

If you have an ATI card, try disabling/turning off Hydravision.

 

If you have an nVidia card, turn off the nView desktop manager.

 

That should stop this from happening.

Let me know if it helps.

 

Joe

New Member
felicity.mills84
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎07-24-2013
Message 6 of 10 (973 Views)

Re: "F" Window on Startup Revit 2014

07-24-2013 09:50 PM in reply to: bennie

I've got an ATI graphics card and having the same problem.  I had it in 2013, but could double click it to make it go away.  Now if I double click it, it says 'encountered an improper argument'.  I have updated the driver, and uninstalled hydravision, but still having the same problem.  Help?

Active Member
bennie
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎11-01-2012
Message 7 of 10 (962 Views)

Re: "F" Window on Startup Revit 2014

07-24-2013 11:27 PM in reply to: felicity.mills84

I have since I got this problem the first time, gone to nVidea, the "F" block is not there anymore. 

I cannot confirm however if there is a direct link between my previous Ati card and the "F" block. 

Your problem seems more elaborate than what my frustration was. Good luck!

New Member
mike.diaz
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎10-30-2012
Message 8 of 10 (638 Views)

Re: "F" Window on Startup Revit 2014

11-29-2013 11:21 AM in reply to: Joe.Charpentier
Disabling Desktop Manager worked for me.
Thanks Joe!
Member
bguhl
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎10-03-2008
Message 9 of 10 (478 Views)

Re: "F" Window on Startup Revit 2014

01-31-2014 04:01 AM in reply to: bennie

I'm running Revit 2014 w/ATI video card. Disabling Desktop Manager worked for me.

Mentor
conormccartney3897
Posts: 186
Registered: ‎08-18-2010
Message 10 of 10 (462 Views)

Re: "F" Window on Startup Revit 2014

01-31-2014 08:18 AM in reply to: bennie
For ATI Cards, its not desktop manager specifically, its "Enable Dialog Repositioning". If you turn off desktop manager (my machine at least) re orders all my desktop icons after reboot.
Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.