Revit Architecture

Revit Architecture

Reply
New Member
Avh_UK
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎08-07-2012
Message 1 of 40 (20,440 Views)

Questions regarding Revit and compatibility with Mac.

20440 Views, 39 Replies
08-07-2012 08:53 AM


This is really a follow on from this topic (started on the cloud service topic) see below:

 

http://feedback.autodesk.com/cloudservices/topics/revit_mac_version

 

As Christiaan said "it's a travesty that there are no powerful and intuitive BIM programmes available for Mac. Revit and OS X belong together!!"

 

I understand that as an organisation you need to keep certain things quiet until they are released, but i presume this is more to do with particular features and tools within Revit.

 

The closest competitors to Revit already have their software native to both the PC and Mac. So i can't see why there is a need to keep the plans, or a possible time frame for Revit to include a native Mac compatible version quiet. (unless there are no plans for this to happen?)

 

Releasing this information can only be beneficial to Autodesk, its users and potential future users, as we can prepare our offices appropriately.

 

Our office uses Mac computers and the only thing holding us back from making the move to Revit is that there is not a version for the Mac OS.


The key questions from this thread are:

1). Is Revit going to be available on the Mac using OS X?

2). When is this likely to be?

3). What form is Revit on the Mac likely to take?

 

Can someone from Autodesk please, provide some clarification to these questions?

Active Member
Chris_D_UK
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎08-07-2012
Message 2 of 40 (20,424 Views)

Re: Questions regarding Revit and compatibility with Mac.

08-07-2012 09:17 AM in reply to: Avh_UK

We're also in the situation of having a Mac based office of about 25 seats, but would like to switch to Revit. The move to Windows is holding us back and we'd rather not do it.

Active Contributor
edwardnoael
Posts: 41
Registered: ‎08-12-2010
Message 3 of 40 (20,401 Views)

Re: Questions regarding Revit and compatibility with Mac.

08-07-2012 09:32 AM in reply to: Avh_UK
Valued Contributor
helsinki_dave
Posts: 85
Registered: ‎11-22-2006
Message 4 of 40 (20,314 Views)

Re: Questions regarding Revit and compatibility with Mac.

08-10-2012 02:51 AM in reply to: edwardnoael

..it would be probably cheaper for Autodesk to buy all you guys PC's, than completely re-write the code, test it and release it then maintain it. 

 

Graphisoft went PC in the 90's surely because they realised that Mac doesn't feel like the how AEC wants to work. However..along comes the iPad and suddenly..the 'C' of AEC are saying....this is it. :smileyhappy:

 

Active Member
Chris_D_UK
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎08-07-2012
Message 5 of 40 (20,312 Views)

Re: Questions regarding Revit and compatibility with Mac.

08-10-2012 02:56 AM in reply to: Avh_UK

Graphisoft ArchiCAD is available for Mac OS, as is Vectorworks Architect from the same parent company (Nemetschek).

 

We don't need to have PCs bought for us, the Mac hardware will run Windows just fine. We just don't want to run Windows.

Valued Contributor
helsinki_dave
Posts: 85
Registered: ‎11-22-2006
Message 6 of 40 (20,293 Views)

Re: Questions regarding Revit and compatibility with Mac.

08-10-2012 07:00 AM in reply to: Chris_D_UK

..I can't even begin to imagine the hassel of running two platforms. Imagine for every bug fix, or feature request - you need to do it twice. So every time you find a bug, there's a twin branch in the bug/feature request logging system. And then how do you keep both branches talking to each other - so that when the cause of the bug is found - the other branch knows where they might start to look. And you need to test both platforms once the bug is fixed - then document the fix..twice....etc.

 

 

Active Member
Chris_D_UK
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎08-07-2012
Message 7 of 40 (20,288 Views)

Re: Questions regarding Revit and compatibility with Mac.

08-10-2012 07:09 AM in reply to: helsinki_dave

Two platforms or platform neutral? The key is to avoid depending on proprietary Microsoft technology (or Apple technology) too much. Trimble are guilty of this too (in fact are worse than Autodesk).

 

From browsers, to office suites, creative suites, etc etc, most vendors manage quite happily to develop software for two platforms, sometimes three.

 

Mac OS is stable, nimble, simple and we're not alone in preferring it to Windows. We shouldn't have to change for a single vendor's software.

Valued Contributor
helsinki_dave
Posts: 85
Registered: ‎11-22-2006
Message 8 of 40 (20,228 Views)

Re: Questions regarding Revit and compatibility with Mac.

08-11-2012 10:25 AM in reply to: Chris_D_UK

..platform neutral is a superb idea.

 

I'll go with that. It's called the web :smileyhappy: 

 

 

New Member
amorphousarch
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎09-11-2012
Message 9 of 40 (20,063 Views)

Re: Questions regarding Revit and compatibility with Mac.

09-11-2012 04:16 PM in reply to: Avh_UK
This question has been around for a long time, and was specifically asked seven months ago on another discussion board (see link in Avk_UK's original post). An autodesk representative responded but dodged and avoided answering the question directly - we still don't have an answer.

Someone from Autodesk please give us a straight answer:
- the answer must not direct us to another link
- the answer cannot be 'we don't know' (find the answer)
- the answer to part one of the question: 'Is Revit for Mac going to be available' is either YES or NO
- the answer to part two: 'When is it going to be available' must give the year (2012, 2013... 2020?)
- the answer to part three: 'what form'. Please respond 'native OS application' or 'cloud based'

Thanks

Employee
davissc
Posts: 298
Registered: ‎08-08-2007
Message 10 of 40 (20,057 Views)

Re: Questions regarding Revit and compatibility with Mac.

09-11-2012 05:22 PM in reply to: amorphousarch

- the answer must not direct us to another link

 

I don't know if there is another link


- the answer cannot be 'we don't know' (find the answer)

 

We may or may not know the answer, but cannot give "forward looking statements" about our future direction in public forums.  Privately, we could have you/your company sign a non-disclosure agreement (NDA) and then discuss specifics with you.


- the answer to part one of the question: 'Is Revit for Mac going to be available' is either YES or NO

 

Sorry, but there is no one at Autodesk that can answer that.  It's like asking someone at Apple "tell us the exact time the iPhone 5 is going to be released." 


- the answer to part two: 'When is it going to be available' must give the year (2012, 2013... 2020?)

 

Since we cannot  answer Yes or No, there is no way to answer this question, and legally, we can't.


- the answer to part three: 'what form'. Please respond 'native OS application' or 'cloud based'

 

Sorry to give you what seems to be the run-around, but we simply are not allowed to discuss specifics about the "future" direction of our software.

 

With that being said, there are plenty of current customers that are running Revit on Macs now, using bootcamp, parallels, virtualization, etc.  There are even Autodesk employees running Revit on Macs in a windows environment.  So yes, it can be done, and is being done sucessfully by many of our customers.

 



Scott D Davis
AEC Technical Specialist
North American Sales
Autodesk, Inc.

Want Revit Content? Go to http://seek.autodesk.com !

Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Announcements
Are You Going To Be @ AU 2014? Feel free to drop by our AU topic post and share your plans, plug a class that you're teaching, or simply check out who else from the community might be in attendance. Ohh and don't forgot to stop by the Autodesk Help | Learn | Collaborate booths in the Exhibit Hall and meet our community team if you get a chance!