Revit Architecture

Revit Architecture

Reply
Member
justin.mcbride
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎11-01-2012
Message 21 of 40 (2,238 Views)

Re: Questions regarding Revit and compatibility with Mac.

11-01-2012 07:06 PM in reply to: Avh_UK

With the recent release of Windows 8 and the earlier release of Mountain Lion many of us have questions on what to do right now. Do we invest in another couple years with a windows based system or do we finally get to call our local Apple Store Business Teams and place an order? I would like nothing more then to equip my team with those flashy new Retina Displays.

 

Just tell me that it is time. TELL ME! I cannot imagine why this isn't available yet. Unless you have some IT guy at your office who thinks that Mac is of the Devil; evin then, fire him. We are a design industry. Allow us to apprecieate the varius values in design that we (your customers and share holders) choose.

 

LET US CHOOSE MAC!

 

Get with the program AutoDesk. You are in San Fran, you know just how influential the Mac world is. I've never seen any lines for a windows product. I don't know anybody who slept behind a mall for two days to get their hands on anything windows.

 

Stop being shy. Tell us. FREAKING TELL US!

Valued Contributor
GPR_MN
Posts: 51
Registered: ‎07-06-2010
Message 22 of 40 (2,195 Views)

Re: Questions regarding Revit and compatibility with Mac.

11-12-2012 11:04 AM in reply to: Avh_UK

Sign an NDA with Autodesk?!! Crazy talk!

I could only image that Autodesk would then end up owning that part of my brain that contains that information and I would have to pay a knowledge reassesment fee of $1000 if I ever wanted to consider anthing else with that particular lobe.

 

:smileytongue:

New Member
Lewismm
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎01-03-2011
Message 23 of 40 (2,117 Views)

Re: Questions regarding Revit and compatibility with Mac.

12-13-2012 02:40 PM in reply to: Avh_UK

I think the Post answer is logical, but the omission of a version Revit running natively on Mac is not (as is the omission of Inventor running on Mac although there appears to be a version of Inventor Fusion). 

Yes, it is technically necessary to move it into the OSX environment which shares roots in Unix (Windows does not) and to then access the Mac version through a cloud. This will be even more important with cloud environments that have a structured platform database and hardware that are supporting alternate operating systems (Windows, Mac, Linux) and alternate softwares (BIM 360).

While the Amazon cloud is fine for storage or rendering, it is not acceptable as an enterprise solution, such as Oracle (which is a Unix friendly platform).

For those excited about 4D& 5D this is an absolute necessity for progress and true collaboration. 

New Member
klabick
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎01-22-2013
Message 24 of 40 (1,929 Views)

Re: Questions regarding Revit and compatibility with Mac.

01-22-2013 12:42 PM in reply to: Avh_UK

As an Architecture undergraduate student I agree that Revit should be supported on Mac's.  I know myself and several of my peers, own Mac computers and would enjoy learning Revit in our spare time; seeing as our school does not teach Revit.  Therefore we do not have it on our school computers, and since the program is only supported by windows, we can not get it on our laptops, and are therefore at a disadvantage when it comes to our chosen career path.

New Member
Avh_UK
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎08-07-2012
Message 25 of 40 (1,797 Views)

Re: Questions regarding Revit and compatibility with Mac.

03-15-2013 05:41 AM in reply to: amorphousarch

Hi DavisC

 

Unfortunately, the promise of a non disclosure agreement was an empty one, one of my collegues pursued this.  

 

I would much rather use Revit than ArchiCad.  Are you able to idicate if you are working on a version for the mac cant wait much longer!

New Member
jevasshaug
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎06-11-2013
Message 26 of 40 (1,600 Views)

Re: Questions regarding Revit and compatibility with Mac.

06-11-2013 04:31 AM in reply to: Avh_UK

Bump!

 

Is Revit coming to OS X?

 

My 30 licence seat Mac-only firm is looking to switch software, and if someone could just whisper a yes or no to this simple question, I could tell my boss to hold out a little longer before switching. 

Member
justin.mcbride
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎11-01-2012
Message 27 of 40 (1,027 Views)

Re: Questions regarding Revit and compatibility with Mac.

11-12-2013 07:52 AM in reply to: Avh_UK
I have been using the parallels option for the past couple years. It is not a viable option to run Revit.

Running Revit within a virtual machine is a nightmare. It all starts with the omen that is the install process. It takes an insane amount of troubleshooting just to get the install to finish. I think it took somewhere near 20 tries before it finally completed the install.

After it is installed the ribon will be blank, menus will disappear and things will flicker. Even running it on the high end Retina MBP and allocating all of my graphics/ram/CPU I still have lag issues.

Autodesk, is this honestly how you want us to run your products? If you aren't willing to write a Mac specific version then at least write one that plays friendlier within a virtual environment.

Although we all know that the better option is just to release a cloud based version of your software. Let's be honest, BIM still isn't as cool as we all dream it to be. It lacks detailing components and digital documentation options. It also isn't exactly graphically adjustable. Creating beautiful drawings in BIM takes way too much customization and headache. It's easier just to use AutoCAD in the end...

But then there are the lack of AutoCAD features on the Mac. Features like custom commands and changing keyboard shortcuts. WTF Autodesk?

Please agree that this run around is getting old. These threads are YEARS old and the answer hasn't changed. You all are lucky you hold a "standard" in the market otherwise some young minds wich are ready to take hold of this market would come steal it away.

Let's recall Steve Jobs and his bouts with HP. How does it feel to be the HP of designer software?
Employee
davissc
Posts: 298
Registered: ‎08-08-2007
Message 28 of 40 (1,020 Views)

Re: Questions regarding Revit and compatibility with Mac.

11-12-2013 08:54 AM in reply to: justin.mcbride

You can now run Revit, Inventor, 3DS Max, and Maya completely in a browser, on ANY platform that has the capabiltiy to run an HTML5 browser.  

 

Run Revit on a PC, Mac, linux, unix, tablet...it doesn't matter what hardware you run.

 

here's the announcement from just about a week ago:

 

http://www.4-traders.com/AUTODESK-INC-4937/news/Autodesk-Inc--Autodesk-Provides-3D-Design-in-a-Brows...



Scott D Davis
AEC Technical Specialist
North American Sales
Autodesk, Inc.

Want Revit Content? Go to http://seek.autodesk.com !

Employee
davissc
Posts: 298
Registered: ‎08-08-2007
Message 29 of 40 (1,010 Views)

Re: Questions regarding Revit and compatibility with Mac.

11-12-2013 10:42 AM in reply to: davissc

...and here is a link to a 30-day FREE trial of Revit, running on ANY hardware that has a compatible HTML5 Broswer.

 

https://aws.amazon.com/marketplace/pp/B00FGB1VTC/ref=sp_mpg_product_title/183-8476288-5610011?ie=UTF...

 

 

 



Scott D Davis
AEC Technical Specialist
North American Sales
Autodesk, Inc.

Want Revit Content? Go to http://seek.autodesk.com !

Member
justin.mcbride
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎11-01-2012
Message 30 of 40 (1,001 Views)

Re: Questions regarding Revit and compatibility with Mac.

11-12-2013 11:29 AM in reply to: Avh_UK
@Davissc so it is sold through Amazon? Why does this feel so sketchy? And it's an hourly charge?

Can you direct me to an Autodesk site with information on it? I want to fill in the gaps.
Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.