Revit Architecture Forum
Welcome to Autodesk’s Revit Architecture Forums. Share your knowledge, ask questions, and explore popular Revit Architecture topics.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Question on Sweep Profiles within Frame Families: Extract into Material Takeoff

5 REPLIES 5
Message 1 of 6
TBJV
1579 Views, 5 Replies

Question on Sweep Profiles within Frame Families: Extract into Material Takeoff

I work in the window business and we are creating frame families for our windows that have unique extruded aluminum profiles on the jambs versus the head/sill. In our frame family, we are using sweeps to establish the extrusion path and contraining these sweeps to reference planes accordingly. We are then assigning a specific custom profile to each sweep from our product library. The profiles have already been created as .rfa profile component.

The frame family has been tested and flexes correctly once they are loaded into the project, but my question is: How can I extract the following information into a Material Takeoff:

1. Profile (name of the profile assigned to the sweep)
  2. Length of Sweep

I am not very familiar with creating parameters that are not available by default in the window category. This is a critical component of our business as the Material Takeoff needs to be specific to the profile. I can override this by manually entering the "profile number" into the Material Name field but since the profile Component already has this information, I would hope it could be extracted.

In addition, the length does not appear in the window category either, only the length/width of the frame itself.

Thanks in advance for any insight.

5 REPLIES 5
Message 2 of 6
Alfredo_Medina
in reply to: TBJV