Revit Architecture

Reply
New Member
natebrown14
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎03-04-2011
Message 1 of 5 (1,734 Views)

Phasing and Sheet Numbers

1734 Views, 4 Replies
03-04-2011 12:50 PM

Currently I am working on a multi-phased project in a single building.  After completing the first 'Phase' of the project and moving on to the next...  Revit will not allow me to have (2) sheets with the same number (i.e. A102 - Second Floor Plan).  I do not want to break the model and have (2) seperate projects. 

 

I have set up the project in phases reflect this in the plans/details in the project browser, and would ideally like to sort the drawing sheets by phase. 

 

What I ultimately need to know is if there is a way to have (2) drawing sheets within the same project, both with the same designation, but for different phases or projects within the building. 

 

Any thoughts would be helpful.

 

Thank you.

Alumni
kathryn.langan
Posts: 467
Registered: ‎12-16-2008
Message 2 of 5 (1,697 Views)

Re: Phasing and Sheet Numbers

03-07-2011 02:19 PM in reply to: natebrown14

For duplicate sheet numbers, I saw something done recently by one of the users here on the forums to create duplicate grid marks that could be applicable: http://forums.autodesk.com/t5/Autodesk-Revit-Structure/Multiple-column-grids-same-grid-number/m-p/28...

 

Keep in mind, that Revit is not meant to use duplicate numbers, so this is just a possible way to work around it, and the ability to do it depends on the language settings of your Operating System. To try, go into the Project Browser, right click on the Sheet name, and click Rename. Enter the duplicate name (ie A101 for a second sheet). After 'A101', right click your mouse and choose Insert Unicode Control Character and choose any of the options. Right click again and make sure Show Unicode Control Characters is not checked. Revit should then accept the seemingly duplicate entry.

 

Unicode Characters.jpg

 

I hope this helps!



Katie Langan
Technical Support Specialist
Customer Service & Support
Autodesk, Inc.

*Expert Elite*
rosskirby
Posts: 872
Registered: ‎04-08-2008
Message 3 of 5 (1,681 Views)

Re: Phasing and Sheet Numbers

03-07-2011 06:31 PM in reply to: natebrown14

Just number your sheets A101.1, A101.2, etc. for phases 1, 2, etc.

 

When it comes to arbitrary "standards" like sheet numbering and how the elevation callout head look, you're better off spending your time trying to work with the program rather than against/around it.

Ross Kirby
BIM Manager
Arcturis
New Member
brad.scott
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎12-11-2012
Message 4 of 5 (1,221 Views)

Re: Phasing and Sheet Numbers

12-11-2012 07:36 AM in reply to: kathryn.langan

Hi

 

I seem to have the same requirements as the person your initially posted this. It's almost as if i require a new Sheet Browser that doesn't relate to the current one.. are there any other methods of doing this other than the 'work around it' method?

 

help would be greatly appreciated

New Member
praddy21.ban
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎05-06-2013
Message 5 of 5 (1,016 Views)

Re: Phasing and Sheet Numbers

05-06-2013 12:32 AM in reply to: kathryn.langan

Thanks!
Adding unicode characters did the trick.

 

I was wondering if there was a way to add another field to add uniquenesss to the sheet number, such as Phase, or Zone, rather than number and name alone.

If that is possible, it would be a more "legitimate" way rather than tricking Revit.

 

Thanks in advance!!

Cheers

 

Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.