Revit Architecture

Reply
*Expert Elite*
Bob_Zurunkle
Posts: 1,033
Registered: ‎03-24-2011
Message 1 of 7 (695 Views)

Parametric Hole

695 Views, 6 Replies
03-05-2012 05:45 AM

I am posting this thread because I tried without great success to find one to help me figure out how to make a round extrusion parametric -- in my case an extruded void for a bolt hole through a plate. After some thought and experimentaiton on my own I discovered what works for me:

 

1. Home tab --> Datum panel --> Reference Line --> Draw panel --> Circle (draw a reference circle)

2. Annotate tab --> Dimension panel --> Radial (apply this to the circle)

3. Right-click the dimension and apply a parametric label to it. "Flex" the geometry to make sure changing the parameter changes the size of the reference circle.

4. Home tab --> Forms panel --> Void Forms --> Void Extrusion --> Draw Panel --> Pick Lines tool (select the reference circle and lock the geometry to it)

5. Now flex the geometry again and the new hole should resize according to whatever the parametric radial dimension is changed to.

 

Bonus tip. The extrusion will have a default start and end. The start usually coincides with the workplane the object was extruded from. Some folks might alter these values so the extruded hole extends past the faces of the part, but Solidworks/Inventor modelers will tell you this is sloppy. If at some point the object containing the void is made thicker than the void, then the void won't go all the way through the object. So what I did was I clicked on the little ellipsis button in the Instance Properties, next to "Extrusion End", and associated it with the parameter for the object's thickness. Now if I change the thickness the hole depth will change with it and the hole (void extrusion) will retain the original design intent -- that is, it will go through no matter what.

 

I am so happy I solved my issue that I just had to share :smileyvery-happy:

If by some odd chance my nattering was useful -- that's great, glad to help. But if it actually solved your issue, then please mark my solution as accepted :smileyhappy:
*Expert Elite*
Alfredo_Medina
Posts: 2,819
Registered: ‎06-11-2009
Message 2 of 7 (685 Views)

Re: Parametric Hole

03-05-2012 06:56 AM in reply to: Bob_Zurunkle

Good, now how about these two additional challenges? :smileyhappy:

 

1) Make the location of the hole parametric, controlling its distance from a corner, in x, and y, by parameters.

2) Make a different version of the hole, so that the user can change the hole by diameter, not by radius.

 

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Planta1 Revit Online Consulting | info@planta1.com | my Twitter | The Planta1 Blog
*Expert Elite*
Bob_Zurunkle
Posts: 1,033
Registered: ‎03-24-2011
Message 3 of 7 (662 Views)

Re: Parametric Hole

03-06-2012 09:50 AM in reply to: Alfredo_Medina

Actually the parts I am modeling do have the location feature, where one of the holes is centered on the origin (for our purposes), but the locations to 2 of the adjacent edges happen to be controlled by one parameter "edge to hole" distance, the overall part length and width are another pair of parameters, and the locations of other holes are either also "edge to hole" or "hole to hole". I also added a Material instance parameter, and on some of these families I have even introduced both horizontal and vertical double flips, for rapidly modifying the orientation of the part in a project. I have my model geometry aligned and locked to workplanes, and I have dimensions locked to the workplanes (not to the geometry), with parametric labels.

 

I too would rather see diameter instead of radius, but I can work with radius for my purposes. Why, if I discover how to make it diameter, they'd probably promote me to Man With Funny Hat or something :smileyvery-happy:

 

Seriously though, I posted this so anyone who finds themselves searching for the same answer will have the steps to achieve it :smileyhappy:

If by some odd chance my nattering was useful -- that's great, glad to help. But if it actually solved your issue, then please mark my solution as accepted :smileyhappy:
New Member
gdodge
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎04-15-2013
Message 4 of 7 (515 Views)

Re: Parametric Hole

04-15-2013 06:48 PM in reply to: Bob_Zurunkle

I really appreciate your post.  I was searching the site for that exact question. 

*Expert Elite*
Bob_Zurunkle
Posts: 1,033
Registered: ‎03-24-2011
Message 5 of 7 (490 Views)

Re: Parametric Hole

04-16-2013 08:57 AM in reply to: gdodge

Stick around! There's lots of friendly folks willing to help those of us who get stuck...

If by some odd chance my nattering was useful -- that's great, glad to help. But if it actually solved your issue, then please mark my solution as accepted :smileyhappy:
*Expert Elite*
constantin.stroescu
Posts: 992
Registered: ‎10-29-2008
Message 6 of 7 (475 Views)

Re: Parametric Hole

04-16-2013 01:24 PM in reply to: Bob_Zurunkle

very good post.

I made all the steps you indicate and it works fine...you forgot to mention the family in wich you worked....the best works with Generic Model Face Based......When inserting in project the temporary dimensions help a lot in positioning the hole...also array...

thank you

 

Constantin

Constantin Stroescu
BIM Manager AGD
Valued Contributor
RaoulTittel
Posts: 87
Registered: ‎11-06-2008
Message 7 of 7 (281 Views)

Re: Parametric Hole

12-12-2013 03:09 AM in reply to: Bob_Zurunkle

I like this hole thingy you have made!

 

I wonder if there is a facility in Revit to be able to generate a diameter dimension for said holes using a tag?

Using Revit 2012
Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.