Revit Architecture

Reply
Valued Mentor
IMCornish
Posts: 286
Registered: ‎02-16-2009
Message 1 of 11 (456 Views)
Accepted Solution

Overlapping Areas

456 Views, 10 Replies
09-17-2013 07:36 AM

I need to report the area of two external areas. One area is the complete site area whilst the second is that portion of the site area being developed.  By necessity they overlap, but Revit does not appear to allow this, or does it? Is there a workaround?

Andrew Robertson
Chartered Architect
Robertson Partnership
Truro. UK

The only solution I can provide would be to create a separate Area Scheme for one of the Areas, create an Area Plan for that Area, Set its Visual Style to Wireframe, turn off all model elements, and then overlay that View on top of the Site Plan Viewport on the Sheet View.

 

You'll likely have to create a new Viewport Type so that this one doesn't have a View Title. As another option, you can select and hide the overlaid Viewport and it will become unselectable (meaning that in won't get in the way of 'Activate View') and the View Title will vanish.

*Expert Elite*
CADastrophe
Posts: 3,344
Registered: ‎08-28-2009
Message 2 of 11 (441 Views)

Re: Overlapping Areas

09-17-2013 08:30 AM in reply to: IMCornish

Can you elaborate more on what you aim to accomplish and what you need? How do you intend to report the Areas; Tag them on a Site Plan or on a Schedule? Are you intending to show both of these Areas graphically overlapping on the Site Plan?

Corey D.                                                                                                                  ADSK_Logo_EE_2013.png    AutoCAD 2014 User  Revit 2014 User
──────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────
⁞|⁞ Please use Mark Solutions!.Accept as Solution and Give Kudos!Give Kudos as appropriate to further enhance these forums. Thank you!
Valued Mentor
IMCornish
Posts: 286
Registered: ‎02-16-2009
Message 3 of 11 (422 Views)

Re: Overlapping Areas

09-17-2013 09:49 AM in reply to: CADastrophe

Corey, consider this cutting from an Area Plan, which shows two areas distiguished by red and blue hatch, each has a tag which shows their respective areas in a number of different units.  Each tag represents information which is required by our UK Planning System when making an application to build.

 

Overlapping Areas.PNG

 

However the 'Blue Line Area' should be greater than the 'Red Line Area' since it represents the whole property, whilst the 'Red Line Area', whilst being correct, only shows the area to be developed but crowds out the blue area.  Both are Exterior Area types.

Thanks for your help by the way.  Hope this is a better explanation.

Andrew Robertson
Chartered Architect
Robertson Partnership
Truro. UK
*Expert Elite*
CADastrophe
Posts: 3,344
Registered: ‎08-28-2009
Message 4 of 11 (407 Views)

Re: Overlapping Areas

09-17-2013 11:22 AM in reply to: IMCornish

The only solution I can provide would be to create a separate Area Scheme for one of the Areas, create an Area Plan for that Area, Set its Visual Style to Wireframe, turn off all model elements, and then overlay that View on top of the Site Plan Viewport on the Sheet View.

 

You'll likely have to create a new Viewport Type so that this one doesn't have a View Title. As another option, you can select and hide the overlaid Viewport and it will become unselectable (meaning that in won't get in the way of 'Activate View') and the View Title will vanish.

Corey D.                                                                                                                  ADSK_Logo_EE_2013.png    AutoCAD 2014 User  Revit 2014 User
──────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────
⁞|⁞ Please use Mark Solutions!.Accept as Solution and Give Kudos!Give Kudos as appropriate to further enhance these forums. Thank you!
Valued Mentor
IMCornish
Posts: 286
Registered: ‎02-16-2009
Message 5 of 11 (385 Views)

Re: Overlapping Areas

09-18-2013 09:27 AM in reply to: CADastrophe

Thanks Corey, it works so is a good workaround.  Only difficulty is aligning the top view over the bottom in order to get it in the correct place since there is nothing that can be selected to align.  It is possible that my 'red line' view, which now has a different Area Scheme from the 'blue line' (and therefore cannot be an edited copy of the 'blue line') can have an identically sized viewport (or crop region) , if this can easily be achieved, but it is still necessary the locate the red area in the correct 2 dimentional location to overlap properly.  Any ideas in this regard would be welcome. Thanks again.

Andrew Robertson
Chartered Architect
Robertson Partnership
Truro. UK
*Expert Elite*
CADastrophe
Posts: 3,344
Registered: ‎08-28-2009
Message 6 of 11 (380 Views)

Re: Overlapping Areas

09-18-2013 09:35 AM in reply to: IMCornish

IMCornish wrote:

"...Only difficulty is aligning the top view over the bottom in order to get it in the correct place since there is nothing that can be selected to align..."


If you select and drag a Viewport over another, Revit will want to align these Views. Once the Views are close to being in line on one axis or the other (or both), the View will snap into alignment and a blue dashed line will appear indicating this. However, there is no way to constrain the Views together, so make sure you move both of them together in the event that you must.

 

 


IMCornish wrote:

"...It is possible that my 'red line' view, which now has a different Area Scheme from the 'blue line' (and therefore cannot be an edited copy of the 'blue line') can have an identically sized viewport (or crop region) , if this can easily be achieved, but it is still necessary the locate the red area in the correct 2 dimentional location to overlap properly..."


 This can easily be done with by defining and assigning a Scope Box to both Views.

Corey D.                                                                                                                  ADSK_Logo_EE_2013.png    AutoCAD 2014 User  Revit 2014 User
──────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────
⁞|⁞ Please use Mark Solutions!.Accept as Solution and Give Kudos!Give Kudos as appropriate to further enhance these forums. Thank you!
Valued Mentor
IMCornish
Posts: 286
Registered: ‎02-16-2009
Message 7 of 11 (367 Views)

Re: Overlapping Areas

09-18-2013 12:38 PM in reply to: CADastrophe

Corey, have looked at both suggestions and find the scope box idea appealing.  It appears that when the overlapping view is moved so that its scope box gets very close to that of the overlapped view they lock together.  Am I seeing things or is this correct.  If so the alignment of viewports is redundant since once you have an invisible crop region the overlapping view can be smaller than the one overlapped and you just need to lock the scope boxs' together.

Last question, do scope boxes print or do they need to be turned off?

Thanks again.

Andrew Robertson
Chartered Architect
Robertson Partnership
Truro. UK
*Expert Elite*
CADastrophe
Posts: 3,344
Registered: ‎08-28-2009
Message 8 of 11 (363 Views)

Re: Overlapping Areas

09-18-2013 12:51 PM in reply to: IMCornish

You won't really need a Scope Box If the View you are overlaying is cropped and then has the crop region hidden. The Scope Boxes are great for creating identical Crop Regions for different Views of given "area" or "module" of a building. By default, they will not print. However, there is an option under Print Setup (checkbox at the bottom) that will make them print, if needed.

 

When overlaying one Viewport on top of another, they will "snap" together but they don't "lock" together, meaning that they do not retain any association so if one is moved, the other does not move along with it.

Corey D.                                                                                                                  ADSK_Logo_EE_2013.png    AutoCAD 2014 User  Revit 2014 User
──────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────
⁞|⁞ Please use Mark Solutions!.Accept as Solution and Give Kudos!Give Kudos as appropriate to further enhance these forums. Thank you!
Valued Mentor
IMCornish
Posts: 286
Registered: ‎02-16-2009
Message 9 of 11 (337 Views)

Re: Overlapping Areas

09-20-2013 02:57 AM in reply to: CADastrophe

Thanks Corey your a star!  A little thing, do you know how to make a viewport match the size of your drawing frame before dropping it on a sheet?

Andrew Robertson
Chartered Architect
Robertson Partnership
Truro. UK
*Expert Elite*
CADastrophe
Posts: 3,344
Registered: ‎08-28-2009
Message 10 of 11 (321 Views)

Re: Overlapping Areas

09-20-2013 05:20 AM in reply to: IMCornish

The easiest way to accomplish that would be to place the Viewport in your Sheet, select said Viewport, right-click, and select "Activate View". This will allow you to make changes to the active View, including adjusting the Crop Region. Right-click and select "Deactivate View" when completed.

Corey D.                                                                                                                  ADSK_Logo_EE_2013.png    AutoCAD 2014 User  Revit 2014 User
──────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────
⁞|⁞ Please use Mark Solutions!.Accept as Solution and Give Kudos!Give Kudos as appropriate to further enhance these forums. Thank you!
Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.