Revit Architecture

Revit Architecture

Reply
*KeN Etter
Message 11 of 19 (424 Views)

Re: One model vs linked models?

04-23-2010 07:28 AM in reply to: *Matt Stachoni
On Thu, 22 Apr 2010 19:34:56 -0700, Matt Stachoni
wrote:

>I have a client who has everyone in-house - architects, interior designers, MEP,
>and structural. Even civil. They rarely use outside consultants.
>
>We are debating whether to do everything in one model or have everyone work in
>their own space and link things together.
>
>Thoughts?

Matt

We have everyone in-house and use three separate Revit models:
* Architecture/Interior Design model
* MEP model
* Structural model
One benefit is that we can tailor templates to each group. And when
we do collaborate with an out-of-house group, we can still follow the
same workflow.

Regards,
Ken
*Joe Blizzard
Message 12 of 19 (424 Views)

Re: One model vs linked models?

04-23-2010 08:26 AM in reply to: *Matt Stachoni
"Doug Bowers" wrote
> Given the information that you have provided on the size of the project

When y'all talk size, whaddayamean? The info Matt provided was about the
size of the team. Is that more of a factor than the size of the building? Or
do you figure small team = small building? Or am I so far afield these are
stupid questions? The reason I ask is Matt's personnel assignments sound
like a typical job at my firm, whether it's a 20K SF garage or a 200K SF
school, which is about as big as we get. (We're not a Revit shop yet, btw,
I'm just trying to plan ahead a little.)
*Matt Stachoni
Message 13 of 19 (424 Views)

Re: One model vs linked models?

04-23-2010 10:32 AM in reply to: *Matt Stachoni
On Fri, 23 Apr 2010 07:28:56 -0700, KeN Etter
wrote:

>We have everyone in-house and use three separate Revit models:
>* Architecture/Interior Design model
>* MEP model
>* Structural model
>One benefit is that we can tailor templates to each group. And when
>we do collaborate with an out-of-house group, we can still follow the
>same workflow.

Thanks, Ken, I think this is a biggie as well.

Do you create a separate "coordination" project which links everything together?
How do you go about publishing the entire set of sheets at once?

Matt
matt@stachoni.com
*KeN Etter
Message 14 of 19 (424 Views)

Re: One model vs linked models?

04-23-2010 11:05 AM in reply to: *Matt Stachoni
On Fri, 23 Apr 2010 10:32:41 -0700, Matt Stachoni <...> wrote:

>Do you create a separate "coordination" project which links everything together?
>How do you go about publishing the entire set of sheets at once?

No. Every department is responsible for plotting their own sheets.

Ken
*Doug Bowers
Message 15 of 19 (424 Views)

Re: One model vs linked models?

04-23-2010 03:56 PM in reply to: *Matt Stachoni
Joe,

Your questions are valid and good ones.

I was referring to the size of the building, although the small team helps
as well.

For your situation, the 200,000 SF school would be much better to have
divided into models per discipline as the model can get to be pretty large.
Unless the 20,000 SF building is very complex, it could easily be one file
with workharing utilized. There is no hard and fast rule on what that size
is since projects require different levels of detail and different project
types had varying amounts of information required. I would say that the
20,000 SF is probably on the upper end of the one model situation though.
Also, regardless of size, if you have more than basic MEP needs I would put
MEP in a separate model.

There are always issues in having all disciplines working in one model with
people messing with items belonging to other disciplines. Having separate
models eliminates this issue and is a big compelling reason to have separate
models.

Doug



"Joe Blizzard" wrote in message
news:6379276@discussion.autodesk.com...
"Doug Bowers" wrote
> Given the information that you have provided on the size of the project

When y'all talk size, whaddayamean? The info Matt provided was about the
size of the team. Is that more of a factor than the size of the building? Or
do you figure small team = small building? Or am I so far afield these are
stupid questions? The reason I ask is Matt's personnel assignments sound
like a typical job at my firm, whether it's a 20K SF garage or a 200K SF
school, which is about as big as we get. (We're not a Revit shop yet, btw,
I'm just trying to plan ahead a little.)
Valued Mentor
vector2
Posts: 2,058
Registered: ‎03-28-2009
Message 16 of 19 (424 Views)

Re: One model vs linked models?

04-24-2010 06:28 PM in reply to: *Matt Stachoni
Robert-

sorry to hear the house was deleted.. i very
much would like to see that.. as you can tell
i'm always looking for better ways to do that
and i have been looking forward to your ideas..

please email what you have done on that to
me at bcm2345@hotmail.com

thanks..
Distinguished Contributor
Robert_Grandmaison
Posts: 120
Registered: ‎04-18-2010
Message 17 of 19 (424 Views)

Re: One model vs linked models?

04-24-2010 07:46 PM in reply to: *Matt Stachoni
As promised, here's an image from using your mes(s)h as a family to pick faces.

Workflow:

1. Insert CAD Format into Revit Generic Model family.
2. Load into current project and place as component.
3. Switch to elevation view and align/lock levels as necessary.
4. Use wall tool and a combination of Pick Faces and line sketch to create walls. Snap to vertex ends or pick triangular mesh tesselations.
5. EH the house mesh component as needed to see your walls and for the triangular walls, select walls and choose "Reset Profile" from ribbon. Constrain walls to levels accordingly.
6. Create floors as necessary.
7. Create roofs by footprint, or try picking faces.

Now, as with any workflow, garbage in is garbage out. So with this mesh there was a LOT of stuff that was incomplete or just plain wrong. For instance the main roof did NOT plane out with the hip over the great room area. I wasn't about to waste a lot of my time designing a house and just wanted to put some numbers to what I did do. For what it's worth I spent about an hour creating the walls, floors and roofs you see here and finally decided after fighting with the roof design that my time would be better spent working on something that pays me instead of giving away my time in an experiment that likely won't be appreciated by anyone but me. I would have likely simply deleted the mesh once I had it far enough along, but it's rather convenient to have it in place for comparison purposes while creating the BIM. For instance, it makes doing a task like editing a wall profile to create a haunched arched opening quite easy.

I want to point out a big difference, Vector2, between this approach and the approach you mentioned. In this approach it's not necessary to ever leave Revit. You don't have to change hats. You can keep your Revit hat on and don't have to switch interfaces/mindsets/tools/focus. Once the mesh has been brought in as a family, which gives you the ability to pick faces. you do not need to revisit AutoCAD to slice and dice and measure and dimension the mesh file. So, it goes pretty quick. I could have finished the shell structure I'm sure by the end of two hours IF I didn't have to spend my time figuring out the designer's intentions. Design is a patient search and I didn't want to engage that side of my brain in this task. Adding windows/doors/sweeps/railing/stairs, gutters, fascias, etc is all easy enough once the basic shell is in place.

I suggest you give it a try.
Valued Mentor
vector2
Posts: 2,058
Registered: ‎03-28-2009
Message 18 of 19 (424 Views)

Re: One model vs linked models?

04-24-2010 07:58 PM in reply to: *Matt Stachoni
that's excellent Robert thanks..

and i will give it a try..

i want to study what you have said
and done..

thanks..
*Expert Elite*
Alfredo_Medina
Posts: 2,865
Registered: ‎06-11-2009
Message 19 of 19 (424 Views)

Re: One model vs linked models?

04-28-2010 07:57 AM in reply to: *Matt Stachoni
Matt,

Just curious, what was the conclusion of the debate at your client's office about this?

Alfredo
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Planta1 Revit Online Consulting | info@planta1.com | my Twitter | The Planta1 Blog
Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Announcements
Do you have 60 seconds to spare? The Autodesk Community Team is revamping our site ranking system and we want your feedback! Please click here to launch the 5 question survey. As always your input is greatly appreciated.