Revit Architecture

Reply
Member
glxrustang
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎02-10-2010
Message 1 of 13 (3,303 Views)

Objects imported into Revit from Auto CAD

3303 Views, 12 Replies
02-10-2010 06:59 AM
Whenever I insert Auto CAD files into Revit Arch, it unions the whole object and loses all applied materials on the object. I have students that are making fantastic 3D models in CAD, but when they import or insert the object it just looks gray and solid. Revit Arch also has problems exploding the 3D solids.

How can I keep the object's appearance in Revit?

Or if it is impossible, how are users in Revit City creating complex objects?
*Matt Dillon
Message 2 of 13 (3,303 Views)

Re: Objects imported into Revit from Auto CAD

02-10-2010 07:01 AM in reply to: glxrustang
First and foremost, I would suggest that you refrain from importing those
AutoCAD models into Revit at all. There are performance and stability
ramifications that make it inadvisable at best.

Why are they modeling in AutoCAD and then importing into Revit? Why not just
model it in Revit?

That said, importing a DWG file into Revit brings in only the most basic
properties of the geometry - material assignments aren't one of them.

--

"glxrustang" wrote in message news:6333819@discussion.autodesk.com...
Whenever I insert Auto CAD files into Revit Arch, it unions the whole object
and loses all applied materials on the object. I have students that are
making fantastic 3D models in CAD, but when they import or insert the object
it just looks gray and solid. Revit Arch also has problems exploding the 3D
solids.

How can I keep the object's appearance in Revit?

Or if it is impossible, how are users in Revit City creating complex
objects?
Member
glxrustang
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎02-10-2010
Message 3 of 13 (3,303 Views)

Re: Objects imported into Revit from Auto CAD

02-10-2010 07:12 AM in reply to: glxrustang
Okay thanks, I was afraid of that. I tried exporting in various formats with no success.

So far, I only taught Auto CAD, not too much in Revit yet. To bring a new program into the mix would take weeks of instruction.

Can I import their structures into Auto CAD from Revit? That would be my last resort.
*Matt Dillon
Message 4 of 13 (3,303 Views)

Re: Objects imported into Revit from Auto CAD

02-10-2010 07:16 AM in reply to: glxrustang
You can export either 2D or 3D geometry from Revit to AutoCAD. However, once
again, it will be basic in nature without the underlying intelligence.

--

"glxrustang" wrote in message news:6333849@discussion.autodesk.com...
Okay thanks, I was afraid of that. I tried exporting in various formats
with no success.

So far, I only taught Auto CAD, not too much in Revit yet. To bring a new
program into the mix would take weeks of instruction.

Can I import their structures into Auto CAD from Revit? That would be my
last resort.
Member
glxrustang
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎02-10-2010
Message 5 of 13 (3,303 Views)

Re: Objects imported into Revit from Auto CAD

02-10-2010 08:36 AM in reply to: glxrustang
Isn't there a common Autodesk format that can be used?

What if I imported into Inventor then into Revit. Or Auto CAD into 3D Studio Max, then into Revit?

My students have spent hours working on these drawings and I have to find a solution for them. I need to be at least be able to explode the objects so that say, a bowl of fruit can be broken up in Revit down to the apples, oranges, and the bowl. Then maybe the objects can be saved as a Revit file. Maybe importing the CAD DWG file into Revit MEP then using the simple geometric shape from CAD to render it in Revit.
Member
glxrustang
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎02-10-2010
Message 6 of 13 (3,303 Views)

Re: Objects imported into Revit from Auto CAD

02-11-2010 06:22 AM in reply to: glxrustang
Alright thanks, it can't be done, but I still can import DWG's into revit, and can still apply revit materials to those DWG's. Furthermore, the 'models' my students make in Auto CAD are indeed 3D, or shall I say, isometric with six solid surfaces. For instance, lines can be drawn, those lines can be 'regioned' into a surface, then 'extruded' for volume. Vector, I suggest you look into ACAD a little closer so that the advice you give is congruent and factual.

Bottom line, I will have to divide components in ACAD, then join and apply materials in revit. Thanks for the great discussion.
Valued Mentor
vector2
Posts: 2,058
Registered: ‎03-28-2009
Message 7 of 13 (3,303 Views)

Re: Objects imported into Revit from Auto CAD

02-11-2010 01:06 PM in reply to: glxrustang
glxrustang-

my advice is congruent and factual..

it's just that a lot of people new to revit
have to learn the hard way themselves
and not listen to anyone with five years
experience using revit..

i repeat- you don't want that AutoCAD
thing in your revit project that you are calling
a "model".. period.. open it somewhere
else for reference.. and if a revit user doesn't
know how to use AutoCAD- they can open
it in a separate session of revit..

if you just want to render the thing- you
can do that in newer versions of AutoCAD
or 3Ds Max..

sure you can apply revit materials to those
DWG's in revit- but it makes no sense and
you can't do it properly..

there is one good time to render DWG wireframes
in a revit session for reference if you don't
know how to render in its native program..
i do it often when i import DWG wireframes
from Max or FormZ or AutoCAD.. you render
them as a "clay model" for viewing the shape
and form of that wireframe. Edited by: vector2 on Feb 11, 2010 2:44 PM
*Expert Elite*
ToanDN
Posts: 1,893
Registered: ‎09-26-2006
Message 8 of 13 (3,303 Views)

Re: Objects imported into Revit from Auto CAD

02-11-2010 02:24 PM in reply to: glxrustang
Glad that you can get it done. However, a bigger picture is that Revit is not a proper software to render a bowl of fruits.
Member
glxrustang
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎02-10-2010
Message 9 of 13 (3,303 Views)

Re: Objects imported into Revit from Auto CAD

02-23-2010 08:58 AM in reply to: glxrustang
Update: By creating different layers in Auto CAD, you can edit and assign various materials in Revit. It can be done and Revit works flawlessly. I've got a few examples if you would like to see them as well as a direction sheet. The objects render quite well in Revit.

(heh heh heh, I congratulate myself!)
Valued Mentor
vector2
Posts: 2,058
Registered: ‎03-28-2009
Message 10 of 13 (3,303 Views)

Re: Objects imported into Revit from Auto CAD

02-23-2010 10:01 AM in reply to: glxrustang
yeah you can render different layers of an imported
object in revit- but it's time-consuming to determine
what layer goes to what and assign materials to it..

and still the only purpose for doing that is viewing
the shape of the object- and one solid gray color
works great for that without the time spent..
Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.