Revit Architecture Forum
Welcome to Autodesk’s Revit Architecture Forums. Share your knowledge, ask questions, and explore popular Revit Architecture topics.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Need help creating custom complicated shaped roof

4 REPLIES 4
Message 1 of 5
Anonymous
3624 Views, 4 Replies

Need help creating custom complicated shaped roof

Hello Forum

I am learning Revit on my own and I am a total beginner. I am trying to create dome roofs like these:

http://www.mumbaitemples.com/wp-content/uploads/2013/08/iskconmiraroad.jpg

https://traveldreams.in/data/resources/img/locations/mayapur-krishnanagar.jpg

https://lh3.googleusercontent.com/-WRxCFrsA6Lw/UDNXhIFTXJI/AAAAAAAAGPQ/vMCT1ggL2IA/w900/ISKCON%2BTem...

I'm trying to use massing, but am not able to apply a roof over it because theres an error something about being vertical.

It would be greatly appreciated if some of you pros can make a quick video tutorial explaning step by step on how to do this.

Otherwise a detailed answer would be nice.

Thanks for your time!

4 REPLIES 4
Message 2 of 5
constantin.stroescu
in reply to: Anonymous

It is a very good idea using Mass , but instead of using Roof by Face , use Wall by Face.
If you think how in real life is you will admit that vaults are indead masonry like walls are, so it is corect to use wall function.

In my example I made a very simple dome based on a square shape . Of course you can use Inscribed or circumscribed Polygons with many edges or you can use chamfered polygons for more complex shapes.You can also use diferent polygons for base and top shapes. In addition you can use sweeps for rims and profiles.

https://chronicle.autodesk.com/main/details/af18de5b-10a9-40cd-9a66-ed0adb5dc87b

Constantin Stroescu

EESignature

Message 3 of 5
Anonymous

Hi Constantin,