Revit Architecture

Revit Architecture

Reply
New Member
nmate_
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎02-06-2013
Message 1 of 3 (115 Views)

My project is "locked"

115 Views, 2 Replies
02-06-2013 02:19 AM

Hi, i have a project in school with my classmates, we have a file in a common file and we have the collaborate setting on so we can work to the main file. The school changed the logging in system in school so all got new usernames and now when we try to get to our main file to the project it says that no one of us are the right user to make changes in the main file. Ive tried to make a copy of the file and work there instead but it dosent work anyways. Does anyone know how to make it work? Its Revit Architecture 2012.

Valued Mentor
AJA14
Posts: 491
Registered: ‎11-01-2011
Message 2 of 3 (102 Views)

Re: My project is "locked"

02-06-2013 03:40 AM in reply to: nmate_

Hi. Go to the application menu, options dialog, and in the general tab change the username back to the old one. This should do the trick.

Ali Al-Hammoud
Structural Design Engineer
MZ & Partners Engineering Consultancy
Distinguished Mentor
Caddman13
Posts: 785
Registered: ‎07-13-2004
Message 3 of 3 (84 Views)

Re: My project is "locked"

02-06-2013 10:21 AM in reply to: nmate_

nmate_ wrote:

Hi, i have a project in school with my classmates, we have a file in a common file and we have the collaborate setting on so we can work to the main file. The school changed the logging in system in school so all got new usernames and now when we try to get to our main file to the project it says that no one of us are the right user to make changes in the main file. Ive tried to make a copy of the file and work there instead but it dosent work anyways. Does anyone know how to make it work? Its Revit Architecture 2012.


If I understand this correctly you have worksharing turned on so you and your classmates can all work on the file together.  Once the school changed login accounts none of you can work on the project.

If this is correct. Try this:

 

Open Revit

Open project and drill down to the project location on the network.

Select the file and then make sure you check the check box at the bottom of the open menu to "Detach from Central".

Let the project open and save over it with the same name.

Click on the Collaborate Tab and select "Relinquish All Mine"

Click Synchronize with Central

 

Create new local files and you should be good to go.

 

Hope this helps you out.

 

BTW: Please create a backup of the file prior to starting this process.  Better to be safe than sorry.

 

Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Announcements
Do you have 60 seconds to spare? The Autodesk Community Team is revamping our site ranking system and we want your feedback! Please click here to launch the 5 question survey. As always your input is greatly appreciated.