Revit Architecture

Reply
Contributor
Mikeb
Posts: 23
Registered: ‎11-28-2007
Message 1 of 7 (2,080 Views)

Multiple Leaders with Keynotes

2080 Views, 6 Replies
04-14-2008 08:36 AM
Is it possible to have multiple leaders with one keynote?
Distinguished Contributor
melarch
Posts: 1,707
Registered: ‎03-09-2003
Message 2 of 7 (2,080 Views)

Re: Multiple Leaders with Keynotes

04-15-2008 03:59 AM in reply to: Mikeb
Not directly from the Keynote command or tool. The Optio bar only provides for one leader to be displayed. You could create a Detail Line Based family that acted as a leader and apply that family to any object including Keynotes independently. Very useful for placing leaders with in many other conditions where no leader is available.

Mel Persin, AIA
AEC Technology Consultant
Technology to Visualize and Realize Solutions
Modeling the Future/Drafting the Present/Building on the Past
Distinguished Contributor
ljhudson
Posts: 331
Registered: ‎02-14-2008
Message 3 of 7 (1,926 Views)

Re: Multiple Leaders with Keynotes

03-09-2011 11:26 AM in reply to: Mikeb

Can you go into more detail about how this can be done, please?

*Expert Elite*
Alfredo_Medina
Posts: 2,830
Registered: ‎06-11-2009
Message 4 of 7 (1,915 Views)

Re: Multiple Leaders with Keynotes

03-09-2011 02:55 PM in reply to: Mikeb

Copy the keynote multiple times, at the same place. Then just drag the arrows to different places.

 

See illustration.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Planta1 Revit Online Consulting | info@planta1.com | my Twitter | The Planta1 Blog
Active Member
narenvangamudi
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎12-20-2012
Message 5 of 7 (1,199 Views)

Re: Multiple Leaders with Keynotes

06-27-2013 03:39 PM in reply to: Alfredo_Medina

This is ridiculous way of doing it.. Blaming Autodesk.. not you. I am amazed they don't an option even in 2013.

*Expert Elite*
David_W._Koch
Posts: 2,589
Registered: ‎12-09-2003
Message 6 of 7 (1,170 Views)

Re: Multiple Leaders with Keynotes

07-01-2013 11:28 AM in reply to: narenvangamudi

narenvangamudi wrote:

This is ridiculous way of doing it.. Blaming Autodesk.. not you. I am amazed they don't an option even in 2013.


I would imagine that the reasoning behind not doing so would be that the "extra" leaders would be pure annotation and could point to objects to which the keynote does not apply.  Even if all were done correctly on first placement, the objects to which the "extra" leaders point could be changed, and the keynote would still indicate the original, now incorrect, note.

David Koch
*Expert Elite*
rosskirby
Posts: 872
Registered: ‎04-08-2008
Message 7 of 7 (1,163 Views)

Re: Multiple Leaders with Keynotes

07-01-2013 12:09 PM in reply to: narenvangamudi

Yes and no.  It depends on what type of keynotes you're using.  If you're doing standard or material keynotes, then you're right, it makes no sense.  However, if you're using the manual user keynotes, then you could be mistagging items.

 

If you want a single keynote tag to have multiple leaders, then you'll have to create it as a generic annotation element, and it will be a manual keynote that is not tied back to any kind of smart data.  You will, however, be able to add multiple leaders to it (same way as adding multiple leaders to a text object).

 

So, since there are several different ways of doing keynotes in Revit, having multiple leaders as an option with all types isn't possible.

Ross Kirby
BIM Manager
Arcturis
Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.