Revit Architecture

Revit Architecture

Reply
Contributor
kooldabiz
Posts: 19
Registered: ‎11-03-2011
Message 11 of 13 (247 Views)

Re: Multi-Category Sched ... Not Reporting 'Some' Room Info

10-02-2012 12:28 PM in reply to: CADastrophe

Guys, this is great stuff.  However, when I used the Work Plane-Based approach it worked great for equipment I had already placed on a floor as the room name and number showed right up on the schedule, but when I tried dragging it in from the browser onto a floor the equipment didn't show while dragging as usual and when I clicked on the floor to place it I got "A serious error has occurred" message. Any ideas?

KOOLDABIZ
*Expert Elite*
Alfredo_Medina
Posts: 2,834
Registered: ‎06-11-2009
Message 12 of 13 (241 Views)

Re: Multi-Category Sched ... Not Reporting 'Some' Room Info

10-02-2012 01:10 PM in reply to: kooldabiz

Unfortunately, it is difficult to know what could have caused that error.

 

I only want to comment this: selecting the proper template is the first important part of the workflow when making families. So important, that sometimes we cannot fix something without starting from scratch with the proper template. If there is no specific reason to use the "floor-based" host,  we should simply use the default template that is hosted by the reference level. The same happens with other hosts, such as wall, roof, and ceiling, which, in most cases, could be better replaced by "face-based".

 

In this case, notice how the choice of "floor-based" did not really give you an advantage, but some trouble instead.

 

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Planta1 Revit Online Consulting | info@planta1.com | my Twitter | The Planta1 Blog
Contributor
kooldabiz
Posts: 19
Registered: ‎11-03-2011
Message 13 of 13 (233 Views)

Re: Multi-Category Sched ... Not Reporting 'Some' Room Info

10-02-2012 04:08 PM in reply to: Alfredo_Medina

I'm with you and will be changing my approach accordingly.  All this information has been a really big help.  Thanks a ton to everyone.

KOOLDABIZ
Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Announcements
Are You Going To Be @ AU 2014? Feel free to drop by our AU topic post and share your plans, plug a class that you're teaching, or simply check out who else from the community might be in attendance. Ohh and don't forgot to stop by the Autodesk Help | Learn | Collaborate booths in the Exhibit Hall and meet our community team if you get a chance!