Revit Architecture

Reply
Active Contributor
chris.pitt
Posts: 35
Registered: ‎06-29-2005
Message 1 of 6 (206 Views)

Moving objects between object styles

206 Views, 5 Replies
09-14-2012 06:47 AM

Is it possible to move a wall to a different object style?

 

Im currently setting out a toilet suite and would like to place the cubicle partitions in a more appropriate object style.

 

Regards

 

Christopher Alan Pitt

Frank Shaw Associates

Employee
loboarch
Posts: 996
Registered: ‎09-05-2003
Message 2 of 6 (187 Views)

Re: Moving objects between object styles

09-14-2012 12:27 PM in reply to: chris.pitt

Object categories are not editable.  If you create an object as a "Wall" you can move it to another category.  You would have to create a custom family in the category you want if you do not want a toilet partition in the wall category.



Jeff Hanson
Sr. Subject Matter Expert
Autodesk, Revit User Experience
Active Contributor
chris.pitt
Posts: 35
Registered: ‎06-29-2005
Message 3 of 6 (155 Views)

Re: Moving objects between object styles

09-17-2012 06:16 AM in reply to: loboarch

Noted, but can I assemble system families into a loadable family?

 

Do do what I want simply I need to use walls, doors and curtain walls togethor.

 

Regards

 

Christopher Alan Pitt

Frank Shaw Associates

Employee
loboarch
Posts: 996
Registered: ‎09-05-2003
Message 4 of 6 (150 Views)

Re: Moving objects between object styles

09-17-2012 06:25 AM in reply to: chris.pitt

You can use system families as part of the family definition.  You could create assemblies or groups in a template and then the grouping of elements could be placed by creating an instance of the assembly or group in your project.  The one drawback of this method is that it really can't be managed in a library or easily redefined in an on going project.



Jeff Hanson
Sr. Subject Matter Expert
Autodesk, Revit User Experience
Active Contributor
chris.pitt
Posts: 35
Registered: ‎06-29-2005
Message 5 of 6 (139 Views)

Re: Moving objects between object styles

09-17-2012 07:17 AM in reply to: loboarch

Sorry but I'm new to this and patently dumb.  How do I get a system family into a loadable family? It's not immediately obvious and copy/ paste throws up an error.  Do I need to use a particular family template?

 

Regards

 

Christopher Alan Pitt

Frank Shaw Associates

Employee
loboarch
Posts: 996
Registered: ‎09-05-2003
Message 6 of 6 (136 Views)

Re: Moving objects between object styles

09-17-2012 07:21 AM in reply to: chris.pitt

Oops.  That was a typo it meant to say you CAN"T place a system family into a componnet family file.  Sorry about that.



Jeff Hanson
Sr. Subject Matter Expert
Autodesk, Revit User Experience
Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.