Revit Architecture

Revit Architecture

Reply
Distinguished Contributor
kate_vanhout
Posts: 123
Registered: ‎06-30-2010
Message 1 of 10 (2,160 Views)
Accepted Solution

Moving Objects Between Design Options

2160 Views, 9 Replies
08-10-2012 08:34 AM

I am using Revit Architecture 2013 and I have a few different design options for the mian level of a house I am working on.  I have the North wall of the house in a design option for the living room at the moment.  But I have decided I no longer want that wall in the my living room option, I would like to move it to my kitchen design option so I am able to move a window that is located on that wall.  I cannot seem to find a way to move a wall from one design option to another or have it in both if it is already part of a design option.  Does anyone have any suggestions on how I can get this wall and the windows located on it into my kitchen design layout without having things being double counted in the schedules? 

use Cut and Paste.  Select the objects you want to move, and Cut them using Crtl-X or the Cut toolbar button in the ribbon.  Make the option active you want them in, and then use "Paste same place" from the ribbon.

Employee
davissc
Posts: 298
Registered: ‎08-08-2007
Message 2 of 10 (2,154 Views)

Re: Moving Objects Between Design Options

08-10-2012 09:40 AM in reply to: kate_vanhout

use Cut and Paste.  Select the objects you want to move, and Cut them using Crtl-X or the Cut toolbar button in the ribbon.  Make the option active you want them in, and then use "Paste same place" from the ribbon.



Scott D Davis
AEC Technical Specialist
North American Sales
Autodesk, Inc.

Want Revit Content? Go to http://seek.autodesk.com !

Distinguished Contributor
kate_vanhout
Posts: 123
Registered: ‎06-30-2010
Message 3 of 10 (2,142 Views)

Re: Moving Objects Between Design Options

08-10-2012 10:58 AM in reply to: kate_vanhout

Thanks so much this worked!! 

Active Member
sheenasharp
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎03-07-2011
Message 4 of 10 (1,612 Views)

Re: Moving Objects Between Design Options

10-06-2013 09:02 AM in reply to: davissc

The solution did not work for me.  the wall shoudl remain in the main model, and be added to the other option.

 

this solution removres the wall from the optionA and would not paste into Option D.

*Expert Elite*
Alfredo_Medina
Posts: 2,863
Registered: ‎06-11-2009
Message 5 of 10 (1,603 Views)

Re: Moving Objects Between Design Options

10-06-2013 09:42 AM in reply to: kate_vanhout

The original question refers to "moving" an element from one option into another one, and the solution of the copy-paste and changing the current option works for this question. Perhaps your case is different.

 

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Planta1 Revit Online Consulting | info@planta1.com | my Twitter | The Planta1 Blog
Active Member
sheenasharp
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎03-07-2011
Message 6 of 10 (1,596 Views)

Re: Moving Objects Between Design Options

10-06-2013 09:59 AM in reply to: Alfredo_Medina
I think you are correct.

My problem is that all the elements seem "locked" in the main model view,
so I cannot add them to the new design option.

I have been struggling to find the problem, to no avail so far.

Sheena.

--


Sheena Sharp
Principal
Coolearth Architecture inc.
386 Pacific Avenue
Toronto, ON M6P 2R1
p 416-868-9774
c 416-575-5928
*Expert Elite*
Alfredo_Medina
Posts: 2,863
Registered: ‎06-11-2009
Message 7 of 10 (1,584 Views)

Re: Moving Objects Between Design Options

10-06-2013 11:00 AM in reply to: sheenasharp

Maybe there is a confusion about the usage of design options? Main model is the set of the elements that are common to all the design options. In what case do you need to move objects from the main model to an option set?

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Planta1 Revit Online Consulting | info@planta1.com | my Twitter | The Planta1 Blog
Valued Contributor
dglenn9000
Posts: 52
Registered: ‎07-10-2007
Message 8 of 10 (221 Views)

Moving Text Between Design Options, some text turns halftone, some is not.

10-29-2014 06:51 PM in reply to: kate_vanhout

When I tried to move objects from the main model to a desgin option, the modeled elements moved but the test stayed.  I can edit the text when in the design option but the text is greyed out/halftone.  But if I add new text, the text is dark... why is it like that? How can I put the text from the main to the option?

 

Thanks

*Expert Elite*
David_W._Koch
Posts: 2,726
Registered: ‎12-09-2003
Message 9 of 10 (202 Views)

Re: Moving Objects Between Design Options

10-31-2014 03:39 PM in reply to: sheenasharp

With the Main Model set current, select the item(s) you want to move from the Main Model to one or more Design Options, and then, on the Manage ribbon tab, on the Design Options panel, select the Add to Set tool.  A dialog will appear, listing available Option Sets and the Design Options associated with each.  Check each Design Option to which you want to move/copy the selected elements; uncheck all to which you do not want to do so.

David Koch
*Expert Elite*
David_W._Koch
Posts: 2,726
Registered: ‎12-09-2003
Message 10 of 10 (200 Views)

Re: Moving Text Between Design Options, some text turns halftone, some is not.

10-31-2014 04:09 PM in reply to: dglenn9000

dglenn9000 wrote:

When I tried to move objects from the main model to a desgin option, the modeled elements moved but the test stayed.  I can edit the text when in the design option but the text is greyed out/halftone.  But if I add new text, the text is dark... why is it like that? How can I put the text from the main to the option?

 

Thanks


Annotation belongs to the view, not the Design Option.  Text and other annotations will appear full intensity when the Main Model is selected, or if the Design Option assigned to the view is selected.  (If "All" is selected for the Visible In Option parameter of the View, then the annotation will be full intensity if the primary option assigned to the view is selected.)  Annotation is grayed out if another Design Option is set current, as a reminder that the annotation in that view is meant for a different Design Option.

David Koch
Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Announcements
Do you have 60 seconds to spare? The Autodesk Community Team is revamping our site ranking system and we want your feedback! Please click here to launch the 5 question survey. As always your input is greatly appreciated.