Revit Architecture

Revit Architecture

Reply
Mentor
1,361 Posts
9 Kudos
Registered: ‎04-09-2010
Post 1 of 4
Accepted Solution

Moving introduce “Can't keep elements joined”,

565 Views, 3 Replies
10-06-2012 02:47 PM

Moving introduce “Can't keep elements joined”,

 

I tried to move my drawing to make it at the center of the elevation tags but I have a message saying “can't keep elements joined”

 

What is the effect of accepting or rejecting this message?

 

Also, I’m wondering if there is a command that place the drawing at the center of the elevation tags.

 

Thank you for the help,

 

Best

 

Jamal

 

 

Clip_117.jpg

 

Clip_118.jpg

----------------------------------------------------------
Jamal NUMAN, GIS and Civil Engineer, MSc
e-mail: JamaL9722060@yahoo.com
P.O.Box: 731, Ramallah, West Bank, Palestine.
----------------------------------------------------------
Software: AutoCAD 2014, AutoCAD C3D, AutoCAD M3D, Revit
Windows 7 (Ultimate 64 bits),
Firefox 20.0,
Kaspersky 2013.

Moving the entire building (while possible) is not recommended, especially for such as trivial purpose. The error you are getting there means that some of your elements are going to lose their association with each other. Not good. Also, there are many issues that will crop up, especially with others who are coordinating with your Model. Additionally, it is probable that may not select every element, which will cause more problems of course. And lastly, moving the entire model will cause significant problems with your Annotations in your Views. You'd have to go to each one to relocate any text, generic annotations, etc.

 

Simple answer: DO NOT move the model. Instead, mode the Elevation Tags to accommodate your model's position.

Valued Mentor
406 Posts
22 Kudos
Registered: ‎08-05-2012
Post 2 of 4

Re: Moving introduce “Can't keep elements joined”,

10-08-2012 02:48 AM in reply to: JamaL9722060

 

Two approaches to this problem however it seems to me you think


1 - First, get into a 3D view, and click and drag to select all the elements.

 

- The 2D view, for example, plane (level) down the Ctrl key elements of the plan and go with the next two, for example,

 

choose a  Dimenssion line.

 

You can now use the Move Tool to move the elements.

 

2 - The second method:


You can open a new file and the files in it to Link.

 

*Expert Elite*
3,481 Posts
998 Kudos
Registered: ‎08-28-2009
Post 3 of 4

Re: Moving introduce “Can't keep elements joined”,

10-08-2012 05:31 AM in reply to: JamaL9722060

Moving the entire building (while possible) is not recommended, especially for such as trivial purpose. The error you are getting there means that some of your elements are going to lose their association with each other. Not good. Also, there are many issues that will crop up, especially with others who are coordinating with your Model. Additionally, it is probable that may not select every element, which will cause more problems of course. And lastly, moving the entire model will cause significant problems with your Annotations in your Views. You'd have to go to each one to relocate any text, generic annotations, etc.

 

Simple answer: DO NOT move the model. Instead, mode the Elevation Tags to accommodate your model's position.

Corey D.                                                                                                                  ADSK_Logo_EE_2013.png    AutoCAD 2014 User  Revit 2014 User
──────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────
⁞|⁞ Please use Mark Solutions!.Accept as Solution and Give Kudos!Give Kudos as appropriate to further enhance these forums. Thank you!
Mentor
1,361 Posts
9 Kudos
Registered: ‎04-09-2010
Post 4 of 4

Re: Moving introduce “Can't keep elements joined”,

10-08-2012 01:22 PM in reply to: CADastrophe

 

Many thanks for the help guys.

 

Perfect. Then better to move the tags rather than the drawing. this answers my question.

 

Best

 

Jamal

----------------------------------------------------------
Jamal NUMAN, GIS and Civil Engineer, MSc
e-mail: JamaL9722060@yahoo.com
P.O.Box: 731, Ramallah, West Bank, Palestine.
----------------------------------------------------------
Software: AutoCAD 2014, AutoCAD C3D, AutoCAD M3D, Revit
Windows 7 (Ultimate 64 bits),
Firefox 20.0,
Kaspersky 2013.
Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post