Revit Architecture

Reply
Member
vitornunesalves
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎10-25-2012
Message 1 of 3 (201 Views)

Model in place Walls with a phase problem

201 Views, 2 Replies
12-13-2012 07:57 AM

Hi everyone.

 

I´m doing a restoration project of un old building.  This builiding have a lot of weird walls with irregular forms, so i've done this walls with a model in place component. the project is separated in three phases(existing, demolition,new construction).

 

Initially i've done everyone of this irregular walls in the existing phase as wall as all of the doors and windows. The doors and the windows will be demolished in the demolition phase but the walls will remain in the new construction phase, but now, in the new construction phase all off the doors and windows have disappeared but the hole left by this components hasn't. And now, i want to insert new windows in the place of the old ones and this holes doesn't let me do that.

 

thank you for the patience to read this giant message!

 

Vitor Alves

*Expert Elite*
Alfredo_Medina
Posts: 2,821
Registered: ‎06-11-2009
Message 2 of 3 (164 Views)

Re: Model in place Walls with a phase problem

12-16-2012 06:06 AM in reply to: vitornunesalves

Yes, because the walls were done as model in place, they don't behave as true walls in regards to other features, such as phases, properties, schedules, etc...

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Planta1 Revit Online Consulting | info@planta1.com | my Twitter | The Planta1 Blog
Valued Contributor
cjgielens
Posts: 92
Registered: ‎06-29-2004
Message 3 of 3 (139 Views)

Re: Model in place Walls with a phase problem

12-18-2012 02:23 AM in reply to: vitornunesalves

Revit is very limited regarding to phases.

 

Within walls you can phase the windows but if you want to replace the window with another window with exactly the same measurements there can be a lot of trouble!

 

And phasing in roofs, floors, openings, like make an opening in an existing floor? Forget it, Revit cannot.....

 

you have to demolish the floor and make a new one with an opening in it......

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.