Revit Architecture

Reply
OKG
Member
OKG
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎12-16-2013
Message 1 of 7 (1,589 Views)

Measure distance tool revit 2014

1589 Views, 6 Replies
12-16-2013 03:10 AM

in 3D - Section Box all measurement tools are grey indication of no use/doesn't applay/stay away/? Using 3D-SB you can have a glance insidea 3D modell and there be objects that only have a elevaton and no other properties except New Constuction (Specialty Equipment). So confirming space is a pain.

*Expert Elite*
rosskirby
Posts: 830
Registered: ‎04-08-2008
Message 2 of 7 (1,560 Views)

Re: Measure distance tool revit 2014

12-16-2013 07:35 AM in reply to: OKG

Was there a question in there somewhere?

Ross Kirby
BIM Manager
Arcturis
OKG
Member
OKG
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎12-16-2013
Message 3 of 7 (1,519 Views)

Re: Measure distance tool revit 2014

12-16-2013 11:27 PM in reply to: OKG

So why isn't it possible to measure?

*Expert Elite*
rosskirby
Posts: 830
Registered: ‎04-08-2008
Message 4 of 7 (1,506 Views)

Re: Measure distance tool revit 2014

12-17-2013 05:06 AM in reply to: OKG

You can add dimensions in 3D views to check distances.  Don't have access to Revit at the moment, so I can't confirm whether or not you can use the measure tool in 3D views.

Ross Kirby
BIM Manager
Arcturis
OKG
Member
OKG
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎12-16-2013
Message 5 of 7 (1,503 Views)

Re: Measure distance tool revit 2014

12-17-2013 05:11 AM in reply to: rosskirby

In (3D) you can, but not i 3D - Section Box  as default, is there a way around?

*Expert Elite*
rosskirby
Posts: 830
Registered: ‎04-08-2008
Message 6 of 7 (1,492 Views)

Re: Measure distance tool revit 2014

12-17-2013 05:45 AM in reply to: OKG

You can still do dimensions in a 3D view with the section box turned on, but you can't use the measure tool.  You'll have to cut an orthographic view (section, detail, plan, etc.) to get what you're looking for.

Ross Kirby
BIM Manager
Arcturis
*Expert Elite*
constantin.stroescu
Posts: 988
Registered: ‎10-29-2008
Message 7 of 7 (1,490 Views)

Re: Measure distance tool revit 2014

12-17-2013 05:48 AM in reply to: OKG

do you want to put dimensions in 3d section of on object in  3d view ?

You can do it using a small trick:

  1. In Plan View make a section in the area you want to put dimensions in the 3d view
  2. create a Reference Plane as close as possible to the section line , inside the area you want to keep in your 3d Section Box and name it somehow
  3. make a 3d view and check Section Box ( Properties > Extents >Section Box)
  4. then,  RC  on the View Cube > Orient to View > Sections > select the section you've just created in 1 - the 3d view turns to fit the section
  5. rotate using Orbit or View Cube and choose the angle you want
  6. from View Control Bar :  Lock the View
  7. from Architecture > Work Plane > Set > Work Plane - Name  - choose the Reference Plane made in step 2 
  8. Now you will be able to put dimensions on Section Plane oft the cuted 3d object.....
Constantin Stroescu
BIM Manager AGD
Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.