Revit Architecture

Revit Architecture

Reply
Active Contributor
tbryanm
Posts: 41
Registered: ‎05-22-2007
Message 1 of 8 (539 Views)
Accepted Solution

LT 2013 - Modify Railings

539 Views, 7 Replies
02-07-2013 03:18 PM

The following is straight from WikiHelp....

 

To modify the sketch line of the railing, click Modify | Railings tabMode panel Edit Path.

 

 However, everything after"click Modify | Railings tab" does not appear anywhere on my screen. The only active editing tools are 'Pick a New Host' & 'Reset Rail'. Am I missing something? Is there a special Revit handshake of dance that I need to know?

Have you tried double clicking the railing? That will take you into (what I call) sketch mode which allows you to edit the path of the railing, but it's tricky

 

I hope this helps! I still wish we had an area for Revit LT to eliminate the explanations/limitations to get straight to the solutions...

*Expert Elite*
Alfredo_Medina
Posts: 2,865
Registered: ‎06-11-2009
Message 2 of 8 (535 Views)

Re: LT 2013 - Modify Railings

02-07-2013 03:24 PM in reply to: tbryanm

If the current view is not a perspective view, you should see this after selecting the railing:

 

2-7-2013 6-21-24 PM.jpg

 

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Planta1 Revit Online Consulting | info@planta1.com | my Twitter | The Planta1 Blog
Active Contributor
bcarriere
Posts: 44
Registered: ‎04-12-2005
Message 3 of 8 (523 Views)

Re: LT 2013 - Modify Railings

02-07-2013 05:36 PM in reply to: Alfredo_Medina

I think we both need to do a special song and dance!

Alfredo, are you using FULL Revit or Revit LT? Edit Paths does not appear as an option when I select a railing in Revit LT in plan view. See attached.

*Expert Elite*
Alfredo_Medina
Posts: 2,865
Registered: ‎06-11-2009
Message 4 of 8 (514 Views)

Re: LT 2013 - Modify Railings

02-07-2013 05:54 PM in reply to: bcarriere

I use the full Revit, and my 30 day trial of Revit LT expired soon, so I can't test it in LT. :smileysad:

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Planta1 Revit Online Consulting | info@planta1.com | my Twitter | The Planta1 Blog
Active Contributor
bcarriere
Posts: 44
Registered: ‎04-12-2005
Message 5 of 8 (497 Views)

Re: LT 2013 - Modify Railings

02-08-2013 08:54 AM in reply to: tbryanm

Have you tried double clicking the railing? That will take you into (what I call) sketch mode which allows you to edit the path of the railing, but it's tricky

 

I hope this helps! I still wish we had an area for Revit LT to eliminate the explanations/limitations to get straight to the solutions...

ben
New Member
ben
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎06-25-2007
Message 6 of 8 (361 Views)

Re: LT 2013 - Modify Railings

06-05-2013 04:33 AM in reply to: bcarriere
Spot on, nice one. Generally need to be in a plan view to edit.
*Expert Elite*
David_W._Koch
Posts: 2,729
Registered: ‎12-09-2003
Message 7 of 8 (339 Views)

Re: LT 2013 - Modify Railings

06-05-2013 03:04 PM in reply to: tbryanm

Do you have .NET 4.5 installed on your computer?  There is an issue with the Ribbons in Revit 2013 (and 2012) on computers where .NET 4.5 has been installed.  For the full version of Revit, Update Release 2 fixes this issue.  (There is a hot fix for the 2012 version.)  I am not certain if the updates will work with the "LT" version, however.

David Koch
Active Contributor
bcarriere
Posts: 44
Registered: ‎04-12-2005
Message 8 of 8 (332 Views)

Re: LT 2013 - Modify Railings

06-05-2013 04:22 PM in reply to: David_W._Koch

David,

This update does not apply to Revit LT.

Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Announcements
Do you have 60 seconds to spare? The Autodesk Community Team is revamping our site ranking system and we want your feedback! Please click here to launch the 5 question survey. As always your input is greatly appreciated.