Revit Architecture

Revit Architecture

Reply
Member
gogator71
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎04-04-2012
Message 1 of 8 (2,461 Views)
Accepted Solution

Is this a good computer setup to run Revit 2012?

2461 Views, 7 Replies
04-04-2012 10:53 AM

Operating system

Genuine Windows 7 Home Premium [64-bit] 
ProcessorIntel(R) Core(TM) i7-2600 quad-core processor with Turbo-Boost [up to 3.8GHz, 8MB cache] 
Memory12GB DDR3-1333MHz SDRAM [4 DIMMs] 
Hard drive2TB 7200 rpm SATA hard drive 
Secondary Hard DriveNo secondary hard drive 
Office softwareMicrosoft(R) Office Starter: reduced-functionality Word & Excel w/ ads. No PowerPoint or Outlook 
Security softwareSAVE $20 on Norton Internet Security(TM) 2012 - 15 month 
Graphics card3GB DDR3 NVIDIA GeForce GT 545 [DVI, HDMI, VGA] 
Power Supply600W Power supply 
Primary optical driveSuperMulti DVD Burner 
NetworkingPremium Wireless-N LAN card 
Productivity ports15-in-1 memory card reader, 4 USB 2.0 (front), audio, 2 USB (top rear-facing) 
TV & entertainment experienceNo TV Tuner 
Sound CardBeats Audio (tm) -- integrated studio quality sound 
Keyboard and MousePremium HP keyboard and optical mouse 
 
Monitor

HP 2311x 23-inch LED Monitor

 

 

 

I am looking to purchase an HP h8xt computer with these specs for learning Revit 2012 and Civil 3D at home.  I am not sure about the graphics card, but I think it was the best option HP had for this computer.  Your comments and suggestions are greatly appreciated.

 

R

 

*Expert Elite*
rosskirby
Posts: 830
Registered: ‎04-08-2008
Message 2 of 8 (2,435 Views)

Re: Is this a good computer setup to run Revit 2012?

04-04-2012 01:12 PM in reply to: gogator71

That should be fine.  Also, for future reference, the only things that matter are:

 

  • OS
  • RAM
  • Processor
  • Video Card

The rest of it has no bearing on whether or not the computer is suitable for Revit.  You might want to go back and edit your original post so that there's less clutter for people to wade through, which might make them more likely to leav an opinion.  Just my two cents.

Ross Kirby
BIM Manager
Arcturis
Member
gogator71
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎04-04-2012
Message 3 of 8 (2,423 Views)

Re: Is this a good computer setup to run Revit 2012?

04-04-2012 01:49 PM in reply to: rosskirby

Thank you for your comments.  I am new at this and I just copied the info from the screen into the message.  I will be more careful next time.

Is the video card ok?  It is not listed on the recommended section for Revit.

 

Your help is greatly appreciated.

 

R

*Expert Elite*
rosskirby
Posts: 830
Registered: ‎04-08-2008
Message 4 of 8 (2,415 Views)

Re: Is this a good computer setup to run Revit 2012?

04-04-2012 02:13 PM in reply to: gogator71

No worries.  I didn't mean it as criticism.  I just thought I'd offer a tip on how to get better advice here.

 

"Is the video card ok?" is probably the most loaded question you can ask here.  Most video cards, whether they're included on the approved list or not, will work just fine with Revit, unless:

 

  • you do lots of renderings
  • you use lots of different 3D visualization settings (ray trace, ambient shadows, etc.)
  • it's not 100% sympatico with your motherboard/processor
  • it's drivers change something that Revit wasn't expecting
  • it's Thursday at 3:17

To be honest, the last condition is the only one that's really relevant.  Sometimes, the same video card will work for some people, and not for others.  I've seen people who spent $3000 on a video card who have major problems, and people who have spent $750 on the whole computer (i.e. me) who have had no problems whatsoever.

Ross Kirby
BIM Manager
Arcturis
Valued Mentor
vector2
Posts: 2,058
Registered: ‎03-28-2009
Message 5 of 8 (2,397 Views)

Re: Is this a good computer setup to run Revit 2012?

04-04-2012 11:31 PM in reply to: gogator71

When I build a new computer I try to make my best guess about

a video card for it. Its 3D capabilities, (converting 2D to 3D), is just

about all Revit cares about. And since there is no real way to know

what card will be good for your system and Revit, what I have always

done is buy 4 or 5 open-box cards and return the ones I don't like.

 

The next generation Intel CPUs called "Ivy Bridge" will have revolutionary

new transistor switches on the chip, called "Trigate". These switches have

more surface area for the current to travel because they stand upright

on the chip instead of flat. They are being called "3D" transitors instead

of 2D transitors. This is revolutionary because it frees up a huge amount

of space on the chip, allowing far more performance and lower temps.

Release date is April 23, see the image.

 

 

 

Member
gogator71
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎04-04-2012
Message 6 of 8 (2,333 Views)

Re: Is this a good computer setup to run Revit 2012?

04-05-2012 07:42 AM in reply to: gogator71

I appreciate all the help that has been offered.

 

R.

Member
Scudaria
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎04-10-2012
Message 7 of 8 (2,270 Views)

Re: Is this a good computer setup to run Revit 2012?

04-10-2012 07:11 AM in reply to: gogator71

If you want to buy a new computer to use Revit, 3Dmax or Autocad, go for the professional graphic cards from Nvidia.

You need to get The Quadro FX series, ike the Quadro FX 3800 of Quadro FX 4000.

And not the Geforce series, wich are created for common usage and not for professional work. 

New Member
john.lismer
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎05-03-2012
Message 8 of 8 (2,140 Views)

Re: Is this a good computer setup to run Revit 2012?

05-03-2012 07:37 AM in reply to: gogator71

Windows 7 Home Premium will limit you to 16GB of RAM. Windows 7 Professional and above will allow up to 32GB of RAM on your system which may become important if you do large and/or complex buildings.

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.