Revit Architecture

Revit Architecture

Reply
Valued Mentor
vector2
Posts: 2,058
Registered: ‎03-28-2009
Message 11 of 22 (3,709 Views)

Re: Interior Rendering shows up black

05-18-2012 03:23 PM in reply to: thaner9

What if 150W is not enough for the exposure setting you have?

Mentor
octavio2
Posts: 255
Registered: ‎05-07-2010
Message 12 of 22 (3,681 Views)

Re: Interior Rendering shows up black

05-19-2012 05:02 PM in reply to: vector2

If your issue is with a black bottom ceiling which refuses to change color, I had the problem today and resolved it by adding a new layer "finish" under the ceiling with a new layer of 5/8" gypboard, and then I delved into the additional dialogs and changed the colors to white.  (It was an involved and trial and error process).  Now  I do not have the black ceiling any more.

Valued Contributor
thaner9
Posts: 89
Registered: ‎07-14-2010
Message 13 of 22 (3,659 Views)

Re: Interior Rendering shows up black

05-21-2012 08:49 AM in reply to: vector2

I've attached two images showing the space I'm working on. I've just generically added a ceiling, below the floor, and added 4- out of the box recessed cans from Revit. I cut a Section Box so that it'd actually show up, if I don't have the Section Box, it's ALL black (not just the ceiling).

 

I've done this same view without the floor "layer" on and it didn't help. My ceiling is just a 5/8" thick "structure" component of drywall, which isn't generic and actually has a material associated with it.

 

In the "dummy" file I created, I used the same basic set up and I was able to get the lights to appear. However, I used the generic ceiling material and there wasn't a floor. I can't imagine you just can't have a floor above, but who knows.

 

I can provide more information if necessary.

 

Thanks again to all of you,

 

Logan

 

Valued Contributor
thaner9
Posts: 89
Registered: ‎07-14-2010
Message 14 of 22 (3,654 Views)

Re: Interior Rendering shows up black

05-21-2012 09:47 AM in reply to: thaner9

Now serving a big plate of "yes, you're still just learning"...

 

Even though the image on the screen suggested my camera was not inside a wall, when I looked at it in plan form, it was. I moved it forward a bit, out of the wall, and now things work.

 

Notes for future forum'ers...

 

It still requires (at least when placed under a floor element) that the Light Source Elevation remain within the thickness of the ceiling element. I rendered with it outside of my 5/8" material (back to the original 3" above bottom plane) and it did not render. So, light fixtures won't render "inside" a floor.

 

If you want the fixture itself to have a "glow", you need to edit the fixture's "Light Source Definition" to have it's "Light Distribution" to be a spherical instead of spot. I've attached an image that illustrates this.

 

Thanks for everyone's help...

 

 

Valued Mentor
vector2
Posts: 2,058
Registered: ‎03-28-2009
Message 15 of 22 (3,632 Views)

Re: Interior Rendering shows up black

05-21-2012 01:10 PM in reply to: thaner9

Not much is going to render with those low settings anyway.

Valued Mentor
vector2
Posts: 2,058
Registered: ‎03-28-2009
Message 16 of 22 (3,607 Views)

Re: Interior Rendering shows up black

05-21-2012 05:50 PM in reply to: thaner9

These are the render settings that will give you the

FASTEST and most COMPLETE rendering. The image

won't look like a realistic photo, but everything will

get rendered.

Valued Contributor
thaner9
Posts: 89
Registered: ‎07-14-2010
Message 17 of 22 (3,566 Views)

Re: Interior Rendering shows up black

05-22-2012 10:01 AM in reply to: vector2

Thanks Vector2. That definitely sped up rendering. I did notice the windows rendered black now though. The adjacent door (also using glass as it's glazing material) rendered transparent. Any ideas why? I used your custom rendering settings and did all the different lighting schemes possible and the glazing in the windows always rendered black/opaque...

 

 

Valued Mentor
vector2
Posts: 2,058
Registered: ‎03-28-2009
Message 18 of 22 (3,550 Views)

Re: Interior Rendering shows up black

05-22-2012 03:17 PM in reply to: thaner9

thaner- Those settings just mean it's not taking all that time

to accurately trace the rays, but it IS filling out the elements,

(except glass), because the antialiasing is set to at least 6.

But that's just for a quick preview render.

 

For quallity renderings put antialiasing to 9 and those two illumination

precision settings to 9. 10 is infinitely better if you can let it render

for hours and hours. And bump up those other settings a little to give

you the transparent glass. And of course the soft shadows at 8 or 9.

 

As for some elements rendering black, that's just in their material

settings.

Active Member
brionmkean
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎01-18-2011
Message 19 of 22 (3,289 Views)

Re: Interior Rendering shows up black

10-01-2012 07:40 PM in reply to: thaner9

We just had this same issue in my Revit class. The problem we encountered - the rendering all black - is that Revit renders doors as being CLOSED. The camera was just on the wrong side of the door! Try moving the camera, see if it's something like that for your issue.

New Member
thandie
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎06-02-2014
Message 20 of 22 (1,221 Views)

Re: Interior Rendering shows up black

06-02-2014 09:12 AM in reply to: thaner9

Hi everyone.

Hope you're well.

 

There is a black strip that keeps appearing in the render.

I have rendered this same view more than 4times.1S - DINING KITCHEN LOUNGE.jpg
I even changed the pendant light and the camera angle without ANY luck!

Please help me with this problem in the attachment below.

 

Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Announcements
Do you have 60 seconds to spare? The Autodesk Community Team is revamping our site ranking system and we want your feedback! Please click here to launch the 5 question survey. As always your input is greatly appreciated.