Revit Architecture

Reply
Active Contributor
oihadsf
Posts: 27
Registered: ‎06-09-2005
Message 1 of 5 (310 Views)
Accepted Solution

Instanced Yes/No with Voids???

310 Views, 4 Replies
12-22-2011 08:29 AM

Hello,

I'm creating some simple countertops and am trying to give my users as much flexibility as I can.  I have a straight run of countertop and have given them yes/no options for backsplash's and that works great.  The only other thing I would like to do is give them an option to make either the left, right, or both sides have a radius corner.  I thought I could accomplish this with voids, but there is no on/off option with them.  So I tried to write a basic formula that would control the thickness of a void, something like = if(Radius, Thickness, 0), but found that formula's refuse to work with an instanced paramenter (or just about any yes/no parameter I've tried).  Is there a way to accomplish this?  Is it possible?  Any help would be greatly appreciated.

 

Thank You,

~Wes~ 

Thanks Alfredo,

After much research I found out exactly what you are suggesting.  If only formula's could understand an instanced parameter this would be so easy.  Unfortunately they don't so I had to find a way around it.  In lieu of creating a myriad of different countertop families with radius corners on this side or that side or both sides I used a suggestion I found elsewhere online.  Just give the corners a radius option.   The default is 1/32" which essentially looks and acts square enough for our needs.  Then when we need our standard 2" radius the user can just fill it in.  It's not perfect, but it works and my users will apprecieate the simplicity of not scrollilng through 20-30 countertop options.

*Expert Elite*
Alfredo_Medina
Posts: 2,821
Registered: ‎06-11-2009
Message 2 of 5 (287 Views)

Re: Instanced Yes/No with Voids???

12-23-2011 08:41 AM in reply to: oihadsf

Making voids at corners appear or disappear at different corners is possible, but it is a lot of work. A simpler way is to use different counter tops families, one without round corners, another one with one, and another one with two. Then, the three types are labeled with a family type parameter that the user can swap at will.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Planta1 Revit Online Consulting | info@planta1.com | my Twitter | The Planta1 Blog
Active Contributor
oihadsf
Posts: 27
Registered: ‎06-09-2005
Message 3 of 5 (267 Views)

Re: Instanced Yes/No with Voids???

12-27-2011 06:16 AM in reply to: oihadsf

Thanks Alfredo,

After much research I found out exactly what you are suggesting.  If only formula's could understand an instanced parameter this would be so easy.  Unfortunately they don't so I had to find a way around it.  In lieu of creating a myriad of different countertop families with radius corners on this side or that side or both sides I used a suggestion I found elsewhere online.  Just give the corners a radius option.   The default is 1/32" which essentially looks and acts square enough for our needs.  Then when we need our standard 2" radius the user can just fill it in.  It's not perfect, but it works and my users will apprecieate the simplicity of not scrollilng through 20-30 countertop options.

Distinguished Contributor
kevinmulvaney
Posts: 137
Registered: ‎08-18-2008
Message 4 of 5 (144 Views)

Re: Instanced Yes/No with Voids???

02-27-2013 10:00 AM in reply to: oihadsf

Take a look at this family. The end radius and side splashes are driven by the Start and End overhang. Set it to an inch and the counter top radiuses, set it to 0 and the corner squares and adds the side splash, if the backsplash parameter is selected.

 

These are all instance paramaters, the depth of the counter top is the only Type parameter.

 


oihadsf wrote:
If only formula's could understand an instanced parameter this would be so easy.  Unfortunately they don't so I had to find a way around it.

Formulas will understand Instance parameters, but you can't have a type parameter driven by an instance.

Kevin Mulvaney, CAD/Revit Manager
PKA ARCHITECTS
Portland Oregon
Active Contributor
M-Town_Drafter
Posts: 42
Registered: ‎07-21-2008
Message 5 of 5 (131 Views)

Re: Instanced Yes/No with Voids???

02-27-2013 01:39 PM in reply to: kevinmulvaney

You can have voids that cut objects not be in contact with them in a family.  For my door slabs, I have a void for an opening for glazing that's controlled by a yes/no parameter.  It has 2 reference planes set to the same thickness as the door, but separate.  The void is attached to these.  There's a dimension that goes from the front reference plane of the door to the front reference plane of the void.  That distance is controlled by the formula "if(Glazing,0',1')".  If the Glazing box is checked, the void is offset 0" from the door, thereby cutting it.  If the box is not checked, then the void moves 1' out from the door, thereby not cutting it.  Works as type or instance, though both the yes/no box and the formula driven dimension must be the same type.  Would this approach work for you?

 

A little something I got from somewhere on this forum.  Great resource to use.

 

Joseph Pratt

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.