Revit Architecture Forum
Welcome to Autodesk’s Revit Architecture Forums. Share your knowledge, ask questions, and explore popular Revit Architecture topics.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Instance Length Family Parameter: Reporting Issue

10 REPLIES 10
SOLVED
Message 1 of 11
paul.ashley
4674 Views, 10 Replies

Instance Length Family Parameter: Reporting Issue

I'm trying to create a simple 8x2 extrusion that will represent an aluminum band on a building elevation. The length varies by instance but needs to be reportable in a schedule (preferably using the "Length" shared parameter name.

I've never used reporting parameters before but have made an attempt at it in the attached file. The parameter of Length displays the stretched length in the properties box but won't appear in a schedule. The Instance Length parameter will appear in a schedule but doesn't always show the correct value.

I'll note that this family was adapted from one already created by someone else and the Length label cannot be deleted. It's as if the file was at one time a template.  However, I've tried it from scratch,t oo and can't get it to work, sometimes not even being able to get the family to allow stretching the length.

There's obviously a basic concept for this that I'm not grasping.  Any help would be appreciated.

10 REPLIES 10
Message 2 of 11

If you want to schedule the length value of a family in a project, you need to associate that length with a shared parameter (instance, length), in the family. Then, in the project, from the schedule, add the shared parameter to the schedule.

Alfredo Medina _________________________________________________________________ ______
Licensed Architect (Florida) | Freelance Instructor | Autodesk Expert Elite (on Revit) | Profile on Linkedin
Message 3 of 11

Late last night I found an article that suggested to me that what you offered might be the solution.  I'll give it a try today.  Thanks.