Revit Architecture Forum
Welcome to Autodesk’s Revit Architecture Forums. Share your knowledge, ask questions, and explore popular Revit Architecture topics.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

importing point cloud data - newbie

1 REPLY 1
Message 1 of 2
timcoddington
1968 Views, 1 Reply

importing point cloud data - newbie

Hi,

I'm on a steep learning curve and need some help from this community.  I'm new to AutoCAD and would lke to convert our our own point cloud data format to *.pcg.    I've got a lot of questions:

1) What is meant by the term "index" or "indexing" in reference to *.pcg, or point cloud data and Revit/AutoCAD?  I asume I have to do this but I need to know what it is and if not obvious how to do it.  

2) What is or how can I found out what the format is for *.pcg data? 

3) I'm starting from raw x, y, z data and will need to convert ultimately to *.pcg.  Is there another "path" I should take to get to *.cpg?   For example, what is the *.XYZ format and is that easier to convert into and then use some other tools/command to convert to *.pcg

4) currently my point cloud xyz data is stored by scans.  What should I know about the data organization expected by AutoCAD/Revit?

Thanks in advance for your help.

1 REPLY 1
Message 2 of 2

Tim,

Apologies that these questions went unanswered for so long.  Hopefully the below information makes us suck a little less for such a long delay.

timcoddington wrote:

1) What is meant by the term "index" or "indexing" in reference to *.pcg, or point cloud data and Revit/AutoCAD?  I asume I have to do this but I need to know what it is and if not obvious how to do it. 

Good starting question.  Indexing is the process of reformatting the raw data for rapid access by our Point Cloud engine.  We are basically applying a spatial structure to the data so we can quickly find data in a particular location.