Revit Architecture

Revit Architecture

Reply
Active Member
mingebartek
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎07-11-2012
Message 1 of 4 (771 Views)
Accepted Solution

How to change the numerical value of an dimension?

771 Views, 3 Replies
03-29-2013 01:26 PM

Hello everybody!

 

I'm new to this forum. I came here to ask for your help.

 

I was wandering while doing a project of some construction elements if there is any way in Revit that I can change the numerical value of an dimension not with the text but with different value ? and at the same time I don't want Revit to rescale my elements. Something like in AutoCAD that I can type in any number I want and Revit won't rescale i or change the distace between them.

 

I know that I could simply use AutoCAD instead of Revit but I find it easier in general  and I really want to learn it since I'm a student. 

 

Thanks for your help!

Alfredo is right....Revit has an other philosophy than Autocad....and this will be unfair for the program...

But , anyway ....a trick exists ...I read it once in an article, I don't remember exactly whose it belongs...but I put it down in a notebook .

Here are the steps :

  • Double click Dimension Value
  • Select : Replace with Text option
  • Right click in the text field 
  • Select : INSERT UNICODE CONTROL CHARACTER
  • Pick : US UNIT SEPARATOR (Segment Separator)
  • Type a new dimension in the text box and click OK

and it does work.....

*Expert Elite*
Alfredo_Medina
Posts: 2,821
Registered: ‎06-11-2009
Message 2 of 4 (764 Views)

Re: How to change the numerical value of an dimension?

03-29-2013 01:39 PM in reply to: mingebartek

Revit is different. You can replace a dimension value with text, but you cannot really fudge a dimension value to show a different numeric value. You could enter a value that contains numbers and text, such as "This is 2 feet 2 inches" , but in general, that is very unusual in Revit.

 

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Planta1 Revit Online Consulting | info@planta1.com | my Twitter | The Planta1 Blog
*Expert Elite*
constantin.stroescu
Posts: 1,018
Registered: ‎10-29-2008
Message 3 of 4 (749 Views)

Re: How to change the numerical value of an dimension?

03-29-2013 02:24 PM in reply to: mingebartek

Alfredo is right....Revit has an other philosophy than Autocad....and this will be unfair for the program...

But , anyway ....a trick exists ...I read it once in an article, I don't remember exactly whose it belongs...but I put it down in a notebook .

Here are the steps :

  • Double click Dimension Value
  • Select : Replace with Text option
  • Right click in the text field 
  • Select : INSERT UNICODE CONTROL CHARACTER
  • Pick : US UNIT SEPARATOR (Segment Separator)
  • Type a new dimension in the text box and click OK

and it does work.....

Constantin Stroescu
BIM Manager AGD
Active Member
mingebartek
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎07-11-2012
Message 4 of 4 (730 Views)

Re: How to change the numerical value of an dimension?

03-29-2013 03:05 PM in reply to: constantin.stroescu

Thanks guys for help! 

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.