Revit Architecture

Revit Architecture

Reply
Contributor
sburke1
Posts: 19
Registered: ‎09-17-2003
Message 1 of 8 (2,591 Views)

How do I edit a profile that already existist in a revit file?

2591 Views, 7 Replies
10-01-2004 07:28 PM
I've created a profile family called custom1

I loaded it into my project. I created a wall sweep and asigned custom1 to that sweep. It works fine and looks fine on my drawing.

Now I want to change the shape of my profile (Custom1).

Is there no way to edit this profile once it's in the drawing?
I can't find a way.
*Joseph Church
Message 2 of 8 (2,591 Views)

Re: How do I edit a profile that already existist in a revit file?

10-01-2004 09:03 PM in reply to: sburke1
You can edit a profile if it contains editable parameters. You can do this by finding your profile in the Families section of the Project Browser and then accessing it's properties. If your profile doesn't contain parameters then you'd have to edit the profile externally and then reload it into your project file. "sburke1" wrote in message news:12042755.1096684149074.JavaMail.jive@jiveforum1.autodesk.com... > I've created a profile family called custom1 > > I loaded it into my project. I created a wall sweep and asigned custom1 > to that sweep. It works fine and looks fine on my drawing. > > Now I want to change the shape of my profile (Custom1). > > Is there no way to edit this profile once it's in the drawing? > I can't find a way.
Contributor
sburke1
Posts: 19
Registered: ‎09-17-2003
Message 3 of 8 (2,591 Views)

Re: How do I edit a profile that already existist in a revit file?

10-02-2004 05:31 PM in reply to: sburke1
Thanks for the answer I wish I new how to do what you suggested but I'm sure I can figure it out.

I have to say that is a very very disapointing answer. I am an expert with ADT but after using revit I actually perfer Revit. But in adt all the objects are 100% parametric and editable in place. If I was doing this in ADT I could select the sweep itself and change the profile in any way I wish. I can change it's size or add and remove Geometry. Revit will need to have this type of ability if it is to compete and finally overtake ADT.
*Leonid Raiz
Message 4 of 8 (2,591 Views)

Re: How do I edit a profile that already existist in a revit file?

10-02-2004 07:27 PM in reply to: sburke1
If you select the sweep then Edit/New leads to modifiable wall type properties. You can change your custom1 profile to any other loaded profile. If you don't want to change to another profile then you can edit your old profile family and reload it or you may even try to make a new family with the same name (custom1) and load it. Once you a family with same name is loaded it will be substituted for the old one. HTH "sburke1" wrote in message news:25379081.1096763503997.JavaMail.jive@jiveforum2.autodesk.com... > Thanks for the answer I wish I new how to do what you suggested but I'm sure I can figure it out. > > I have to say that is a very very disapointing answer. I am an expert with ADT but after using revit I actually perfer Revit. But in adt all the objects are 100% parametric and editable in place. If I was doing this in ADT I could select the sweep itself and change the profile in any way I wish. I can change it's size or add and remove Geometry. Revit will need to have this type of ability if it is to compete and finally overtake ADT.
*JTB
Message 5 of 8 (2,591 Views)

Re: How do I edit a profile that already existist in a revit file?

10-03-2004 07:13 AM in reply to: sburke1
Software development is not a racing. I tried to learn ADT after 15 years of AutoCAD and I thought from the beginning that it was a completely different program... I think Revit is much easier and faster. Of course Revit needs many improvements but I think that opening a second file to edit the profile is not something new for AutoCAD users. For example if you use a block from a file (not Xref) you have to open the file, change what you want and then re-load it into the main dwg file. I am sure that you will love how revit produces everything so fast, also read a little about design options to see how you can keep every idea you have into the same file. I can understand that the absence of layers seems a little strange at the beginning you will get used to in a short time. I think that if the guys in Revit's development team read AUGI's Revit wishlist forum then Revit 7 will be great! > I have to say that is a very very disapointing answer. I am an expert with ADT but after using revit I actually perfer > Revit. But in adt all the objects are 100% parametric and editable in place. If I was doing this in ADT I could >select the sweep itself and change the profile in any way I wish. I can change it's size or add and remove >Geometry. Revit will need to have this type of ability if it is to compete and finally overtake ADT.
*Scott Davis
Message 6 of 8 (2,591 Views)

Re: How do I edit a profile that already existist in a revit file?

10-03-2004 07:52 AM in reply to: sburke1
Although, I would have to agree that "In Place Editing" of loaded family components would be very nice! Double-click on a loaded family, and enter "family edit mode." Make the changes needed, then hit a special 'save changes to family' button, and the external family file would be sved and reloaded into your project. AutoCAD 2005 has in place editing, and I have to say, it's a major timesaver. "JTB" wrote in message news:416008ed_3@newsprd01... > Software development is not a racing. I tried to learn ADT after 15 years of > AutoCAD and I thought from the beginning that it was a completely different > program... I think Revit is much easier and faster. Of course Revit needs > many improvements but I think that opening a second file to edit the profile > is not something new for AutoCAD users. For example if you use a block from > a file (not Xref) you have to open the file, change what you want and then > re-load it into the main dwg file. I am sure that you will love how revit > produces everything so fast, also read a little about design options to see > how you can keep every idea you have into the same file. I can understand > that the absence of layers seems a little strange at the beginning you will > get used to in a short time. > > I think that if the guys in Revit's development team read AUGI's Revit > wishlist forum then Revit 7 will be great! > > > I have to say that is a very very disapointing answer. I am an expert > with ADT but after using revit I actually perfer > Revit. But in adt all > the objects are 100% parametric and editable in place. If I was doing this > in ADT I could >select the sweep itself and change the profile in any way > I wish. I can change it's size or add and remove >Geometry. Revit will > need to have this type of ability if it is to compete and finally overtake > ADT. > >
Contributor
sburke1
Posts: 19
Registered: ‎09-17-2003
Message 7 of 8 (2,591 Views)

Re: How do I edit a profile that already existist in a revit file?

10-03-2004 06:45 PM in reply to: sburke1
Hi JTB,

Actually it is very old to autodesk users. I haven't opened a block and reloaded it for over 4 years because autocad will let you edit both blocks and Xrefs in place. Revit will win over ADT but I find it sad that many of the basic editing functions are at autocad release 9 level. The trim function is like going back to dos as opposed to windows. You would think that since Revit is owned by autodesk they would try to learn from some of the good features of Autocad and incorporate them into Revit. Who knows when revit 7 comes out these issues may be moot. Of course my biggest complaint about revit is the complete and total lack of a wall styles library and they way you have to copy and paste them from a file instead of loading them ADT's Style (family) managment system blows revits out of the water, other wise revit is better than ADT in many other ways to be fair.
*Scott Davis
Message 8 of 8 (2,591 Views)

Re: How do I edit a profile that already existist in a revit file?

10-03-2004 10:13 PM in reply to: sburke1
The Revit Trim tool functions as trim and extend, with three different options. I have no problems with it. Make your own walls styles library in your template, and then they are all available. Walls are so simple to create. Find one that is close to what you want and then Duplicate and edit it. "sburke1" wrote in message news:10149851.1096854366045.JavaMail.jive@jiveforum2.autodesk.com... > Hi JTB, > > Actually it is very old to autodesk users. I haven't opened a block and reloaded it for over 4 years because autocad will let you edit both blocks and Xrefs in place. Revit will win over ADT but I find it sad that many of the basic editing functions are at autocad release 9 level. The trim function is like going back to dos as opposed to windows. You would think that since Revit is owned by autodesk they would try to learn from some of the good features of Autocad and incorporate them into Revit. Who knows when revit 7 comes out these issues may be moot. Of course my biggest complaint about revit is the complete and total lack of a wall styles library and they way you have to copy and paste them from a file instead of loading them ADT's Style (family) managment system blows revits out of the water, other wise revit is better than ADT in many other ways to be fair.
Announcements
Autodesk Alert | We are currently working on restoring Previous Version License request access in the Autodesk Subscription Center. If you are a subscription customer and would like to request a Previous Version License, please use this link as a temporary workaround. We apologize for the inconvenience and thank you for your patience.
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.