Revit Architecture

Reply
New Member
tannertownsend
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎02-05-2013
Message 1 of 4 (153 Views)

File Will Not Open

153 Views, 3 Replies
02-05-2013 03:27 PM

My Revit 2010 file will not open.  Everything looks fine and like it will open based on the green status bar at the bottom right but then it freezes at 100% and says that the program is not responding.  File size is 130 MB and was opening fine when it was in the 108 MB range but apparently last time I saved it the file size increased.  My computer should be more than adequate (2.9 GHz Core i5 processor and 8 GB of 1600 MHz RAM).  I have tried opening the file in numerous ways but haven't had any success.  Please help, I'm at my wit's end and up against a deadline now.  Thanks.

Valued Mentor
AJA14
Posts: 492
Registered: ‎11-01-2011
Message 2 of 4 (140 Views)

Re: File Will Not Open

02-05-2013 09:49 PM in reply to: tannertownsend

Hi. If you have worksharing setup and are using worksets you could specify only the ones you need to open. After doing that (Supposing it works), then do a purge. By the way, try auditing your file first. Maybe that'll solve the problem.

 

Ali Al-Hammoud
Structural Design Engineer
MZ & Partners Engineering Consultancy
Distinguished Mentor
Caddman13
Posts: 785
Registered: ‎07-13-2004
Message 3 of 4 (121 Views)

Re: File Will Not Open

02-06-2013 10:42 AM in reply to: tannertownsend

tannertownsend wrote:

My Revit 2010 file will not open.  Everything looks fine and like it will open based on the green status bar at the bottom right but then it freezes at 100% and says that the program is not responding.  File size is 130 MB and was opening fine when it was in the 108 MB range but apparently last time I saved it the file size increased.  My computer should be more than adequate (2.9 GHz Core i5 processor and 8 GB of 1600 MHz RAM).  I have tried opening the file in numerous ways but haven't had any success.  Please help, I'm at my wit's end and up against a deadline now.  Thanks.


Had something like this happen to me a month ago.  Turned out to be a model linked into mine. Do you have any linked models?  If so try opening and saving them over each other. Then try to open your model.

If you have worksets setup follow AJA14 recommendation.

New Member
tannertownsend
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎02-05-2013
Message 4 of 4 (108 Views)

Re: File Will Not Open

02-07-2013 02:20 PM in reply to: tannertownsend

Thank you both for the suggestions.  Unfortunately I found out yesterday that my file had been corrupted.  I have a couple backups but unfortunately I still lost a good chunk of work.  I will definitely be purging and auditing more frequently in the future.  

Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Announcements
Do you have 60 seconds to spare? The Autodesk Community Team is revamping our site ranking system and we want your feedback! Please click here to launch the 5 question survey. As always your input is greatly appreciated.