Revit Architecture

Revit Architecture

Reply
Valued Mentor
286 Posts
9 Kudos
Registered: ‎02-16-2009
Post 1 of 16
Accepted Solution

Family Parameter, Default Elevation

733 Views, 15 Replies
04-07-2014 03:01 AM

In relation to a 'face' based family (probably others as well) what function does the 'Default Elevation' serve?  Whilst I obviously understand what the both words mean, there seems to be no relationship between any family created using one of the templates and any arbitary value assigned to the parameter.  I need to understand this when nesting such families. 

Andrew Robertson
Chartered Architect
Robertson Partnership
Truro. UK

Hello:

 

This parameter is used ONLY when the family is placed. And more specifically, ONLY when placed in a plan view with the "On Vertical Face" placement option. In that case, it will place the element at this elevation with respect to the current level. So if you have it set to 4'-0" [1200], and place it in a plan view, the element would go on the vertical face (perpendicular to the view) of the wall or other surfice and if you open the elevation and look at it, it will be at 4'-0" [1200] off the level line. Keep in mind that this distance is measured from the placement level to the origin reference plane (by default the Center (Front/Back) one. 

 

If you place this using other placement methods, their is little effect. I have not tried to nest this parameter and link it up through a host family, so I am not sure if that works. 

 

Make sense? 

*Expert Elite*
105 Posts
24 Kudos
Registered: ‎11-13-2006
Post 2 of 16

Re: Family Parameter, Default Elevation

04-07-2014 05:00 AM in reply to: IMCornish

Hello:

 

This parameter is used ONLY when the family is placed. And more specifically, ONLY when placed in a plan view with the "On Vertical Face" placement option. In that case, it will place the element at this elevation with respect to the current level. So if you have it set to 4'-0" [1200], and place it in a plan view, the element would go on the vertical face (perpendicular to the view) of the wall or other surfice and if you open the elevation and look at it, it will be at 4'-0" [1200] off the level line. Keep in mind that this distance is measured from the placement level to the origin reference plane (by default the Center (Front/Back) one. 

 

If you place this using other placement methods, their is little effect. I have not tried to nest this parameter and link it up through a host family, so I am not sure if that works. 

 

Make sense? 

paul

Paul F. Aubin

Paul F. Aubin Consulting Services
Check out my newest book: Renaissance Revit!
http://www.paulaubin.com
Revit Essentials Training at lynda.com/paulaubin
Valued Mentor
286 Posts
9 Kudos
Registered: ‎02-16-2009
Post 3 of 16

Re: Family Parameter, Default Elevation

04-09-2014 05:23 AM in reply to: Paul_F_Aubin

Thank you Paul I think that is as good an explanation as I can expect to get.  I first learned Revit from your Mastering Revit Architecture 2009 so thank you for that also.

Just one point of clarity if you don't mind please.  In regard to inserting a face based family which has a Default Elevation of say "50mm" on any surface will the "50m" only be honoured in a plan view?  In other words placing it on the face of a wall will mean that it is directly on the wall with no gap?

Thanks again.

Andrew Robertson
Chartered Architect
Robertson Partnership
Truro. UK
*Expert Elite*
105 Posts
24 Kudos
Registered: ‎11-13-2006
Post 4 of 16

Re: Family Parameter, Default Elevation

04-09-2014 06:18 PM in reply to: IMCornish

Hi Andrew:

 

THanks for the comments. Glad to help. 

 

So to clarify on the elevation parameter a bit, look at the attached image. The elevation parameter ALWAYS measures realtive to the level. So it is the vertical distance from level to insertion point of the family. 

 

I numbered the face based elements in the image1, 2 and 3.

 

Item 1 - this one is placed on a sloped roof surface. Compare the items pointed to with black arrows. The properties palette and dimension in elevation are the same (a little round off on the dimension notwithstanding). 

 

Item 2 - This one is placed on a horizontal surface at the top of the wall. The wall is 14' tall and the elevation of this item shows 14'. However, in both items 1 and 2, the parameter on the Properties is grayed out and read-only. 

 

Item 3 - There are three different families that I labeled 3. They are all hosted to vertical surfaces. The one on the left has no work plane associated. The other two are associated with the wall's vertical surface. In call three cases as you can see in the inset properties palette, the elevation parameter can still be edited. So this is the major difference. If you place it using the "Place on Vertical Face" the Elevation parameter remains an editable property as opposed to a read-only value. 

 

Hope that clarifies. 

paul

Paul F. Aubin

Paul F. Aubin Consulting Services
Check out my newest book: Renaissance Revit!
http://www.paulaubin.com
Revit Essentials Training at lynda.com/paulaubin
New Member
1 Posts
0 Kudos
Registered: ‎06-03-2014
Post 5 of 16

Re: Family Parameter, Default Elevation

08-13-2014 05:15 AM in reply to: IMCornish

A related question:

 

The firm I'm working for would *really* like to be able to have a tag for the default elevation.  I'm searching around my books, and on the net, to see if it's even possible.  

 

Is it?  If so, how?  If not, is there a workaround?

 

Distinguished Mentor
651 Posts
192 Kudos
Registered: ‎03-20-2012
Post 6 of 16

Re: Family Parameter, Default Elevation

08-15-2014 03:15 AM in reply to: wspeakman

In the family containing a "Default Elevation" parameter add a shared parameter, lets call it familyelevation. In the formula of "familyelevation" enter "Default Elevation" (without the ").

 

Create a tag with familyelevation as label.

 

If you place the component in a project and add the tag, it will show the value of the "Default Elevation".

 

Please note: The value in the tag will not change when the you move the component around (change elevation), because "Default Elevation will remain the same as it is only a type parameter.

*Expert Elite*
105 Posts
24 Kudos
Registered: ‎11-13-2006
Post 7 of 16

Re: Family Parameter, Default Elevation

08-15-2014 06:48 AM in reply to: EnlInt

Enllnt makes an excellent point about this approach not staying "live" as the element moves around. 

 

Instead of tagging the default elevation, you could consider tagging the custom "familyelevation" parameter directly. To do this, make it a "Reporting parameter" and lablel a dimension from the ground to the origin point of the family. The reporting parameter would update. However, please remember that default elevation only works when inserted on a vertical face. So if this family is inserted in some other way, the value of the reporting parameter (and thus the tag) would be somewhat less than useful. 

 

paul

paul

Paul F. Aubin

Paul F. Aubin Consulting Services
Check out my newest book: Renaissance Revit!
http://www.paulaubin.com
Revit Essentials Training at lynda.com/paulaubin
Member
5 Posts
0 Kudos
Registered: ‎07-17-2014
Post 8 of 16

Re: Family Parameter, Default Elevation

12-04-2014 06:52 AM in reply to: Paul_F_Aubin

Hello,

 

At the expense of some thread revival, and trying to keep related information to as few threads as possible, I have a question regarding the reporting parameter as suggested by Paul.

 

I have a face based family in Electrical Fixtures (which I have attached below) for a Duplex Receptacle. The goal is to be able to drive the elevation of the receptacle from either the instance properties or the electrical utility tag that we use for our MEP drawings. This way everything updates and provides a user friendly experience.

 

I have tried to add dimensions to the host, which I assume is the "face" that the extrusions that make up my receptacle sits inside. However, I'm unable to dimension to any of these lines... Is this a limitation to the type of family being used? (face based?)

 

Your help is appreciated.

Distinguished Mentor
651 Posts
192 Kudos
Registered: ‎03-20-2012
Post 9 of 16

Re: Family Parameter, Default Elevation

12-04-2014 07:45 AM in reply to: dsparkes

When you place your receptacle in your model in a plan view, with "Place on vertical View" selected. Your fixture will be placed on the default elevation defined in the family. Or before attaching it, you can set the elevation to a different value. After placing the fixture you can select it and modify the elevation in the instance properties.

Member
5 Posts
0 Kudos
Registered: ‎07-17-2014
Post 10 of 16

Re: Family Parameter, Default Elevation

12-04-2014 08:05 AM in reply to: EnlInt

Yes, I’m aware that I’m able to adjust it before or afterwards, but I want my MEP tags to read the elevation of the vertically placed family, and to be able to adjust that value (height/AFF) in my tag/schedule. Which is why I was hoping someone would be able to help me figure the report parameter as explained by Paul.

Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Announcements
Are you interested in helping shape the future of the Autodesk Community? To participate in this brief usability study, please click here. Your time and input is greatly appreciated!