Revit Architecture

Revit Architecture

Reply
Valued Contributor
59 Posts
4 Kudos
Registered: ‎05-11-2012
Post 1 of 14
Accepted Solution

Family - Add dynamic Label

2898 Views, 13 Replies
01-14-2014 02:32 PM
Hi All Is there a way to add a label that will display the family type name. So when i change the type it will change the text? Thank you

As tempting as embedding a "tag" in a family is, in practice it isn't as effective as you might think. First the embedded tag (label family) is based on a printed size and that size is really only effective in a narrow band of view scales around the ideal scale like 1/8"=1'-0" 1:100. As soon as you have a view in a coarser or finer scale than the ideal scale people want to be able to hide or change the tag location. Second, but related to the first, the tag is visible in any view that the host family is visible in. That can be a benefit but in practice it is often negative more than a positive and in turn we then see people asking to hide the tag in some views.

 

Revit tags are easy to apply in any view with Tag All. We can then fine tune the location of any tags that compete unfavorably with other things in the view. We can't do that with an embedded tag, they are stuck where they are unless we put in greater effort in each family to make the location of the tag adjustable too. Most experienced Revit users expect to encounter separate tags so it won't annoy them to find you've taken that approach.

@mailbox :

 

Families are tagged in projects, by the user, not in the family editor, by the content creator. Do not worry about the end user having to tag the families. That is done in an instant, even if there are a hundred of families to tag. You need to worry about making the family in the correct way, and about learning more about families. For example, you are saying that you have 50 types in that family? I hope you have considered the use of a type catalog. Otherwise, every time the end user needs to load just 1 of your fixtures, all 50 types would be loaded, making your family very slow to load and affecting the performance of projects. Not only that, but the family might not be accepted by some of your clients because of the 50 types. There are many things to consider.

Distinguished Contributor
319 Posts
7 Kudos
Registered: ‎09-09-2010
Post 2 of 14

Re: Family - Add dynamic Label

01-15-2014 04:14 AM in reply to: mailbox

You can add Family types by New > Name in the Family Types DB in Revit Family.

*Expert Elite*
184 Posts
37 Kudos
Registered: ‎05-13-2013
Post 3 of 14

Re: Family - Add dynamic Label

01-15-2014 04:17 AM in reply to: mailbox

Hey there

 

Yes, it’s a fairly easy one to do, follow these steps:

  1. New > Annotation Symbol > Generic Tag
  2. Top left of the Modify or Create tab click "Family category’s & parameters" (the one with the yellow folder on it)
  3. Set the category for the tag (if you're tagging a wall type for instance, set the category to "Wall") and click OK
  4. On the Create tab, select "Label"
  5. Click on screen to place the Label, at the ref planes intersection point
  6. When you click to place, a dialogue pops up, choose "Type Name" from the list on the left and add it to the list on the right, apply and OK
  7. Delete the Red note 
  8. Save and load it into your project

To use the tag in your project go to the annotate tab and select "Tag by category" set your settings in your options bar if you want and just click on the object you want to tag and voilà :smileyhappy:

 

Hope this helps

 

Regards

Alisder Brown
BIM consultant & application specialist
Autodesk Trainer
Valued Contributor
59 Posts
4 Kudos
Registered: ‎05-11-2012
Post 4 of 14

Re: Family - Add dynamic Label

01-19-2014 02:35 PM in reply to: alisder.brown
Hi Thanks for the reply, I have been away so sorry for the lack of reply till now. I have just tried this and when trying to load it into my family I receive this error. Error - cannot be ignored: While loading 'Type Name Tag': Only the following kinds of families can be loaded into a 3d model family: - 3d model families - detail families - generic annotations - section heads - level heads - grid heads Am I doing somthing wrong? The familiy I want to insert it to is a lighting fixture so i selected lighting fixture tag. I have attached the file. Thanks
*Expert Elite*
184 Posts
37 Kudos
Registered: ‎05-13-2013
Post 5 of 14

Re: Family - Add dynamic Label

01-20-2014 12:55 AM in reply to: mailbox

Load the family via the Insert tab > Load family

Then use the "Tag by category" button on the annotate tab. And just click on the lighting fixture to tag it (you may need to change the type of tag after placement if you have multiple types)

Alisder Brown
BIM consultant & application specialist
Autodesk Trainer
Valued Contributor
59 Posts
4 Kudos
Registered: ‎05-11-2012
Post 6 of 14

Re: Family - Add dynamic Label

01-20-2014 03:07 PM in reply to: alisder.brown
Sorry i didnt really make it to clear as to what I was trying to achive I am a revit novice and know nothing about tagging. The reason it was throwing the error up was because I was trying to insert the tag into my family rather than the project. I want the tag to be inside the family so that the customer dosent have to lay the family down and the tag it after as the will be hundreds of our light fittings in a single project. and there are near on 50 types in my family. I have attached a picture of how I want it to be displayed and to act. Thanks for your time.
Valued Contributor
59 Posts
4 Kudos
Registered: ‎05-11-2012
Post 7 of 14

Re: Family - Add dynamic Label

01-20-2014 03:08 PM in reply to: mailbox
Not sure if my attachments are uploading
Mentor
241 Posts
66 Kudos
Registered: ‎08-16-2007
Post 8 of 14

Re: Family - Add dynamic Label

01-21-2014 01:49 PM in reply to: mailbox

As tempting as embedding a "tag" in a family is, in practice it isn't as effective as you might think. First the embedded tag (label family) is based on a printed size and that size is really only effective in a narrow band of view scales around the ideal scale like 1/8"=1'-0" 1:100. As soon as you have a view in a coarser or finer scale than the ideal scale people want to be able to hide or change the tag location. Second, but related to the first, the tag is visible in any view that the host family is visible in. That can be a benefit but in practice it is often negative more than a positive and in turn we then see people asking to hide the tag in some views.

 

Revit tags are easy to apply in any view with Tag All. We can then fine tune the location of any tags that compete unfavorably with other things in the view. We can't do that with an embedded tag, they are stuck where they are unless we put in greater effort in each family to make the location of the tag adjustable too. Most experienced Revit users expect to encounter separate tags so it won't annoy them to find you've taken that approach.

My other older self here: http://forums.autodesk.com/t5/user/viewprofilepage/user-id/46056
*Expert Elite*
2,889 Posts
363 Kudos
Registered: ‎06-11-2009
Post 9 of 14

Re: Family - Add dynamic Label

01-21-2014 03:23 PM in reply to: mailbox

@mailbox :

 

Families are tagged in projects, by the user, not in the family editor, by the content creator. Do not worry about the end user having to tag the families. That is done in an instant, even if there are a hundred of families to tag. You need to worry about making the family in the correct way, and about learning more about families. For example, you are saying that you have 50 types in that family? I hope you have considered the use of a type catalog. Otherwise, every time the end user needs to load just 1 of your fixtures, all 50 types would be loaded, making your family very slow to load and affecting the performance of projects. Not only that, but the family might not be accepted by some of your clients because of the 50 types. There are many things to consider.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Planta1 Revit Online Consulting | info@planta1.com | my Twitter | The Planta1 Blog
Valued Contributor
59 Posts
4 Kudos
Registered: ‎05-11-2012
Post 10 of 14

Re: Family - Add dynamic Label

01-22-2014 10:06 AM in reply to: mailbox

I did figure out how to put a label into my family last night but I did run into problems as you said Steve, the text size was dependent on the scale.

I was asked by the customer to have a label inside the family as currently he is using an AutoCAD layout as an overlay for the labels. I am not sure how much knowledge he has about using Revit. I have none this is my first family and it is the most complicated range we do in terms of making a Revit family. Maybe I should look into how to tag a lot of items and pass this info on to him if he starts running into problems with the text size.
We have been using AutoCAD for all projects up till now and I think he expects it to operate in a similar way, as the blocks we supply have tags/text giving the reference numbers.

 

Alfredo I have not heard of a type catalogue I will have a search and see if it will help me. I am going into this a bit blind with not a lot of knowledge.

I have attached the family I think, (I am not sure if my attachments are actually being posted as I can’t see anything this end.) maybe if you would be so kind as to cast your eye over it and let me know if what I have done is best practice or not or if there is a better way of doing it.

 

Thanks for all your help everyone.

 

 

 

 

 

 

Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Announcements
Are you interested in helping shape the future of the Autodesk Community? To participate in this brief usability study, please click here. Your time and input is greatly appreciated!