Revit Architecture Forum
Welcome to Autodesk’s Revit Architecture Forums. Share your knowledge, ask questions, and explore popular Revit Architecture topics.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Extrude profile that is rotated from plane?

8 REPLIES 8
SOLVED
Message 1 of 9
Anonymous
2826 Views, 8 Replies

Extrude profile that is rotated from plane?

Is there a work around to extruding a profile that is not parallel to the plane on the path. Im new to revit and want to create a componet the way I did in AutoCAD when I could just Extrude a closed poly with a path and it did not care it it was perpendicular to the path. Thanks

8 REPLIES 8
Message 2 of 9
loboarch
in reply to: Anonymous

The simple answer to the question is "no" an extrusion in Revit takes a profile and extrudes it perpendicular to the plane the profile was drawn in.

That being said there may be a way to create what you are looking for in Revit but it is hard to say without an example.  A blend may be able to create what you are looking for?  The massing tools will allow for just about any shape you might need but massing might not be what you want for this item depending on what you are making.

If you elaborate on what you are attempting to make and perhaps provide an example it might open up the possibilities for a solution. 

Jeff Hanson
Principal Content Experience Designer
Revit Help |
Message 3 of 9
Anonymous
in reply to: loboarch

So I have a couple images of what Im trying to do in revit. What I did was use AutoCAD to draw a rectangular solid with one side sloped (Left, image 1) then with UCS set to face (back face) drew new closed poly and extruded it along a path. The trouble Im having in revit is that I can not easily get the batter angle of the right wall.

Capture.JPGCapture2.JPG

Message 4 of 9
loboarch