Revit Architecture

Revit Architecture

Reply
Contributor
sparrowitis
Posts: 13
Registered: ‎11-15-2004
Message 1 of 8 (222 Views)

Extend columns to curved roof

222 Views, 7 Replies
11-15-2004 04:35 PM
How do I extend steel UC columns to a curved roof?
*Jeffrey McGrew
Message 2 of 8 (222 Views)

Re: Extend columns to curved roof

11-17-2004 10:10 AM in reply to: sparrowitis
sparrowitis wrote: > How do I extend steel UC columns to a curved roof? Columns in Revit don't attach automatically to a roof above or a slab below like walls can. Don't know why, probably just haven't added that ability yet. Anyways, there are three ways to do it, first you can simply use the top offset on the columns to make each collum penetrate slightly into the curved ceiling, and then use the join geometry tool to have it clean up the edges (I think this works); or you can use little sections of walls instead of column families (but that won't give you a steel shape, just a square or circle); or you can model them as an in-place family, and make them any shape you want so that they perfectly join into the curved roof (but then they become hard to move around and such)... Jeffrey
Contributor
sparrowitis
Posts: 13
Registered: ‎11-15-2004
Message 3 of 8 (222 Views)

Re: Extend columns to curved roof

11-17-2004 03:08 PM in reply to: sparrowitis
Thanks Jeffrey. In the end I found the easiest way was to create levels "Column 1,2,3" etc and use the top offset, then hide the annotations in all the views (a bit time consuming - I wonder if there is a way to select them all at once?)
*Paul Monsef
Message 4 of 8 (222 Views)

Re: Extend columns to curved roof

11-17-2004 04:52 PM in reply to: sparrowitis
> I wonder if there is a way to select them all at once?)< If you right-click a family type in the project browser you will see a "Select all occurrences" option. ;o) -- Regards, Paul Monsef ----------------------------- TSA | architects, pllc Production/CAD Manager 425.401.6828 x105 paulmonsef_NOSPAM_@tsaarchitects.com "sparrowitis" wrote in message news:31611922.1100732922306.JavaMail.jive@jiveforum1.autodesk.com... > Thanks Jeffrey. In the end I found the easiest way was to create levels > "Column 1,2,3" etc and use the top offset, then hide the annotations in > all the views (a bit time consuming - I wonder if there is a way to select > them all at once?)
Contributor
sparrowitis
Posts: 13
Registered: ‎11-15-2004
Message 5 of 8 (222 Views)

Re: Extend columns to curved roof

11-18-2004 12:42 AM in reply to: sparrowitis
Hmmm, but the "Column 1,2,3" etc levels which I want to hide are the same family as the levels Ground, Level 1 etc. which I want to show. How can it differentiate? Can I make 2 different families for the 2 types of levels?
*Paul Monsef
Message 6 of 8 (222 Views)

Re: Extend columns to curved roof

11-18-2004 08:58 AM in reply to: sparrowitis
Oh, I misunderstood...Silly me... You can only hide them one at a time even if you select more then one level. Regards, Paul Monsef ----------------------------- TSA | architects, pllc Production/CAD Manager 425.401.6828 x105 paulmonsef_NOSPAM_@tsaarchitects.com "sparrowitis" wrote in message news:4250979.1100767402749.JavaMail.jive@jiveforum2.autodesk.com... > Hmmm, but the "Column 1,2,3" etc levels which I want to hide are the same > family as the levels Ground, Level 1 etc. which I want to show. How can it > differentiate? Can I make 2 different families for the 2 types of levels?
Contributor
sparrowitis
Posts: 13
Registered: ‎11-15-2004
Message 7 of 8 (222 Views)

Re: Extend columns to curved roof

11-18-2004 08:04 PM in reply to: sparrowitis
It would be great if you could hide multiple annotations at once. I had to go through that routine 50 times when I created those dummy levels.
*Jeffrey McGrew
Message 8 of 8 (222 Views)

Re: Extend columns to curved roof

11-18-2004 10:36 PM in reply to: sparrowitis
sparrowitis wrote: > It would be great if you could hide multiple annotations at once. I had to go through that routine 50 times when I created those dummy levels. not to be mean, but that's why you don't create extra 'dummy' levels in the first place and instead use the offset for base/top features. In this case you chose the former, which is totally OK and all, but the more levels you add to your project the more you increase it's complexity. Levels are really ment for major project datums I feel, and I only create a new one when it's really really needed. This also really helps in the future when dealing with RCP's and sections and such... Jeffrey McGrew
Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Announcements
Do you have 60 seconds to spare? The Autodesk Community Team is revamping our site ranking system and we want your feedback! Please click here to launch the 5 question survey. As always your input is greatly appreciated.