Revit Architecture

Reply
*Alain Martini
Message 1 of 5 (4,087 Views)

Export To Cinema 4D

4087 Views, 4 Replies
04-28-2004 03:06 AM
Hello, I need to export a huge project to Cinema 4D to do radiosity and HDRI renderings. Cinema 4d can import dxf (up to version 12) Lightwave 3Dstudio Wavefront obj but revit doesn export in any of those 3d formats. What is the best thing to do to convert a project with the minimum loss of data/textures? I asked Maxon and he says that the ideal would be a 3ds export, but incredibly revit doesnt export in 3ds. If I export from revit dxf all the families aren't correctly imported by c4d, and this is because c4d import only up to dxfV12 but revit cant export to dxfV12. So, when will be available a c4d exporter or a 3ds exporter? :-) ps. yes I have tried to use accurender, but accurender does'nt do renderings like cinema4d and sketch&toon, ideal for animations. And with c4d I can do network rendering an this is much faster when animating (hours instead of days) --- Alain Martini http://www.inalto.com
Active Contributor
andrewg07
Posts: 26
Registered: ‎12-31-2003
Message 2 of 5 (4,087 Views)

Re: Export To Cinema 4D

04-28-2004 05:13 AM in reply to: *Alain Martini
You could try & export a 3d view out to .dwg or .dxf.

Then you could use a file converter to convert it back to dxf rel. 12.

Can't say what data loss you'll experience. Give it a try.

One file converter available online is at:

http://www.freefirestudio.com/
Active Member
pixelpusher
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎08-14-2006
Message 3 of 5 (4,087 Views)

Re: Export To Cinema 4D

08-28-2006 06:01 PM in reply to: *Alain Martini
I'm having a similar problem, trying to import into Vue5 infinite. Got Revit, need 3ds, obj, or .lwo.
It seems like there should be a way to convert .dwf to one of those.

If you have $1,500 you can get deep exploration cad edition. DE works pretty well, but I don't own the version that supports all the Autodesk formats. http://www.righthemisphere.com/products/formats/index.html

Please let me know if you figure this out. Revit rendering doesn't cut it for me, either.
Contributor
bgarch
Posts: 23
Registered: ‎10-17-2005
Message 4 of 5 (4,087 Views)

Re: Export To Cinema 4D

08-28-2006 09:26 PM in reply to: *Alain Martini
Know anyone with Viz? You could import to Viz and then try exporting from there into a format that Cinema 4D recognises.
New Member
subirbhattacharyaredbluegreen
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎07-04-2011
Message 5 of 5 (3,560 Views)

Re: Export To Cinema 4D

07-07-2011 04:04 AM in reply to: *Alain Martini

You can try by downloading a free trial of 3ds max/Maya. Then from Revit Architecture export your model to a format 3ds max or Maya supports. Then import that model into Maya/3ds max and then from there export it to .3ds. 

Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.