Revit Architecture

Revit Architecture

Reply
Distinguished Contributor
munsellh
Posts: 142
Registered: ‎11-30-2004
Message 1 of 7 (1,255 Views)

Export settings in 2012?

1255 Views, 6 Replies
04-14-2011 11:36 AM

In the Export settings in 2012, if you customize the line styles in the Line tab or the fonts in the Text & Fonts tab, how do you Save those settings for future use or for use on another project?

 

These options are a great addition, but at my office, We have numerous clients all with different Line, Font, Pattern (and more) preferences. I need to be able to set these tabs up and save them for use in other projects for the same client. 

Ideally id like to see a text file or something I could edit for each tab that could be loaded like the layer settings tab?

 

HJM

Employee
davissc
Posts: 298
Registered: ‎08-08-2007
Message 2 of 7 (1,251 Views)

Re: Export settings in 2012?

04-14-2011 11:53 AM in reply to: munsellh

did you miss the buttons to the lower left of the dialog?  Create new, duplicate, rename, or delete a "export setup"?

 

export settings.png



Scott D Davis
AEC Technical Specialist
North American Sales
Autodesk, Inc.

Want Revit Content? Go to http://seek.autodesk.com !

Distinguished Contributor
munsellh
Posts: 142
Registered: ‎11-30-2004
Message 3 of 7 (1,246 Views)

Re: Export settings in 2012?

04-14-2011 12:25 PM in reply to: davissc

I played with it, but it doesn’t seem to actually create a new export TxT file like you could in 2011. it only seems to save the settings in that project. In 2011 once you have your layer settings set you could Save as and it made a TXT file you could import into another project. I thought you could in one of the earlier Bata’s 2012 I was testing too, just not in the released one.

Employee
davissc
Posts: 298
Registered: ‎08-08-2007
Message 4 of 7 (1,243 Views)

Re: Export settings in 2012?

04-14-2011 12:29 PM in reply to: munsellh

you use Transfer Project Standards to take the export settings from one project to the next.  Also, these saved settings can live in your office template, and then will alway be available to your staff. 



Scott D Davis
AEC Technical Specialist
North American Sales
Autodesk, Inc.

Want Revit Content? Go to http://seek.autodesk.com !

Distinguished Contributor
munsellh
Posts: 142
Registered: ‎11-30-2004
Message 5 of 7 (1,237 Views)

Re: Export settings in 2012?

04-14-2011 12:41 PM in reply to: davissc

That sounds great for an office that only has a couple standards. Unfortunately We have multiple (50+) different client standards and  that is what I need to avoid. I maintain only a small handful of templates and import the external files depending on the client standard. So now I’m going got have to maintain 50+ different templates? I don’t want to have 50+ export settings in my default template....

 

On another note… what is with the Dodge Viper (in the site) and the BMCD2 (in the furniture) categories? They have been there forever and there is no dodge viper  or furniture in my file. I used to just delete them from the text file, Am i stuck with them now?.

 

HJM

Valued Contributor
revitus
Posts: 102
Registered: ‎08-12-2008
Message 6 of 7 (1,083 Views)

Re: Export settings in 2012?

10-26-2011 06:13 AM in reply to: munsellh

I am also wondering why the functionality of being able to export to a .txt file has been eliminated... Our consultants often use our Revit Model to export their own AutoCAD files on their end based on the views they need, and we like to give them the layer export.txt file for this.  But now in 2012, when we make changes to the layer settings for exporting, we can't export those settings to a new .txt file?  Someone please clear this up.

New Member
bdmarmor
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎07-06-2012
Message 7 of 7 (699 Views)

Re: Export settings in 2012?

07-06-2012 03:27 PM in reply to: revitus

2013 seems to have the same problem, too bad.

In fact, the ability to save DGN levels as a txt file was still a possibity in 2012, but was elinated in 2013...  This seems like an intentional action by Autiodesk, although it is a loss of functionality from my perspective.

Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Announcements
Do you have 60 seconds to spare? The Autodesk Community Team is revamping our site ranking system and we want your feedback! Please click here to launch the 5 question survey. As always your input is greatly appreciated.