Revit Architecture

Revit Architecture

Reply
Distinguished Contributor
aschamen
Posts: 221
Registered: ‎07-12-2002
Message 1 of 9 (169 Views)

Everything new is hidden when something is isolated?

169 Views, 8 Replies
04-27-2007 08:57 AM
I'm trying to edit a mass so I have it isolated. I want to see how large something is so I need to dimension it. But when I create the dimension I can't see it. It is hidden.

It's hidden because I have everything hidden except for the mass. But the dimension wasn't included in the things to hide when I chose to isolate that mass. So why is it hidden now?

Is this normal for Revit? When you have something isolated, does it only ever just show the items you have isolated? Can't it ever show new objects too? Can you switch off this behavior so it displays the new objects too?
Distinguished Contributor
aschamen
Posts: 221
Registered: ‎07-12-2002
Message 2 of 9 (169 Views)

Re: Everything new is hidden when something is isolated?

04-27-2007 01:12 PM in reply to: aschamen
So that's it huh? No answer? I guess it's true and there isn't any way to prevent it. I guess Revit really does suk then.
*cdv
Message 3 of 9 (169 Views)

Re: Everything new is hidden when something is isolated?

04-27-2007 01:40 PM in reply to: aschamen
Use the tape measure tool to check the size.

wrote in message news:5567079@discussion.autodesk.com...
I'm trying to edit a mass so I have it isolated. I want to see how large
something is so I need to dimension it. But when I create the dimension I
can't see it. It is hidden.

It's hidden because I have everything hidden except for the mass. But the
dimension wasn't included in the things to hide when I chose to isolate that
mass. So why is it hidden now?

Is this normal for Revit? When you have something isolated, does it only
ever just show the items you have isolated? Can't it ever show new objects
too? Can you switch off this behavior so it displays the new objects too?
*Jeff Hanson \(Autodesk\)
Message 4 of 9 (169 Views)

Re: Everything new is hidden when something is isolated?

04-27-2007 01:40 PM in reply to: aschamen
I tried this and am not seeing the same behavior you are describing.
Perhaps I am not understanding what you are trying to do. Could you explain
step by step what you are doing so I can understand better?


--
Jeff Hanson
Autodesk - AEC Technical Publications
Manchester, NH
_______________________________________

wrote in message news:5567079@discussion.autodesk.com...
I'm trying to edit a mass so I have it isolated. I want to see how large
something is so I need to dimension it. But when I create the dimension I
can't see it. It is hidden.

It's hidden because I have everything hidden except for the mass. But the
dimension wasn't included in the things to hide when I chose to isolate that
mass. So why is it hidden now?

Is this normal for Revit? When you have something isolated, does it only
ever just show the items you have isolated? Can't it ever show new objects
too? Can you switch off this behavior so it displays the new objects too?
Distinguished Contributor
aschamen
Posts: 221
Registered: ‎07-12-2002
Message 5 of 9 (169 Views)

Re: Everything new is hidden when something is isolated?

04-27-2007 01:48 PM in reply to: aschamen
Tape measure tool is greyed out.
Distinguished Contributor
aschamen
Posts: 221
Registered: ‎07-12-2002
Message 6 of 9 (169 Views)

Re: Everything new is hidden when something is isolated?

04-27-2007 01:56 PM in reply to: aschamen
I have a mass I need to modify. I'm looking at it in 3D. I have isolated the mass and I'm in the edit mode so the tape measure tool is greyed out. I need to dimension one of the legs of the mass to find out how large it is.
*Jeff Hanson \(Autodesk\)
Message 7 of 9 (169 Views)

Re: Everything new is hidden when something is isolated?

04-27-2007 01:56 PM in reply to: aschamen
I just tried this again in an older release (Revit 9) and saw the behavior
you are describing. This has been changed in Revit Architecture 2008 to
work more like you are wanting it to.

--
Jeff Hanson
Autodesk - AEC Technical Publications
Manchester, NH
_______________________________________

wrote in message news:5567079@discussion.autodesk.com...
I'm trying to edit a mass so I have it isolated. I want to see how large
something is so I need to dimension it. But when I create the dimension I
can't see it. It is hidden.

It's hidden because I have everything hidden except for the mass. But the
dimension wasn't included in the things to hide when I chose to isolate that
mass. So why is it hidden now?

Is this normal for Revit? When you have something isolated, does it only
ever just show the items you have isolated? Can't it ever show new objects
too? Can you switch off this behavior so it displays the new objects too?
Distinguished Contributor
aschamen
Posts: 221
Registered: ‎07-12-2002
Message 8 of 9 (169 Views)

Re: Everything new is hidden when something is isolated?

04-27-2007 01:58 PM in reply to: aschamen
Okay great. Thanks for giving me another selling point to give to our IT people to get them to upgrade us. We are using 9.1.
Valued Contributor
TheRuinner13
Posts: 62
Registered: ‎03-14-2005
Message 9 of 9 (133 Views)

Re: Everything new is hidden when something is isolated?

10-23-2012 07:43 AM in reply to: aschamen

I notice this seems to be effected by how I am viewing the model. It doesn't appear to work in 3D, but it works in a plan view.

Windows 7 Pro SP1, HP Z400 w/Dual ZR24w Monitors, 12G Ram, AutoCAD MEP 2012
Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.