Revit Architecture

Reply
Distinguished Contributor
petervanko
Posts: 152
Registered: ‎05-04-2005
Message 1 of 10 (1,254 Views)

Endcaps in Revit

1254 Views, 9 Replies
01-09-2006 10:18 AM
Where is the control over wall materials when they terminate in unconventional ways? Editing wall joins has much limitation?

And how about opening endcaps? In ADT I was able to apply a custom endcap to openings made by windows, doors, etc. For instance, here I could control the gyp wrapping the entire opening, and butting the windows and doors (see attached file). Similarly, openings would wrap.

Do I need a detail component in the window family?
Distinguished Contributor
sbrown
Posts: 1,185
Registered: ‎04-04-2002
Message 2 of 10 (1,253 Views)

Re: Endcaps in Revit

01-09-2006 10:52 AM in reply to: petervanko
Look at the help files on families/walls for "wrapping at inserts" Basically in the window/door family, you add a ref. plane in plan and select it, and under its properties there is a choice for defining it as where finishes wrap to. then in the wall properties there is a choice for if you want layers to wrap and if so at exterior/interior.
*RafVT
Message 3 of 10 (1,253 Views)

Re: Endcaps in Revit

01-12-2006 05:26 AM in reply to: petervanko
This is a main problem to me. Over here in Belgium (and the rest of northern
Europe) we need the opening in the exterior components of a wall to be
smaller than the opening in the interior wall structure. This is possible
with ADT endcaps but not with "wrappings" in Revit. Even the "edit cut
profile" dousn't seem to be a (2D only)solution.
I hope to find a solution to this, if not this program seems to be useless..


wrote in message news:5054186@discussion.autodesk.com...
Look at the help files on families/walls for "wrapping at inserts"
Basically in the window/door family, you add a ref. plane in plan and select
it, and under its properties there is a choice for defining it as where
finishes wrap to. then in the wall properties there is a choice for if you
want layers to wrap and if so at exterior/interior.
*Nic M.
Message 4 of 10 (1,253 Views)

Re: Endcaps in Revit

01-12-2006 05:49 AM in reply to: petervanko
It is possible, see attach, this is one window family

Look in
http://download.autodesk.com/WebPub/revit/localiser_nl/setup.exe

This is a link to the BE / NL localiser
Look in the Belgian content Windows / Doors
good luck

Nic M.



"RafVT" wrote in message
news:5057111@discussion.autodesk.com...
This is a main problem to me. Over here in Belgium (and the rest of northern
Europe) we need the opening in the exterior components of a wall to be
smaller than the opening in the interior wall structure. This is possible
with ADT endcaps but not with "wrappings" in Revit. Even the "edit cut
profile" dousn't seem to be a (2D only)solution.
I hope to find a solution to this, if not this program seems to be useless..


wrote in message news:5054186@discussion.autodesk.com...
Look at the help files on families/walls for "wrapping at inserts"
Basically in the window/door family, you add a ref. plane in plan and select
it, and under its properties there is a choice for defining it as where
finishes wrap to. then in the wall properties there is a choice for if you
want layers to wrap and if so at exterior/interior.
*Nic M.
Message 5 of 10 (1,253 Views)

Re: Endcaps in Revit

01-12-2006 05:57 AM in reply to: petervanko
No attach??
Second attempt

"Nic M." wrote in message
news:5057124@discussion.autodesk.com...
It is possible, see attach, this is one window family

Look in
http://download.autodesk.com/WebPub/revit/localiser_nl/setup.exe

This is a link to the BE / NL localiser
Look in the Belgian content Windows / Doors
good luck

Nic M.



"RafVT" wrote in message
news:5057111@discussion.autodesk.com...
This is a main problem to me. Over here in Belgium (and the rest of northern
Europe) we need the opening in the exterior components of a wall to be
smaller than the
opening in the interior wall structure. This is possible
with ADT endcaps but not with "wrappings" in Revit. Even the "edit cut
profile" dousn't seem to be a (2D only)solution.
I hope to find a solution to this, if not this program seems to be useless
Distinguished Contributor
petervanko
Posts: 152
Registered: ‎05-04-2005
Message 6 of 10 (1,253 Views)

Re: Endcaps in Revit

01-12-2006 02:01 PM in reply to: petervanko
I have the opposite problem...I typically need the outside opening to be smaller than the inside. Usually this is because I have GWB returning to the window frame.

This may be the first thing ADT does better...LOL.
*Nic M.
Message 7 of 10 (1,253 Views)

Re: Endcaps in Revit

01-12-2006 11:54 PM in reply to: petervanko
That shouldn't be a problem.
Open a new family based on a windows template
Remove the "Opening" (you need to TAB to get there)

Create Void forms as you like and use the "Cut geometry" to substract them
from the wall.
You can make any condition you like

Nic

wrote in message news:5057877@discussion.autodesk.com...
I have the opposite problem...I typically need the outside opening to be
smaller than the inside. Usually this is because I have GWB returning to
the window frame.

This may be the first thing ADT does better...LOL.
*RafVT
Message 8 of 10 (1,253 Views)

Re: Endcaps in Revit

01-13-2006 08:01 AM in reply to: petervanko
Is this only possible with windows?
I wanted to use a storefront curtain wall but there the trick with void
forms isn't possible i think. Do you think making an opening with an empty
window family and putting a cutain wall in the opening is the only (but far
from elegant) solution?

thx
Raf


"Nic M." wrote in message
news:5058159@discussion.autodesk.com...
That shouldn't be a problem.
Open a new family based on a windows template
Remove the "Opening" (you need to TAB to get there)

Create Void forms as you like and use the "Cut geometry" to substract them
from the wall.
You can make any condition you like

Nic

wrote in message news:5057877@discussion.autodesk.com...
I have the opposite problem...I typically need the outside opening to be
smaller than the inside. Usually this is because I have GWB returning to
the window frame.

This may be the first thing ADT does better...LOL.
Distinguished Contributor
petervanko
Posts: 152
Registered: ‎05-04-2005
Message 9 of 10 (1,253 Views)

Re: Endcaps in Revit

01-13-2006 11:34 AM in reply to: petervanko
This post satisfies all of my concerns. I was easily able to duplicate what you instructed, as well as add instance parameters for the returns so that if the frame width changes, so can the return!!! ADT sure can't do that...
*Nic M.
Message 10 of 10 (1,253 Views)

Re: Endcaps in Revit

01-14-2006 01:15 AM in reply to: petervanko
Helaas, no such option for curtain wall.
I also used the "empty window", it works. You can lock the curtain wall to
the some ref planes defined in the window family.
In some accasions I just draw a small piece of exterior wall and lock it to
the main wall.

Nic

"RafVT" wrote in message
news:5058508@discussion.autodesk.com...
Is this only possible with windows?
I wanted to use a storefront curtain wall but there the trick with void
forms isn't possible i think. Do you think making an opening with an empty
window family and putting a cutain wall in the opening is the only (but far
from elegant) solution?

thx
Raf


"Nic M." wrote in message
news:5058159@discussion.autodesk.com...
That shouldn't be a problem.
Open a new family based on a windows template
Remove the "Opening" (you need to TAB to get there)

Create Void forms as you like and use the "Cut geometry" to substract them
from the wall.
You can make any condition you like

Nic

wrote in message news:5057877@discussion.autodesk.com...
I have the opposite problem...I typically need the outside opening to be
smaller than the inside. Usually this is because I have GWB returning to
the window frame.

This may be the first thing ADT does better...LOL.
Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.