Revit Architecture

Reply
Mentor
drafter1411
Posts: 400
Registered: ‎10-13-2008
Message 1 of 12 (1,450 Views)

electrical plan

1450 Views, 11 Replies
05-20-2010 07:25 AM
Hi everyone, I'm working on learning revit. I'm use to working with autocad layers.

In AutoCAD if I'm drawing electrical plan and floor plan, HVAC...ect I just freeze in viewport the things I don't want to see for that particurler sheet.

In Revit I duplicated my floor plan to create my electrical plan. I can add my recepticals and switchs but it won't let me add light fixture.
what do I need to do? Do I add the light fixture to ceiling plan then some how move them to my electrical plan?

Thanks for your help
*cdv
Message 2 of 12 (1,450 Views)

Re: electrical plan

05-20-2010 10:18 AM in reply to: drafter1411
Typically we have a power/communication plan and a reflected ceiling plan.
Power and communications outlets go on the electrical plan and lights and
diffusers go onto the reflected ceiling plan. I created our wall switches so
they show up on both plans.

"drafter1411" wrote in message news:6394482@discussion.autodesk.com...
> Hi everyone, I'm working on learning revit. I'm use to working with
> autocad layers.
>
> In AutoCAD if I'm drawing electrical plan and floor plan, HVAC...ect I
> just freeze in viewport the things I don't want to see for that
> particurler sheet.
>
> In Revit I duplicated my floor plan to create my electrical plan. I can
> add my recepticals and switchs but it won't let me add light fixture.
> what do I need to do? Do I add the light fixture to ceiling plan then some
> how move them to my electrical plan?
>
> Thanks for your help
Mentor
drafter1411
Posts: 400
Registered: ‎10-13-2008
Message 3 of 12 (1,450 Views)

Re: electrical plan

05-20-2010 12:52 PM in reply to: drafter1411
So is there know way to get the light fixtures and recepticals all on one plan?

thanks for your reply
Mentor
bt1138
Posts: 253
Registered: ‎02-26-2009
Message 4 of 12 (1,450 Views)

Re: electrical plan

05-20-2010 01:18 PM in reply to: drafter1411
There could be a few reasons you are having trouble.

1st is that the light fixtures that ship with revit need to placed on ceiling objects. If you haven't added ceiling objects, they won't take. The will not take on the underside of a floor, either.

Does this apply to your situation?

You can create simple fixtures that do not require being ceiling-based, or you can use 'face-based' fixtures that will house to floors, ceilings, walls, etc.


B
Mentor
drafter1411
Posts: 400
Registered: ‎10-13-2008
Message 5 of 12 (1,450 Views)

Re: electrical plan

05-20-2010 01:48 PM in reply to: drafter1411
Ok thanks, I'm just getting started learning revit so I barely know any commands. How would you create an electrical plan and plumbing plan?
I have created a ceiling plan and the fixture can be added to that. I was wondering is there away to get all of my electrical devices on one plan.
thanks for the reply
Mentor
bt1138
Posts: 253
Registered: ‎02-26-2009
Message 6 of 12 (1,450 Views)

Re: electrical plan

05-20-2010 03:28 PM in reply to: drafter1411
You control the visibility of objects in the various plans views with the Visibility Graphics Override (VG) command. Revit controls visibility in a view by object type. It's a bit like layers, except that the object types are used 'in place of' layers.

You can also hide or alter the appearance of individual objects using 'Override by Element' or 'Hide Element'
*Nathan
Message 7 of 12 (1,450 Views)

Re: electrical plan

05-20-2010 04:39 PM in reply to: drafter1411
"I duplicated my floor plan to create my electrical plan".???

Duplication is a bad practise in acad as well!
Why not use the same plan?
Mentor
bt1138
Posts: 253
Registered: ‎02-26-2009
Message 8 of 12 (1,450 Views)

Re: electrical plan

05-20-2010 05:28 PM in reply to: drafter1411
He is duplicating the view of the plan, not the geometry. It does not duplicate the base 3d objects.

That's the way Revit works.
*Nathan
Message 9 of 12 (1,450 Views)

Re: electrical plan

05-21-2010 09:18 AM in reply to: drafter1411
Yeh I kinda figured (& hoped) that's what he meant after I posted.
I took over from someone who was duplicating the floor plan for the
electrical layout which is why I jumped. (going back into hole now).


wrote in message news:6394912@discussion.autodesk.com...
He is duplicating the view of the plan, not the geometry. It does not
duplicate the base 3d objects.

That's the way Revit works.
New Member
sfoster
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎05-23-2010
Message 10 of 12 (1,450 Views)

Re: electrical plan

05-23-2010 08:02 PM in reply to: drafter1411
My understanding is you can change how and what Level you want to view items in the Instant and Elements Proberties By doing this
you can control how they are seen in all views.

I dont beleive it is a good idea to dublicate as that would then just become another drawing
you would have to change rather than using the Revit Structure.

You cannot create an element ie lights if you do not have a ceiling plan, you can control how the lights etc are shown with the Instant and
element proberties.

Hope that helps cheers.
Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.