Revit Architecture

Revit Architecture

Reply
New Member
Kmal232
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎01-03-2010
Message 11 of 20 (481 Views)

Re: Disappearing Nested Labels/Annotation

01-23-2014 01:02 PM in reply to: Kannik

Just picking up an old thread here -- my office is having the same issue. However, we are on 2014 with graphics cards & computers that are only 3 months old (and very fast). The issue is not solved no matter which of our machines we test print from.

 

I find that if we try to print Raster it will come out, but raster prints take longer and make heavier, lower quality PDFs. We can't do half our set through vector and 1/2 raster, its too much to keep track of. 

 

The offending elements for us is a nested Generic Annotation exit symbol which is nested into a wall hosted electrical fixture family. The annotation shows up on screen but does not show up in either the print preview or the actual plot/PDF unless it is switched to raster.

 

Any help with this issue would be greatly appreciated.

Contributor
kmalawski
Posts: 15
Registered: ‎11-11-2013
Message 12 of 20 (436 Views)

Re: Disappearing Nested Labels/Annotation

04-11-2014 09:43 AM in reply to: Kannik

Just to bring this thread back to life -- in 2014 this is still an issue. We have brand new custom (expensive) computers and a project that was begun in Revit 2014. Our nested labels are continuously disappearing for unknown reasons.

 

The same symptoms persist, if its moved or reloaded, it will show up ... at least until you sync or walk away for an hour. Autodesk has clearly been made aware of this problem, and I have submitted an error report regarding a similar situation -- to which I received an answer to a separate and unrelated problem.

 

Is there a solution as of yet or are these comments falling on deaf ears?

Member
JuliusMitchell1854
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎08-06-2009
Message 13 of 20 (431 Views)

Re: Disappearing Nested Labels/Annotation

04-11-2014 09:52 AM in reply to: Kannik
We have changed our video cards and so far so good. We have not seen the disappearing nested labels at this point.



Julius Mitchell, Assoc. AIA
BIM Manager/Project Manager
GOULD TURNER GROUP, INC.
4400 Harding Road, Suite 1000
Nashville, TN 37205

615-297-3122 ext. 229 office
615-292-4786 fax
jmitchell@gouldturner.com
www.gouldturner.com

[cid:image001.jpg@01CF557C.7B823430]

[cid:image002.png@01CF557C.7B823430][cid:image003.png@01CF557C.7B823430][cid:image004.png@01CF557C.7B823430][cid:image005.png@01CF557C.7B823430]

All designs, plans, specifications and other contract documents (including all electronic files) prepared by Gould Turner Group, P.C. shall remain the property of Gould Turner Group, P.C. and Gould Turner Group, P.C. retains all rights thereto, including but not limited to copyright, statutory and common-law rights thereto unless otherwise specified by contract. No design changes or decisions made by e-mail shall be considered part of the contract documents unless otherwise specified, and all design changes and/or decisions made by email must be submitted as an RFI or a submittal unless otherwise specified.
Active Member
Kannik
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎08-17-2012
Message 14 of 20 (428 Views)

Re: Disappearing Nested Labels/Annotation

04-11-2014 10:05 AM in reply to: kmalawski
This is the problem that won't die, eh? We changed out the video card on all of our machines and recently upgraded to 2014... I am hoping that will solve the problem, but from the sounds of it that is no guarantee. :smileysad: I'm staring up a new project with our "problem" families, so I will see if the issue shows up again. I have seen the annotation disappear on our overhead exit families, and that's not nested text but nested linework, so, that's even weirder. I wonder, given how few articles or posts about this issue, if this is something that only happens in rare cases (maybe conflicting shared libraries that only happens when you have certain Autodesk products installed together on the same machine?), or if few firms are using nested annotations this way out there... Either way, the day we can stop printing our sets to PDF to check that all the annotative text is showing up properly before we send it to our plotter will be a glorious day indeed! :smileytongue: peace, Kannik
Member
krunung
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎06-16-2011
Message 15 of 20 (389 Views)

Re: Disappearing Nested Labels/Annotation

04-21-2014 06:33 AM in reply to: Kmal232

Nice to see that I'm not the only one with the problem. Disheartening though that the solution has not been found. I have this same issue with a column family that has a label nested to call out the dimensions on each face. Saves an incredible amount of time over pulling dimensions in every instance but this problem makes it extremely unreliable. You'd almost need to create a macro that runs any time you want to print that just reminds you to nudge all the columns so these show up. Hopefully Autodesk steps up to the plate and helps with this as it can be an enormous increase in efficiency for all who utilize it.

 

I've attached my file as well. It's a basic rectangular column that has a label on 2 sides with some Yes/No parameters that help you adjust the position and visibility when loaded into your project. Feel free to play with it and see if anything jumps out at you. We've been running 2014 for the last year (usually doa good job of staying up to date with subscription). Perhaps 2015 will help. Our machines are all pretty new with pretty good graphics cards. For some of the responses above though, that doesn't seem like the issue. :-( 

Contributor
kmalawski
Posts: 15
Registered: ‎11-11-2013
Message 16 of 20 (384 Views)

Re: Disappearing Nested Labels/Annotation

04-21-2014 06:49 AM in reply to: krunung

I recently added an invisible model line to my model, going from the bottom to 8' above the top, and I have been having success with it so far. I checked colleagues' computers and it is showing up on theirs as well. Would you be willing to try this with your model and reload it in Krunung?

 

Good luck! 

 

Heres to hoping this problem actually gets resolved the right way soon.

 

-Kevin

Member
krunung
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎06-16-2011
Message 17 of 20 (363 Views)

Re: Disappearing Nested Labels/Annotation

04-21-2014 12:11 PM in reply to: kmalawski

Kevin,

 

What did the invisible line achieve? I guess you lost me on that one. 

 

-Kris

 

Active Member
Kannik
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎08-17-2012
Message 18 of 20 (355 Views)

Re: Disappearing Nested Labels/Annotation

04-21-2014 12:39 PM in reply to: kmalawski
Interesting... our families already have invisible lines in them (so they show up when set above the cut plane) but I've done them as symbolic lines. If model lines do the trick and prevent disappearing, I am so switching the linetype! peace, Kannik
Member
krunung
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎06-16-2011
Message 19 of 20 (346 Views)

Re: Disappearing Nested Labels/Annotation

04-21-2014 01:19 PM in reply to: Kannik

What's the reasoning behind having invisible lines show up when the element is above the cut plane? Are you able to attach the labels to the line and keep them visible somehow? It seems that you wouldn't want the element to be visible if it were above the cut plane. 

 

I'm having issues with the label that is nested into the column family appearing or disappearing based on its own accord. I'm not sure if that's the same issue that you're having. 

Contributor
kmalawski
Posts: 15
Registered: ‎11-11-2013
Message 20 of 20 (321 Views)

Re: Disappearing Nested Labels/Annotation

04-22-2014 07:13 AM in reply to: krunung

True Krunung, I can understand not wanting the family to show up if it is above the cut plane. In my case, the family is dead-center on the cut plane. I am having the issue with Fire extinguisher cabinets which I want to show up with a label on plan -- since they are recessed and barely visible. The cabinet geometry shows up on the plan, but the label is continuously disappearing. The previous nudge, undo strategy restores the label, but shouldn't be needed.

 

I added an invisible model line that went further above the cut plane and now the label is showing up -- though I must confess I do not know why. Typically this would be done as a workaround to have an object show up in plan or an RCP that lies out of the view range. However, the fact remains that it is working.

 

Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Announcements
Do you have 60 seconds to spare? The Autodesk Community Team is revamping our site ranking system and we want your feedback! Please click here to launch the 5 question survey. As always your input is greatly appreciated.