Revit Architecture

Revit Architecture

Reply
Active Member
angelica.rodriguez
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎06-07-2012
Message 1 of 5 (698 Views)
Accepted Solution

Dimensioning problems with stud walls

698 Views, 4 Replies
11-09-2012 08:38 AM

Hello there

 

This is a very complicated thing to explain, but I'll have a go here.

 

I am having problems dimensioning internal walls with Revit 2013. Horizontally I have no issues, but when trying to dimension vertically from anywhere to the face of the core of a stud wall.

 

Basically what is happening is that Revit won't recognise the core of a wall from its smallest side (wraps at ends). 

 

Please have a look to the attached file, For example, if I have a 63mm stud wall with a 15mm layer of plasterboard finish to either side, I will be able to put dimensions alongside the faces of the core in the long side of the wall, but I can't locate a dimension showing the 870mm lenght because the face of the ends of the wall won't be recognised by the dimension command.

 

Any ideas / solutions? 

Oh, sorry. Yes, for that, the only solution I think, is a locked reference plane, then dimension to the ref. plane to another ref. plane on the other side. Different video. :smileyhappy:

 

http://screencast.com/t/v45V6Pmcoak

*Expert Elite*
Alfredo_Medina
Posts: 2,865
Registered: ‎06-11-2009
Message 2 of 5 (689 Views)

Re: Dimensioning problems with stud walls

11-09-2012 09:15 AM in reply to: angelica.rodriguez

angelica.rodriguez wrote:

This is a very complicated thing to explain, but I'll have a go here.

 

 

Any ideas / solutions? 


http://screencast.com/t/RW910QhM

 

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Planta1 Revit Online Consulting | info@planta1.com | my Twitter | The Planta1 Blog
*Expert Elite*
CADastrophe
Posts: 3,421
Registered: ‎08-28-2009
Message 3 of 5 (674 Views)

Re: Dimensioning problems with stud walls

11-09-2012 09:30 AM in reply to: Alfredo_Medina

I believe that Angelica is referring to dimensioning the faces as per this image. They don't seem to be selectable as valid faces for a Dimension.

 

DimensioningModified.jpg

Corey D.                                                                                                                  ADSK_Logo_EE_2013.png    AutoCAD 2014 User  Revit 2014 User
──────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────
⁞|⁞ Please use Mark Solutions!.Accept as Solution and Give Kudos!Give Kudos as appropriate to further enhance these forums. Thank you!
*Expert Elite*
Alfredo_Medina
Posts: 2,865
Registered: ‎06-11-2009
Message 4 of 5 (666 Views)

Re: Dimensioning problems with stud walls

11-09-2012 09:53 AM in reply to: CADastrophe

Oh, sorry. Yes, for that, the only solution I think, is a locked reference plane, then dimension to the ref. plane to another ref. plane on the other side. Different video. :smileyhappy:

 

http://screencast.com/t/v45V6Pmcoak

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Planta1 Revit Online Consulting | info@planta1.com | my Twitter | The Planta1 Blog
Active Member
angelica.rodriguez
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎06-07-2012
Message 5 of 5 (623 Views)

Re: Dimensioning problems with stud walls

11-12-2012 01:27 AM in reply to: Alfredo_Medina

That's very good, thank you very much for that Alfredo. Here in the office we were drawing model lines and dimensioning to them, but if our wall moved or changed the dimension wouldn't change.

 

Thank you very much for your help.

Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Announcements
Do you have 60 seconds to spare? The Autodesk Community Team is revamping our site ranking system and we want your feedback! Please click here to launch the 5 question survey. As always your input is greatly appreciated.