Revit Architecture

Revit Architecture

Reply
Mentor
253 Posts
5 Kudos
Registered: ‎02-26-2009
Post 1 of 6

cut 1 solid with another?

816 Views, 5 Replies
08-04-2010 12:05 PM

Is there a way to cut 1 solid with another? 

 

Or must I always create a void in the form that is to be cut, then stick the 2nd solid into the void?

Employee
735 Posts
26 Kudos
Registered: ‎06-01-2010
Post 2 of 6

Re: cut 1 solid with another?

08-05-2010 05:42 AM in reply to: bt1138

 

In Revit 2011, you can cut one solid with another solid.  I have included additional information below:

 

In Revit 2011, you can cut one solid with another solid.  I have included additional information below:


http://docs.autodesk.com/REVIT/2011/ENU/filesUsersGuide/WS1a9193826455f5ff-71bc797a126fd6fb25b-7ed9....

 

This functionality is limited to the conceptual mass environment or when creating a single in-place component mass.



Ryan Duell
Autodesk, Inc.

Revit Clinic
@revitclinic


Mentor
253 Posts
5 Kudos
Registered: ‎02-26-2009
Post 3 of 6

Re: cut 1 solid with another?

08-05-2010 09:34 AM in reply to: bt1138

Thanks.

 

I tired something like that, but it didn't seem to happen. I will persevere.

 

B

*Expert Elite*
2,887 Posts
362 Kudos
Registered: ‎06-11-2009
Post 4 of 6

Re: cut 1 solid with another?

08-05-2010 12:56 PM in reply to: bt1138

It works within the limits stated by Ryan in his reply: in the conceptual mass environment or in a single In-place mass.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Planta1 Revit Online Consulting | info@planta1.com | my Twitter | The Planta1 Blog
Mentor
253 Posts
5 Kudos
Registered: ‎02-26-2009
Post 5 of 6

Re: cut 1 solid with another?

08-05-2010 06:09 PM in reply to: bt1138

thank you all.

Member
4 Posts
0 Kudos
Registered: ‎08-06-2010
Post 6 of 6

Re: cut 1 solid with another?

08-06-2010 06:07 AM in reply to: bt1138

You can also do this by setting the material properties as the same and joining them together, once you do this you can hide the element you don't want in view or place it on a workset like 'invisible' and uncheck that in the VG interface! I do this all the time to get the desired profile on Curved walls that need a sloped bottom for instance.

 

I hope this helps!

 

cheers!

Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post