Revit Architecture

Reply
Contributor
25 Posts
0 Kudos
Registered: ‎05-15-2008
Post 1 of 12
Accepted Solution

Curved Ramps

4551 Views, 11 Replies
09-25-2012 12:40 AM

Revit seems to have trouble with doing curved ramps. Is doing a floor slab and modifying sub elements my only option?

Create 2 types of ramp, one for each slope. Use some reference planes in plans and elevation to determine elevations and distances. Use the level contraints and base offset values to locate the start and end points in the correct places. It is not difficult.

 

ramp_w_slopes.jpg

*Expert Elite*
2,889 Posts
363 Kudos
Registered: ‎06-11-2009
Post 2 of 12

Re: Curved Ramps

09-25-2012 05:40 AM in reply to: madone55

Please be more specific. What curved ramp, exactly? Any samples, sketches?

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Planta1 Revit Online Consulting | info@planta1.com | my Twitter | The Planta1 Blog
Contributor
25 Posts
0 Kudos
Registered: ‎05-15-2008
Post 3 of 12

Re: Curved Ramps

09-25-2012 03:46 PM in reply to: Alfredo_Medina

Thanks,

See the sketch attached. It' a vehicle ramp in a carpark. I presume the inside edge of the 1:6 portion will set the slope (ie when a cross section is taken through the ramp the ramp surface is level).

*Expert Elite*
2,889 Posts
363 Kudos
Registered: ‎06-11-2009
Post 4 of 12

Re: Curved Ramps

09-25-2012 05:20 PM in reply to: madone55

Create 2 types of ramp, one for each slope. Use some reference planes in plans and elevation to determine elevations and distances. Use the level contraints and base offset values to locate the start and end points in the correct places. It is not difficult.

 

ramp_w_slopes.jpg

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Planta1 Revit Online Consulting | info@planta1.com | my Twitter | The Planta1 Blog
Contributor
25 Posts
0 Kudos
Registered: ‎05-15-2008
Post 5 of 12

Re: Curved Ramps

09-25-2012 05:39 PM in reply to: Alfredo_Medina

Thank you, much appreciated.

Member
4 Posts
0 Kudos
Registered: ‎04-17-2013
Post 6 of 12

Re: Curved Ramps

04-17-2013 02:46 AM in reply to: madone55

Hi 

*Expert Elite*
2,889 Posts
363 Kudos
Registered: ‎06-11-2009
Post 7 of 12

Re: Curved Ramps

04-17-2013 08:23 AM in reply to: architangent

Well, the ramp tools has a Run option, which includes an Arc option. Other than that, it's a matter of entering the settings for elevations and slope, etc, and creating the sketch.

 

Can that be a parametric family? Yes. But such family could not serve as host for railings. Only floors, ramps, and stairs can host railings, but we can't make families in those categories.

 

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Planta1 Revit Online Consulting | info@planta1.com | my Twitter | The Planta1 Blog
Member
4 Posts
0 Kudos
Registered: ‎04-17-2013
Post 8 of 12

Re: Curved Ramps

04-17-2013 08:33 AM in reply to: Alfredo_Medina
So, assuming that I am done with the sketch, what do I do to save it as a parametric family? Do I save the whole ramp as a group or do I deal with them separately? Thanks alot for your reply!
*Expert Elite*
2,889 Posts
363 Kudos
Registered: ‎06-11-2009
Post 9 of 12

Re: Curved Ramps

04-17-2013 08:59 AM in reply to: architangent

No, making a ramp and making a family are two different things that cannot be combined. Ramps are system families, and for those, we don't have templates.

 

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Planta1 Revit Online Consulting | info@planta1.com | my Twitter | The Planta1 Blog
Member
4 Posts
0 Kudos
Registered: ‎04-17-2013
Post 10 of 12

Re: Curved Ramps

04-17-2013 08:29 PM in reply to: Alfredo_Medina

Hi Alfredo Medina, 

 

Thanks for your reply, I guess I have found the solution to my problem. I wanted to create a custom ramp family so that it can be loaded into other projects. So what I did was I duplicated the system family and sketched the ramp out with the appropriate dimensions and gradient, I selected them and saved them as a group. When I open other project files, I was then able to load them as groups and then when I sketch the ramps, the "custom ramp families" was loaded with the system families. 

 

Thanks again :smileyhappy:

Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post