Revit Architecture

Reply
Contributor
T.pot
Posts: 22
Registered: ‎10-25-2012
Message 1 of 3 (125 Views)

Creating a Roof

125 Views, 2 Replies
12-17-2012 06:28 AM

I am haveing problems creating a roof on my house. I have a six wall house but only a 2 plane roof. When I try to make a roof by footprint it only lets me make a roof with 6 planes. I also tried to create a roof by extruding but can not select a plane to start my drawing. If any one can give me any information on how to create a two plane roof by footprint or creting it by extruding please repy.

*Expert Elite*
ccollins
Posts: 866
Registered: ‎09-28-2009
Message 2 of 3 (119 Views)

Re: Creating a Roof

12-17-2012 06:38 AM in reply to: T.pot

When using Roof by Extrusion, go to an elevation or section view, then set the Workplane by selecting a plane--a Wall,

then you will be able to sketch the shape you want to extrude. Use the Tab key to cycle trhu various planes. You can also draw a new Reference Plane, name it, then select it from the dropdown list when setting Workplane.

 

You might also want to try using separate roofs, with a slope arrow or select one of the sketch lines to "define slope".

(Instead of footprint roof.)

Cliff B. Collins
Registered Architect/BIM Manager
Thalden Boyd Emery Architects
St. Louis, MO
Active Contributor
chris.needham
Posts: 46
Registered: ‎04-06-2005
Message 3 of 3 (95 Views)

Re: Creating a Roof

12-17-2012 08:11 PM in reply to: T.pot

When creating the sketch lines in "Roof by footprint" you have probably got all lines set as slope defining. Select the lines that you don't want to define a slope, and uncheck the box that says "Defines slope."

Chris Needham
Whangarei
New Zealand
Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.