Revit Architecture

Reply
Valued Contributor
dcormack
Posts: 58
Registered: ‎09-07-2010
Message 1 of 3 (473 Views)

Create parts not available

473 Views, 2 Replies
06-17-2011 02:41 PM

What instances is Create parts not available (greyed out)? Have experimented with out of the box families but then following duplicate-edit of types then create parts greyed out. So take a wall-floor-roof simple assembly, the wall is a modifed type but loaded through the template, the floor is generic and the roof is a family-type-duplicate and edit. If I change it back to out of the box generic its still greyed. Have then tried the same exercise in a new project again making a duplicate-edit family type and cannot repeate the create parts tab unavailable.

The roof modeled as default slope to all faces (pick walls) is not available. Model as a mono by picking walls and setting only one side as defines slope seems to work. But form the roof with all sides define slope and them edit footprint to uncheck defines slope (same result) create parts is greyed again.

There a rule here somewhere! Is it the element must be with all settings when formed and not changed by edit footprint etc

Employee
ryan.duell
Posts: 734
Registered: ‎06-01-2010
Message 2 of 3 (442 Views)

Re: Create parts not available

06-20-2011 01:10 PM in reply to: dcormack

Parts should be able to be generated from elements with layered structures, such as:


1.  Walls (excluding stacked walls and curtain walls)

2.  Floors (excluding shape-edited floors)

3.  Roofs (excluding those with ridge lines)

4.  Ceilings

5.  Structural slab foundations


Some additional information below:


Parts Overview


The Case of the Disappearing Parts and Floors


Thank you,



Ryan Duell
Autodesk, Inc.

Revit Clinic
@revitclinic


New Member
adeluceasi
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎02-10-2012
Message 3 of 3 (173 Views)

Re: Create parts not available

01-29-2014 09:59 AM in reply to: dcormack

As Mr. Duell stated, Stacked Walls cannot be parted out.  Also, walls with Sweeps do not properly translate into Navis.  So is there a workaround for Stacked Walls with Sweeps to show properly within Navisworks?

 

TIA.

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.