Revit Architecture

Revit Architecture

Reply
*Expert Elite*
ToanDN
Posts: 1,880
Registered: ‎09-26-2006
Message 1 of 12 (3,147 Views)

Create a Detail View call-out without head, tail, or boundary line.

3147 Views, 11 Replies
01-05-2011 11:54 AM

How do I place a call-out only without head, tail, or anything else?  Currently I have to create a Detail Call-out and stretch the boundary to a very small rectangle so it won't show up when print.  And I don't want fake call-outs that don't link.

Thanks a lot.

Employee
ryan.duell
Posts: 734
Registered: ‎06-01-2010
Message 2 of 12 (3,125 Views)

Re: Create a Detail View call-out without head, tail, or boundary line.

01-06-2011 07:36 AM in reply to: ToanDN

One approach could be as follows:

 

1.  Manage > Additional Settings > Callout Tags > Duplicate > Name accordingly

2.  Set Callout Head > None, OK

3.  Add Detail Callout > Select > Edit Type > Duplicate > Name accordingly > Set Callout Tag > new type

4.  This will remove head geometry, and then you could simply hide the dashed callout line by element in the view:

 

Video Example: http://screencast.com/t/tc1EgxRlh


Hope this helps, thank you,



Ryan Duell
Autodesk, Inc.

Revit Clinic
@revitclinic


*Expert Elite*
ToanDN
Posts: 1,880
Registered: ‎09-26-2006
Message 3 of 12 (3,120 Views)

Re: Create a Detail View call-out without head, tail, or boundary line.

01-06-2011 08:56 AM in reply to: ryan.duell

Thanks.  I will give it a try.

Contributor
adafchik
Posts: 17
Registered: ‎11-05-2008
Message 4 of 12 (2,723 Views)

Re: Create a Detail View call-out without head, tail, or boundary line.

04-07-2011 07:13 AM in reply to: ToanDN

What if I wanted to create a new callout tag that can be placed (separately) at the end of a line of text.  Such as:  Refer to Detail 10 / A501     How would I modify a reference tag to make it work like this?

 

Thanks!

Contributor
kczege
Posts: 11
Registered: ‎10-17-2012
Message 5 of 12 (1,208 Views)

Re: Create a Detail View call-out without head, tail, or boundary line.

11-15-2013 12:25 PM in reply to: ryan.duell
the screen cast link is not working. it would be nice to see because the instructions do not work. Thanks.
*Expert Elite*
ToanDN
Posts: 1,880
Registered: ‎09-26-2006
Message 6 of 12 (1,198 Views)

Re: Create a Detail View call-out without head, tail, or boundary line.

11-15-2013 12:48 PM in reply to: ToanDN
I think the easiest way to do it is using View Reference where you can pick any View in the project. You can add anything to the callout symbol such as text, matchline symbol, etc... You can even copy and paste them easily.
Contributor
adafchik
Posts: 17
Registered: ‎11-05-2008
Message 7 of 12 (1,192 Views)

Re: Create a Detail View call-out without head, tail, or boundary line.

11-15-2013 01:07 PM in reply to: adafchik

This is the one I use.  When you are in a view, go to "View, Sheet Composition" and choose "View Reference" to use this as a free-standing view reference.  It is separate from the text string, so if you add text, you'll need to move the reference over.

Member
deermanglassdesign
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎02-27-2012
Message 8 of 12 (954 Views)

Re: Create a Detail View call-out without head, tail, or boundary line.

01-12-2014 09:09 PM in reply to: ToanDN
 
Contributor
kczege
Posts: 11
Registered: ‎10-17-2012
Message 9 of 12 (928 Views)

Re: Create a Detail View call-out without head, tail, or boundary line.

01-13-2014 10:34 AM in reply to: adafchik
I see how this would have some use, but I am not seeing how this tag could be used to reference a view (not the current view, and its detail and sheet number). Am I maybe missing a button where I could link a different view to be displayed in this tag?
Contributor
adafchik
Posts: 17
Registered: ‎11-05-2008
Message 10 of 12 (917 Views)

Re: Create a Detail View call-out without head, tail, or boundary line.

01-13-2014 10:53 AM in reply to: ToanDN

see attached image to use "View Reference" on ribbon.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.