Revit Architecture Forum
Welcome to Autodesk’s Revit Architecture Forums. Share your knowledge, ask questions, and explore popular Revit Architecture topics.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Correct way for importing 3D alignments

3 REPLIES 3
Message 1 of 4
alistair.heanen
1100 Views, 3 Replies

Correct way for importing 3D alignments

Hello everyone,I am new to Revit and am currently looking at bringing in a road alignment as a dwg file from autoCAD. I can bring it in ok and it appears in some of my levels and elevations (still not sure how to properly control them) but how can I set up corresponding levels and grids for my road whilst keeping the roads original coordinates?  thank you for any help you can give me.

3 REPLIES 3
Message 2 of 4
LisaDrago
in reply to: alistair.heanen

Hello and Welcome to the Discussion!

I will make a few assumptions here:

Your AutoCAD file has Z axis coordinates.  So you are looking to set up levels in Revit that correspond to the correct Elevation (Z axis) - correct?

In an elevation view you can set the level to the correct height (Z axis). Image elevation attached for reference.

Any part of the dwg that is 'cut' at this elevation will be shown on the corresponding floor plan.

If there is portions that are not showing - you may need to modify your View Range. You will find this in the properties of the view. Image of view range dialog box attached for reference.

Now I may be totally off on what you are looking for... So let me know and if you can post some images to help clarify what you are looking for.

LD

If this helped solve your issue - remember to 'accept as solution' to help other find answers!
You can't think AutoCAD and run Revit.
Email: LisaDragoEE@gmail.com
Message 3 of 4
alistair.heanen
in reply to: LisaDrago

Hello Lisa,

My name is Brian Falconer. I am working with Alistair and am following up with this query. Thank you very much for your help.