Revit Architecture

Revit Architecture

Reply
Mentor
1,361 Posts
9 Kudos
Registered: ‎04-09-2010
Post 1 of 6

“Continue” command for dimensions in the Revit,

992 Views, 5 Replies
09-15-2012 12:28 AM

“Continue” command for dimensions in the Revit,

 

I’m not sure if there is a command like what we have in the autocad regarding the dimension “continue”

 

Where it might be in the Revit?

 

Thanks

 

Jamal

 

Clip_87.jpg

 

Clip_88.jpg

----------------------------------------------------------
Jamal NUMAN, GIS and Civil Engineer, MSc
e-mail: JamaL9722060@yahoo.com
P.O.Box: 731, Ramallah, West Bank, Palestine.
----------------------------------------------------------
Software: AutoCAD 2014, AutoCAD C3D, AutoCAD M3D, Revit
Windows 7 (Ultimate 64 bits),
Firefox 20.0,
Kaspersky 2013.
Employee
301 Posts
53 Kudos
Registered: ‎08-08-2007
Post 2 of 6

Re: “Continue” command for dimensions in the Revit,

09-15-2012 08:52 AM in reply to: JamaL9722060

dimensions are automatically continuous.

 

http://wikihelp.autodesk.com/Revit/enu/2013/Help/00001-Revit_He0/1468-Document1468/1744-Annotati1744...

 

 



Scott D Davis
AEC Technical Specialist
North American Sales
Autodesk, Inc.

Want Revit Content? Go to http://seek.autodesk.com !

Mentor
1,361 Posts
9 Kudos
Registered: ‎04-09-2010
Post 3 of 6

Re: “Continue” command for dimensions in the Revit,

09-15-2012 01:58 PM in reply to: davissc

thank you for the answer.

 

The issue that, the help, has no screenshots and thus no visual impact which can better assist in catching the whole idea fast.

 

Best

Jamal

----------------------------------------------------------
Jamal NUMAN, GIS and Civil Engineer, MSc
e-mail: JamaL9722060@yahoo.com
P.O.Box: 731, Ramallah, West Bank, Palestine.
----------------------------------------------------------
Software: AutoCAD 2014, AutoCAD C3D, AutoCAD M3D, Revit
Windows 7 (Ultimate 64 bits),
Firefox 20.0,
Kaspersky 2013.
*Expert Elite*
3,502 Posts
1,007 Kudos
Registered: ‎08-28-2009
Post 4 of 6

Re: “Continue” command for dimensions in the Revit,

09-17-2012 07:47 AM in reply to: JamaL9722060

There is no such tool. As Scott said, the dimensions in Revit are intended for continuous operation. Each consecutive click finds a new point for the next dimension segment, and each successive dimension is grouped with the first into a single entity until the tool is restarted.

 

The link that was posts did not have images, but it did have two good videos. The "Dimensioning Tools" video will give you a good idea of the intended workflow with Revit dimensions.

Corey D.                                                                                                                  ADSK_Logo_EE_2013.png    AutoCAD 2014 User  Revit 2014 User
──────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────
⁞|⁞ Please use Mark Solutions!.Accept as Solution and Give Kudos!Give Kudos as appropriate to further enhance these forums. Thank you!
*Expert Elite*
914 Posts
148 Kudos
Registered: ‎04-08-2008
Post 5 of 6

Re: “Continue” command for dimensions in the Revit,

09-17-2012 12:04 PM in reply to: JamaL9722060

As others have said, dimension strings are automatically continued when you are first creating them.  However, if you've finished a string (accidentally or intentionally), but would like to extend it further, select the string, then in the Modify tab choose "Add witness lines", then click on whatever else you want to dimension to.

 

Similarly, if you've finished a dimension string, and want to remove some items from it without recreating the entire string, select the string, then right-click on the little blue dot that is about halfway between the dimension text and the object being dimensioned, and choose "Delete witness line".

 

Better yet, read the wikihelp on dimensioning.

Ross Kirby
BIM Manager
Arcturis
Mentor
1,361 Posts
9 Kudos
Registered: ‎04-09-2010
Post 6 of 6

Re: “Continue” command for dimensions in the Revit,

09-17-2012 01:35 PM in reply to: rosskirby

Many thanks guys for the help. Your contribution is quite useful.

 

Best

 

Jamal

----------------------------------------------------------
Jamal NUMAN, GIS and Civil Engineer, MSc
e-mail: JamaL9722060@yahoo.com
P.O.Box: 731, Ramallah, West Bank, Palestine.
----------------------------------------------------------
Software: AutoCAD 2014, AutoCAD C3D, AutoCAD M3D, Revit
Windows 7 (Ultimate 64 bits),
Firefox 20.0,
Kaspersky 2013.
Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Announcements
Are you interested in helping shape the future of the Autodesk Community? To participate in this brief usability study, please click here. Your time and input is greatly appreciated!