Revit Architecture

Reply
Valued Contributor
pevelor
Posts: 98
Registered: ‎12-12-2011
Message 1 of 6 (181 Views)

Constrain 3D view to Scopebox

181 Views, 5 Replies
02-13-2013 12:02 AM

Hi

 

I would like to constrain a 3D view to a scopebox like I can do with planviews. How can I do this?

 

Kind regards

Peder

Valued Mentor
AJA14
Posts: 491
Registered: ‎11-01-2011
Message 2 of 6 (168 Views)

Re: Constrain 3D view to Scopebox

02-13-2013 01:54 AM in reply to: pevelor

To do that, you would use section boxes in 3D (found in the properties palette). Eventually, you can later on even lock the 3D orientation from the view control toolbar at the bottom which would then enable you to annotate even the 3D view.

 

 

Ali Al-Hammoud
Structural Design Engineer
MZ & Partners Engineering Consultancy
Valued Contributor
pevelor
Posts: 98
Registered: ‎12-12-2011
Message 3 of 6 (164 Views)

Re: Constrain 3D view to Scopebox

02-13-2013 02:07 AM in reply to: AJA14

Hi 

 

Thanks for replying.

I am aware of the functionality of section box, but I want to lock the section box to a scopebox.

In that way, I can send my model to Robot for analysis and get my building aligned to the xy axis.


I cannot rotate project north because this ruins all of my section views. 

Valued Mentor
AJA14
Posts: 491
Registered: ‎11-01-2011
Message 4 of 6 (149 Views)

Re: Constrain 3D view to Scopebox

02-13-2013 06:43 AM in reply to: pevelor

Hi again. There is no option for defining a scope box to 3D views. It is available for plans, sections, and elevations. By the way, why do you need to align the robot model to the XY directions?

Ali Al-Hammoud
Structural Design Engineer
MZ & Partners Engineering Consultancy
Valued Contributor
pevelor
Posts: 98
Registered: ‎12-12-2011
Message 5 of 6 (128 Views)

Re: Constrain 3D view to Scopebox

02-13-2013 11:18 PM in reply to: AJA14
Valued Mentor
AJA14
Posts: 491
Registered: ‎11-01-2011
Message 6 of 6 (120 Views)

Re: Constrain 3D view to Scopebox

02-14-2013 01:05 AM in reply to: pevelor

Hi. I don't know if this solves your problem but here is what I did.

1- send the revit model to robot.

2- rotate the model in robot.

3- conducted analysis ...

4- updated the revit model.

5- the revit model is now rotated and set to project north

6- changed my view back to true north

 

I'll continue checking to find alternatives and let you know if I find any workaround.

 

Regards.

 

 

Ali Al-Hammoud
Structural Design Engineer
MZ & Partners Engineering Consultancy
Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.