Revit Architecture

Revit Architecture

Reply
Contributor
MS_jkimc65
Posts: 15
Registered: ‎12-16-2011
Message 1 of 3 (225 Views)

Collaboration - Copy Monitor

225 Views, 2 Replies
12-11-2012 01:21 PM

I am collaborating withb another architect and In the situation with copy monitor, when the architect #1 is doing all the interior and architect #2 is doing the exterior.  Architect #1 generates the floor slab.  Architect #2 copy/monitors the floor slab using the same settings (after linked revit file by architect #1 is loaded).  The slab then is part of architect #2's model and then makes changes to align with wall at an exterior wall.  Revit then recognizes that there is a difference between both models and then a Coordination Review is required.  However, architect #2 makes the change which prompts that Coordination Review.  What happens when architect #2 then sends architect #1 revit model to be linked into project?  Revit doesn't recognize change from architect #2 when revit model is linked into architect #1 file?  Why?  It seems that this would be more productive than always having to contact architect #1 to modify slab to the needs of architect #2.  Copy monitor slab then seems to be irrelevant for architect #2 and having to rely on architect #1 to make changes.  Am I missing something in this process?

 

I am open to comments on this topic, and can be reached via replies to this email or by phone at the number below.

 

Thanks

 

Kim

(801) 532-4422

j. kim candelario
method-studio, inc.
*Expert Elite*
Alfredo_Medina
Posts: 2,865
Registered: ‎06-11-2009
Message 2 of 3 (218 Views)

Re: Collaboration - Copy Monitor

12-11-2012 02:08 PM in reply to: MS_jkimc65

An advice from experienced users and BIM managers is to use Copy/Monitor for levels and grids, only.  The other stuff  can be coordinated in the old way, with simple communication, phone calls, etc, to avoid the headache/nightmare. Levels and grids are essential, and Copy/Monitor is good for that.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Planta1 Revit Online Consulting | info@planta1.com | my Twitter | The Planta1 Blog
Valued Mentor
mike
Posts: 263
Registered: ‎03-04-2004
Message 3 of 3 (200 Views)

Re: Collaboration - Copy Monitor

12-12-2012 05:22 AM in reply to: MS_jkimc65

Kim,  Copy/Monitor only works one way.  What needs to happen is Arch #1 need to link Arch #2 model, adjust his slab to the Exterior walls as needed.  That way when #2 reloads, the slab is where it need to be for arch 2.

 

HTH

 

Mike

Michael L. Maloney
Virtual World Designs
VDC & BIM Model Design, Clash & Coordination
mike@VirtualWorldDesigns.com
Building Design Suite Ultimate 2013, 2014, 2015
Charlotte, NC ; Fort Mill, SC
Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Announcements
Do you have 60 seconds to spare? The Autodesk Community Team is revamping our site ranking system and we want your feedback! Please click here to launch the 5 question survey. As always your input is greatly appreciated.