Revit Architecture

Reply
Contributor
MS_jkimc65
Posts: 15
Registered: ‎12-16-2011
Message 1 of 3 (215 Views)

Collaboration - Copy Monitor

215 Views, 2 Replies
12-11-2012 01:21 PM

I am collaborating withb another architect and In the situation with copy monitor, when the architect #1 is doing all the interior and architect #2 is doing the exterior.  Architect #1 generates the floor slab.  Architect #2 copy/monitors the floor slab using the same settings (after linked revit file by architect #1 is loaded).  The slab then is part of architect #2's model and then makes changes to align with wall at an exterior wall.  Revit then recognizes that there is a difference between both models and then a Coordination Review is required.  However, architect #2 makes the change which prompts that Coordination Review.  What happens when architect #2 then sends architect #1 revit model to be linked into project?  Revit doesn't recognize change from architect #2 when revit model is linked into architect #1 file?  Why?  It seems that this would be more productive than always having to contact architect #1 to modify slab to the needs of architect #2.  Copy monitor slab then seems to be irrelevant for architect #2 and having to rely on architect #1 to make changes.  Am I missing something in this process?

 

I am open to comments on this topic, and can be reached via replies to this email or by phone at the number below.

 

Thanks

 

Kim

(801) 532-4422

j. kim candelario
method-studio, inc.
*Expert Elite*
Alfredo_Medina
Posts: 2,821
Registered: ‎06-11-2009
Message 2 of 3 (208 Views)

Re: Collaboration - Copy Monitor

12-11-2012 02:08 PM in reply to: MS_jkimc65

An advice from experienced users and BIM managers is to use Copy/Monitor for levels and grids, only.  The other stuff  can be coordinated in the old way, with simple communication, phone calls, etc, to avoid the headache/nightmare. Levels and grids are essential, and Copy/Monitor is good for that.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Planta1 Revit Online Consulting | info@planta1.com | my Twitter | The Planta1 Blog
Mentor
mike
Posts: 241
Registered: ‎03-04-2004
Message 3 of 3 (190 Views)

Re: Collaboration - Copy Monitor

12-12-2012 05:22 AM in reply to: MS_jkimc65

Kim,  Copy/Monitor only works one way.  What needs to happen is Arch #1 need to link Arch #2 model, adjust his slab to the Exterior walls as needed.  That way when #2 reloads, the slab is where it need to be for arch 2.

 

HTH

 

Mike

Michael L. Maloney
Virtual World Designs
VDC & BIM Model Design, Clash & Coordination
mike@VirtualWorldDesigns.com
Building Design Suite Ultimate 2013, 2014, 2015
Charlotte, NC ; Fort Mill, SC
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.